We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Please stay somewhere else”
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We would not recommend this hotel just back from a two week stay. Reception staff are rude and have no time for complaints. Rooms are basic ,bedlinen and towels are musty 'and bathrooms not cleaned properly. Food is hit and miss, best to stick to African diet which is simalar to Indian but forget about meat if you want to avoid stomach problems. We were there for Christmas and New Year we had dinner in main restaurant due to weather conditions on christmas eve and it was choas too many people bumping and pushing into each other trying to get food buffet style ! our table was a long way from the food so after soup I give up too much hassle for something to eat especially when you don't enjoy the food , you have to be careful what you eat if you don't want to visit the local hospital! watch the BBQ chef lift raw food then use same tongs to put cooked food on your plate. Alex who is in charge of the sunbeds on the beachfront will make sure you will not get a bed at the front unless you tip him well,the first day I tipped him 100sh it was'nt enought and I did'nt get one the rest of my stay Alex is there from 6 in the mornings putting the sunbeds out with towels so you have no chance even if you get there at 6.30 he will say they are all reserved by guests when I made a compliant I was told to forget it as these men are friends or family of managament and that is how they got the jobs!! as they are so well tipped, there is a sign to say that the beds can't be reserved but Alex will tell you with a smile that they are all reserved even tho we had a seaview room and could see him putting the towels on with no guests around. We would walk to the next hotel Indian Ocean beach Club and for the price of lunch get a frontline sunbed there without any problem also the food is much superior and cleaner and about the same price. Ali Barbours is worth a visit they will send a car free of charge and its in a cave with the roof opened up food is good owned by a Scottish man. Book your safaris with Ferinand on the beach you will get exactly the same deal as the hotel but much cheaper and your boat trips from Ali Baba these people are honest and hard working I would rather my money go to the local people instead of hotel these people need to eat. Change money with Mama kiguo for best rate in Ugunda village. Staff are not so corrupt at Indian Ocean or Grand Diani reef and better hotels for everything rooms ,food and service and have more respect for their guests.

  • Disliked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — don't forget to bring warm clothes for safari
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank sheilaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    461
    145
    50
    35
See reviews for
385
571
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex- England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2006

"JAMBO"

If like me you have been reviewing Tripadvisor for a while and are anxious about staying at SP, honestly there is no need. The whole place is exceptional beyond our expectations and in my opinion it's 4 star rating.

Whilst there they put in a kettel and cups, A mini fridge which appears to be free for all inclusive guests and were stock piling up tv's to go in the rooms very shortly after we left.

The resort is immaculate in every way with ample room to do whatever you want to do, whether that be swim, sunbathe, eat/ drink, play sports or just relax in the bars. You are never tripping up over other people which really helps to give you a really realxing holiday.

If you go all inclusive and order a beer you will be given "Pilsner".
"Tusker" or "Tusker Malt" is a better beer and will only be given if asked for. The food is excellent if not a bit bland and boring after a 2 week stay as Kenya doesn't really have it's own cuisine...However this should not put anyone off as it's all fresh and you can try loads of seafood dishes you would not normally be able to without a hefty bill.

As you may be aware, The resort gets plenty of visitors in a furry sense. Monkeys are everywhere, Particularly if you are on a top floor. These are friendly, especially if you have fruit to give them from the restaurants...However still be wary of them as they are wild and will protect themselves if they need to. We had the pleasure of a bush baby on our balcony and out of 6 other people we travelled with were the only ones to see animals on our balcony. Remember to take a banana or two from the restaurants for a better photo opportunity!

I went out to SP for with my fiance to get married and was a little anxious about how it would work, Whether it would be as expected, whether we would be able to understand the registrar as his native tongue isn't English etc.
Well if you are considering a wedding at SP do not hestitate. It was as we dreamed. The only thing that came a concern was the tide as we were having a beach wedding. Due to the monsoons earlier in the year the tides are very changeable and random. We in the end had to change the time from 3pm to 11am. Due to this my wife got very little use out of her dress due to it then being the hottest time of the day. (surely well above 110F out of the shade) This also made it very difficult to look normal to the camera without squinting... but hey ho!
The help of the guest relations assistant Frida was invaluable so please if you see her say "Hi" from us.

The only thing that let this resort down a bit was the really annoying beach sellers. The hotels beach is very small in width and as the security guards only patrol the hotel's beach, it is impossible to have a romantic walk for 2. The best way we found to get rid of them was to say firmly and sternly " I'm not interested" or "leave us alone".
This is not the hotels fault but does slightly tarnish the whole experience.

Overall in my personal experience this is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Exceptionally friendly staff that aren't lingering for tips.
  • Disliked — Beach sellers
  • Tips/Secrets — Take immodium etc and buy from moiz shop 10mins walk away, not hotel shop for bargains
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WishIwasThereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2006

To complete a fantastic Honeymoon in Kenya, my new wife and I booked four nights in the Southern Palms. I honestly don't think we could have visited a better resort. The room was clean with an awesome view of the ocean, the food was tremendous and the staff were out of this world. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Kenya.

  • Liked — Staff and view
  • Disliked — Pushy sales people on the beach
  • Tips/Secrets — keep tips till the end
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Steph_laurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

We stayed at Southern Palms and had a great time the staff are very friendly and the service was excellent. The resort is very clean you always see the staff cleaning the 2 pools are cleaned all the time. You have 3 restaurants and all 3 have good quality food. The only problem we had is every time we went to the beach we got hassled to visit the shops or buy a trinket. but that has nothing to do with the resort but the security is very strict with them and chased them away. My Son who is 14 came with us and he found plenty to do with football volley ball water polo etc. We went on a 4 night 3 day safari with Somak which was great we saw the big 5 and also much more.

I took out with me sweets and pens and paper for the schools which really do need them and very much appreciate it the little chilren love the sweets.

Tel

  • Liked — Clean and great views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take stationary it helps for the children also go
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank teltel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

Its a whole different experience going to Kenya.

You realise that when you first experience the roads( and I use the term road lightly!!)

The hotel was good, clean, staff willing if a little confused at times. The pools were spotless - no sign of the issues mentioned in earlier reviews.

The rooms a little basic perhaps but spotless, linen was clean and no sign of mustiness as mentioned in some posts I read.

The weather let the whole thing down a little with 4 days of almost continuous rain at the start of our holiday and there is absolutely NOTHING to do when it rains. Kenya is made for glorious weather.

Booked our safari independently with Dream Kenya Safaris and can HIGHLY recommend them...from the guide Tito, to the way the whole thing was handled! Top class. We stopped for a night at two lodges - both stunning and then had a late lunch at The Lion Camp at Voi on the way home....

They have the most luxurious tented accomodation with stunning views over Tsvao ( and real bathrooms for those wondering...)
We didn't stay there but wished we had!

The food at the Southern Palms could be a little hit and miss if you don't care for fish but no one starved.

The kenyan people are gracious, kind and have so very little... so if you feel like taking pens( always asked for) paper, and basic toiletries and clothing you will be graciously thanked. We never felt pestered, not on the beach, at the hotel or out and about.

All in all.... it was an amazing expereince with the sight of 80 elephants surrounding our vehilce being the outhstanding memory from the whole holiday.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — The third floor location
  • Tips/Secrets — Take pens, pencils, and things to give away.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Schwartzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

We stayed at Southern Palms hotel for 2 weeks this September whilst on our honeymoon and had the most fantastic time.
The hotel is immaculately clean with staff constantly gardening and cleaning the pool. Our room was lovely with the most amazing sea view, although a little basic for a 4 star hotel we certainly had no cause for complaint.
We found that 'Kenya time' was a lot slower than what we were used to at home, and although we had to wait a little longer to get served for drink ect....it helped us chill out and unwind!
We were all inclusive and a good tip we picked up is to ask for the Tusker Malt beer in the green bottles - if you ask for lager they don't give this to you as it's more expensive for them so you have to ask for it (it is still included in the all inclusive though) but it is much nicer than the other lager they give you!
Another tip from us is to buy your gifts from the hotel shop which was far more reasonably priced than the beach boys (a total rip-off unless you are an expert at haggeling!) and cheaper than all of the shops in Diani shopping centre too!
We booked our safari through our First Choice rep at the hotel and went with a company called Somak who were fab. The guide spotted birds and animals we would have all missed and it is so amazing to see the animals so close and wild. The accomodation on safari was superb, we paid extra to stay in a luxury safari tented camp, Finch Hattons - it was 5 star luxury and waking up with the sounds of the bush outside your front door was just the best! Well worth an extra few quid!
We also went on a trip to Wasini Island and went snorkeling at the marine park there which was gret - every fish from NEMO can be seen. We got totally burnt that day though so make sure you put lots of sun cream on as the sea breeze is deceiving! As part of that trip we went to an african village and we wished we had brough some toys and sweets for the children who were so poor but all seemed so happy.
We would totally recommend this to anyone - we had the best time and have some lovely memories.

  • Liked — sea view and great pool
  • Disliked — getting up early to reserve sunbeds each day
  • Tips/Secrets — see review
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank jill15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We were full of trepidation after reading some of the reviews.. we neednt have worried. The hotel was superb in every respect, cleaners cleaned and cleaned it was spotless,everybody was cheerfull with the traditional "Jambo". Hospitality from the Kenyans as we have come to expect (4visits to different hotels).is second to none.. from a people who are very poor they make you feel very welcome.
Food varied and plentifull catering for at least 5 nationalities
Beach stunning white sand blue azure seas currents rather strong for the novice swimmer..Pools are massive.
Advise you book your safari when your there
Rooms we had a standard large bed plus a single really efficient air con. Refeshing to be without a TV
Entertainment is what you would expect enthusiastic but not the palladium.
Good selection of drinks beer is bottled and of a good standard
Service again is brilliant "poly ,poly ( slowly slowly)
Have a great time when you visit Southern Palms .
Do think of the locals, they are desperate for thins we take for granted . Pens ,Pencils, Socks, Toys, Tee Shirts any Sporting gear we took some footballs. Remember the orphanages.. But the village children are equally needy if not more so

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
987 reviews
5.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,501 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing