We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ever hotel with fantastic safari choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Just returned from a 2 weeks holiday at the Southern Palms Beach Resort and cannot say enough good things about the hotel and staff. From the moment you step in the reception area, you are treated to a true five-star pampering. The staff is professional, friendly, and unobtrusive. The food is spectacular -- everything is fresh with a wide variety of local and European specialties. The rooms are unreal -- every one has a great view of the ocean.The rooms are very big and modern, and, because the hotel is very nice, everything is spotless. The spa is also great to unwind after a long flight . Finally, the grounds really have to been seen to be believed. Everything is perfectly landscaped with a gigantic infinity pool as the centerpiece. There are ample water sports to get involved with as well. If you are planning a special trip and want to pampered or are simply accustomed to true 5-star treatment, this is the place for you. I've had friends stay at other resorts on other place but Southern palms beats them hands down. The hotel is very sophisticated and extremely well-run. If you have the cash to stay, it's absolutely worth it. We will not ever forget it.
One thing to mention -- safari-if you are looking for the best well recommended saafri company then i suggest you go with sunset africa tours and safaris(www.sunsetafricasafaris.com)The safari we went for 4 days Tsavo East,Amboseli and Tsavo West truely explains all to be looked upon such a perfect tour copmany.We highly recommend sunsetafricasfaris.com
Back at the hotel-When we were there there were also many families, so, even though we didn't bring the kids on this trip, the hotel is kid-friendly.
South coast is interesting, to be sure,
Enjoy your holiday,enjoy southern palms-- you'll be glad you went.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markgardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Southern Palms Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

Booked with Thomsons and traveled with my wife daughter and her boyfriend on an all inclusive basis. Our room was adequate had all the stuff you would expect tea and coffee ,tv, mini bar. It was very clean and bed sheets changed every day.First couple of days were ok the place wasnt to full,then we went on safari which we had booked with JT safaris before we left England ,and I must say if your doing a safari dont go with the tour operators contact Jt via the net he was superb.He tailored our safari to go where we wanted to go.I cant praise him or our driver and guide Willie high enough.
Then we returned........the place was much fuller.You didnt have a set table but were shown where you could sit which was ok with us. That first night back there were no glasses no napkins on the table We always had wine with our dinner which was extra ,we paid about 1600ksh for a chilean chardonay. This was always slow arriving.I got up to get my soup alas no bowls,finally when they came there was no soup.Returning to my table and waiting for the wine id had enough got up and left the restaurant. You can book the Italian or grill as many times as you want and we did. The Italian was ok but the grill was fantastic.Dont eat the chicken other than in the grill or the beach bar it was ALWAYS blood red.On the whole this hotel was ok but the service eveywhere was Slooooow so sloooow.Give the beach man a small tip and he will save your sun bed . Around the pool you will have to get up around 3 am to beat the Germans,
That was about 90% of the hotel. If your going to stay here make sure you do all inclusive ,the beer was 250ksh(£2.30) and lunch around 1000ksh. On the upside they were pint bottles and you had glasses.Give the staff small tips thats the only way to get decent service afterall they only earn 250ksh a day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Kenya staying at the the Southern Palms Beach Resort. We had arranged this 'once in a lifetime' holiday as a special 10th birthday celebration for our daughter who is mad about all things wild!. The hotel was exceptional. Set in stunning grounds with lush green lawns, palms and an amazing pool. The hotel itself was 4* all the way. We were greeted with cool face towels and fresh fruit juice while we registered and were given information on meal times and tokens to exchange for fresh beach towels each morning. We were allocated a large top floor corner room with a wonderful view of the indian ocean which was a bonus since we hadn't initially paid for a sea view room. The beautiful Swahili style 4poster bed was just perfect accompanied by a lovely little matching sofa style bed for Matilda. The room was cleaned daily by 'Ali' who never failed to welcome us with his warm sincere smile and friendly manner and who when making up the beds strategically positioned Matilda's cuddly toy tiger to make us smile each time we returned from the pool. The animation team were great too, with their calls to 'water aerobics!', 'beach volleyball!', 'water basket!' and 'water volleyball!'. The food and entertainment were good with a buffet style breakfast and evening meal consisting of full english and continental options and meats, salads, vegetables and my favourite soups that were simply yummy!. Masai dancers, acrobats, musicians, magicians and singers were all provided to entertain the evenings away and a Sunday market within the grounds was an opportunity for my daughter and I to haggle over wooden animal carvings to take back to England. The highlight of the our trip was of course the safari. I did some research on the internet before we booked the holiday and decided to make arrangements with JT Safaris after reading exceptional reviews about his services and hospitality on tripadvisor. We covered Tsavo East and West and a private reserve called Saltlick on a 4day 3night safari hosted by 'CJ' our driver who ensured we had the experience of a lifetime!. Full of knowledge and snippets of information on the behaviour and habits and lifestyle of the leopard, elephant, giraffe, buffalo, zebra and lion and many other species living within the parks. We chose the Voi Lodge, Kilanguni Serena Lodge and Saltlick as our accommodation during the safari and were delighted when Matilda was presented with a cake and traditional celebrations after having dinner on her birthday at Kilanguni. I highly recommend JT Safaris to anyone who is considering travelling to Kenya for their holiday. The experience had by ourselves was second to none and we would not hesitate to use Julius Nzumbi and JT Safaris on our return to Africa..(hopefully next year if funds are available). Web:www.julius-safaris.com

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovingAfricain2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Ideal accomodation for us and 4 boys age 7 to 17yrs. Swimming pools were large and clean not overcrowed and well enjoyed. Plenty of activities like petange/table tennis/water volleyball and aerobics. Hotel surroundings beautiful and well maintained. Entertainment of reptile show, african acrobats, masai dancers were all great. Had seaview rooms over Indian Ocean, carved swahili furniture, room with nets, cleaned daily and replenished with towels and toiletries. Recommend the Italian Pizza and Turkish Grill. Burgers and milkshake yum. Hot buffet OK. Tips expected for everything. Prepare to be fleeced at adjoining markets.Beach boys very persistant. Wind surfing/jet ski hut to right of beach a good event. Ali Barbours restaurant a must, excellent. Tsavo East/West and Amoboselli Safari, Taramind Dhow, Haller Park, Pila Pipa dolphin boat trip with snorkelling, hot air balloon with bush breakfast all excellent. Beach camel ride enjoyable but large and aggressive for children. Donate pens, shoes, clothes, toiletries to locals. Take own handgel sanitary etc on trips out. Back to Southern Palms, we think its all you could want, lovely, we recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinegirl1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

went on safari for our honeymoon and had a beach stay the 2nd part of the holiday. we stayed in southern palms in mombassa, it was an amazing hotel. the staff were really friendly and helpful. the pool was cleaned first thing every morning, we were greeted on arrival with a special message on a whiteboard saying we were honeymooners and a coconut drink. even though our flight was delayed they saved us all some food. the size of the hotel and pools were great, so big we only ever stayed in 1 side of the pool. there were lots of games going on throuhout the day and tour guides taking you out for walks along the beach up to congo river. couldnt fault anything about this hotel, they even arranged a romantic meal on the beach just for me and my new husband! really put a magical end to our magical honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrnstapleBath_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Prior to our holiday I read all the reviews and ignored all the extremes, both good and bad. We were not disappointed with the hotel and would certainly go back there. Our rooms were kept scrupiously clean and tidy by George, our room attendant. The man is a true gentleman. The hotel's communal areas were beautiful and the words "tropical paradise" always sprung to mind, when I looked around. When coming out of the reception area, there is a small pool with a waterfall, where a group of yellow weaverbirds have made there nests. It's gorgeous.

The food was nice and our 3 children never complained. As they all like to eat different things, the buffet was the best option. There is always a selection of Indian food set out and I found that I tended to eat this and leave the European food alone. This was probably owing to the fact that the Head Chef was Indian. Anyway, the kids were happy, so were we. And never a chip, chicken nugget or fish finger in sight...

The pools were outstanding and sometimes we were the only ones in the water. Not bad for August., when you can have a huge swimming pool all to yourself. The animation team spend the whole day organising games, watersports and entertainment, without being overbearing. Just the right balance.

Safaris/excursions- Do get out and see the real Kenya. I booked a tailor-made safari with Wildlife Kenya Safaris. Antony will provide you with suggestions and prices.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g294210-d1173669-Reviews-Wildlife_Kenya_Safaris_Day_Trips-Mombasa.html
The price was the best I could find and the service was excellent. It is far cheaper to book with a local company, than with your travel company. Either pre-book over the internet or do it when you get there.

We also hired a taxi for the day, 8am-7pm, which costs around forty-odd quid. A seven seater people carrier will cost you around sixty quid. The driver will then take you to the tourist attractions on the north side of Mombasa. Just ask him for some ideas. Book the taxi by going outside of the hotel and speaking with Joe Cool, who owns one of the stalls out on the road. Far cheaper than using the taxis which are parked within the hotel grounds. Joe can sort out anything for you, so go and sit and have a chat with him. He is more reasonable than the people on the beach, who will rob your eyes out, given half the chance.

Also consider going on a bike tour. You go out on mountain bikes for half-day trips in the area accompanied by a couple of guides. You can see how people live, as you pedal through the bits where tourists rarely go. A real eye-opener. We booked the cycle trip with Dream Kenya Safaris.

We also had a trip up the river in a dugout canoe to visit a village. This cost £40 for the five of us, with a large percentage of the money going to the village for development. To summarise, go and see the real Kenya. Don't bother with the organised trips from the travel rep, go and organise your own. It is far cheaper and more satisfying. It also puts more money into the local economy. Don't feel intimidated by the poverty. The Kenyans are a warm and friendly people and they enjoy sitting and chatting. Don't cocoon yourself off from them!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whistonwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed at the hotel with my 2 daughters (aged 19 and 16) and we all really loved it, the staff were ALL just so friendly and helpful at all times. We enjoyed the food and the speciality restaurants were excellant. You must go to Ali Baba's restaurant, you can book at reception and they will pick you up and bring you back, food and setting (in a cave!) were just superb!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,534 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $97 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing