We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“honeymoon”
Reviewed August 30, 2007

we are back from honeymoon at southern palms.
it was fantastic and no evidence of any fire.
we went on kenyan encounters 4 day safari. fantasic experience. the lodges are to be seen to be believed.
southern palms is wonderful and they cannot help enough.
the food is great though we did get a bit bored of the regularity of it all - and went out to eat at ali barbours restaurant 10mins away.
if you go to diani beach go to ali barbours. your hotel will arrange for them to pick u up and drop off. th e restaurant is in a cave and amazing. food better than average.
southern palms was great fun but try to go on safari and snorkelling etc to see the real kenya.
no real evidence of mozzers and you can presentley wear t shirts and skirts/ dresses at night.
southern palms was busy and there are lots of pretty sad english and germans getting up early to bag a recliner and eating 5 plates of food at each sitting.
if you go there for this sort of thing you will have a great time but if you go with an appetite to try a few excursions you will enjoy things more.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brookroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    455
    140
    50
    35
See reviews for
378
566
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We have just returned from a two week stay at the southern palms hotel with my wife and two daughters,and thought it would be a good idea to let travelers know that any damage caused in the extensive fire they had there has been totally refurbished with new thatched roofs on the damaged blocks,we also noticed,new fire extingwishers everywhere and fire safety notices in the rooms.
The Hotel was very clean and tidy ,pools and gardens were also kept clean and in excellent order. The room are also spacious with large balcony, but be awear to keep your patio doors closed or you will have monkeys in the room. also be sure to keep all valuables in the safe ,unfortunatly i forgot to put a parker pen away and it went missing after only being out off the room for 2 hours, and the beds had been turned back?? The Safari we went on was a two day one night flying to the Massi Marra, it was fantastic exceeding all expextation,we stayed at the marra safari club which was first class tents,which icluded 4 poster beds ,ensuites hot water bottles and room service ,the food was also excellent. We booked this while on holiday , if you want to save yourself some money ,book on the beech the reps try to put you off but we saved ourself 800 dollers and were on the same flights,accomodation and game drives as people who booked with first choose, Ask for Ferdinand on the beach , he is fair and trustworthy, and evertyhing was as he discribed, he works for Janoland Tours and Safaris.. Food at the hotel is good but it was nice to go out for a change and would recommend Galaxy Chinees they do a free pick up and return transport and is only 5 minutes away,exellent food at reasonable prices.All in all it was a excellent holiday which we all thouroughly enjoyed, and will defenatly be be going on another safari in the future.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and tidy
  • Disliked — No lifts
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BrunoStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tingley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Recently had a week just after the refit after the fire, very good service and great location. Beach was great , however the beach sellers are a pain, unless you ignore them, also the current can be strong depending on winds and early morning and evening snorkling can be difficult.
The all inc package was slightly disappaointing as the menu for drinks had very poor quality wine. The pools and staff were great for volley ball, activities etc.
Sun beds by the pool can be arranged with a little greasing of palms and the towels too. The breakfast selction was very good however having to wait for bacon to be cooked in front of you, the queue builds up and the rest of your breakfast goes cold.

The various evening entertainment was interesting with dancing and bands playing various classics to a reggie beat, the weather was mixed for early august with some rain but soon cleared and
the temperature was always mid twenties.

The rooms were clean and tidy, a little basic with views of the beach and pools we were impressed.

The frogs croaking in recpetion all night was a lovely touch, which on arrival i was sure was a CD playing in the background , until one jumped across the floor.

Overall great service and location, great relaxing time, would recommend, probably without the all inc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Wine
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisbBakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We have just come home from the Southern palms after staying here for our honeymoon from 13-21 Aug. Both me and my husband loved it! i was a bit worried after reading all the reviews and about the fire but weren't disappointed at all! The food was great a lot of variety and something for everyone. The rooms were fine (bit basic) but fine although me and hubby are nearly 6 foot and didn't really fit the bed! The resort is constantly being kept tidy and clean and the staff are always helpful and friendly! only downer is we went all inclusive and you have to sign for every drink you have! soon get into the swing of it though! We have been on a lot of tropical holidays to carribean etc and we're both in early to mid 20's. Just bare in mind this is a poor country! they dont have things that we take for granted, so i dont think you can put down a hotel just because the bedding doesn't smell like persil! Dont be snobby and go with an open and happy heart and you'll have a lovely time - if you want anymore questions anwsered email at bexsnow@yahoo.com ill be happy to help
regards becky x

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — having to sign for drinks
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank bexsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

On our first night at Southen Palms we were awoken by shouts of Fire! Fire! eveone get out! The hotel's on fire! This was not the staff, but other guests who alerted fellow holiday makers to the danger. The grass roof was ablaze and this quickly spread from building to building. No fire alarms or sprinklers were activated and no staff took charge to evacuate guests. staff were seen standing around with their arms folded as other holiday makers rescued other guests. our rep tried to persuade us that it was safe to move to another room, despite knowing that there was no working fire alam or electicity.
we insisted in being moved to diani reef which was a much better hotel. however, our holiday was ruined by this expeience.
First Choice's response was dismissive and they do not accept any responsibility for its failure to ensure guests safety. most solicitors are reluctant to take the case as they cannot be guarenteed to recoup their costs.
Stay away if you value your life!

  • Disliked — that it does not have any working fire alams
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon. It was the first week of June and it was very humid at Mombasa. The hotel looked very nice when we arrived there and the staff were friendly.
However, the room was a huge let down. The sheets were damp and stinking. I could not sleep. The bathroom was horrible with dead insects and the smell was awful. Also the air conditioner was so loud but it did not really do its job to keep the room dry and cool. The meals were also disappointing. They always ran out of food and the staff starts eating before all the guests were finished. Also, the activities, such as disco and music in the evening went on after 10:30pm and you could hear it up to your rooms. We stayed there for two nights and changed to Diani Reef Resort and Spa. It was our honeymoon and we did not want to come home with disappointments.

  • Liked — The staff at the reception.
  • Disliked — The room which was not clean.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank love2travelOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We travelled to Southern Palms in May this year had a really lovely relaxing holiday. We had fantastic weather and only had a few days went it rained but it was the rainy season!

The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful and there are so many of them! The pool is stunning and enormous. The hotel was only half full so there was plenty of room around the pool and lots of sunbeds although we tended to spend most of our time on the beach. You can't see another hotel from the beach as they are well spread out so it gives you a feeling of being in the middle of nowhere which was great. There are plenty of sunbeds and parasols on the beach. The beach boys do hassle you when you go down to the water's edge but they don't come near you whilst you are sunbathing which was a pleasant surprise as we thought we would be hassled whilst trying to relax. When they did approach us at the water's edge we tended to go into the sea to get away from them but learnt that a firm but polite no thanks, not interested was enough for them to leave you alone. We did buy some souveniers from the beach shop but bartered hard which they expect you to do and enjoy. Have a price in your mind before you start bartering and stick to it!

We went all inclusive as we like a few drinks in the evening. We were disappointed that there were two separate cocktail menus one for those travelling AI and one for those that were not. Generally the food was good, we tended to swap each night between the Italian, the grill and the main restaurant. We did pay extra one night to eat in the Lebanese which was ok but not so amazing that we wanted to pay again to visit it.

Our room was located two blocks away from the beach on the top floor so we had a good side view of the sea and a great view of the pool. The balcony is a good size with two comfortable heavy wooden chairs and table. The room and bathroom was a decent size with a comfortable bed. The shower was excellent with plenty of hot water and both the room and bathroom were kept very clean with clean towels every day if you wished.

We did use mossie plugs in the room and mossie spray when we went out in the evening. Disappointly the bar near the main restaurant was full of mossies because of the standing water in the ponds. We avoided it and sat in the pool bars which had a nicer atmosphere anyway.

We spent 2 days/1 night on safari in the Masi Mara which we booked through Jacob, our rep. It wasn't cheap but well worth every penny. We stayed at Little Governors camp - wow, what a place. Very small and intimate and stunning luxury tents. Huge bed, fabulous bathroom and stunning views over the watering holes outside our door. We had waterhogs and their young grazing outside our door.

The food was amazing - absolute five star and fantastic staff - especially Wilson our waiter.

A word of warning be very careful which safari you book and where you go. Our truck only had us and a German couple and that was it. It was a strudy jeep with open sides so we had excellent viewing and didn't have to battle for room to take photos or try to take them through glass. Some trucks we saw had about 15 people on them with glass windows and only a viewing hatch in the roof.

Our guide, Joshua was fantastic and so knowledgeable. For each animal he gave us so much information about their feeding habits, mating habits, life expectancy etc. We saw all the big 5 except a rhino which is not surprising given there are only 2 in the Masi. One of the highlights was seeing a pride of 17 lions tucking into a recent hippo kill. We were so close we could have leaned out of the truck and stroked one of the male's manes - of course we didn't. We also saw a cheetah and a leopard with her young. It was fantastic to see animals in their natural habitat.

Whilst on safari we visited a traditional Masi village. The people are lovely, very friendly with amazingly colourful clothes. It is extraordinary to see how they live - their lives are still totally untouched by modern society and gadgets!

Overall we had a wonderful time and would definately recommend it as must do holiday.

  • Liked — The stunning pool area and having a private beach
  • Disliked — The mossies in the main bar area!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oneofthefeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
955 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,453 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HRS, HostelWorld, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing