We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great staff!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We just came back after spending a week holiday at this super hotel! We were a family of 5 and we liked everything in this hotel! There was no single negative comment to say about this hotel! The food in all the restaurants was excellent from the breakfast to dinner! Very well presented and a lot of choice for everyone!
The beach is nice but watch out the beach boys who might piss you off! But if you don't mind you can chat to some of them who are friendly! On our second day, we took a taxi from the hotel to the shopping centre where we booked our 2 days safari to Salt lick with Jt safaris and the driver was wonderful! On our last day he took us to Tanga in Tanzania and we had a fantastic tour! Now the staffs! Everyone was fantastic, friendly and very helpful always smiling! Here are a few, Ali, Steven, Esther, Mr. President, Hamisi, Uncle Sam and special thanks to Hussein who was a bundle of joy, always smiling, singing and dancing! We miss you so much and we will definately come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vi0letta111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    459
    144
    50
    35
See reviews for
384
570
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Southern Palm from 11th January to 25th. This is a holiday we will remember for a long time the hotel is lovely and food is very good with something for everyone. Dont dwell on the odd bad reviews as we did as these people must like a moan about nothing, as we were very pleased with our chose. the rooms were cleaned every day and cleaned well. We had a three day safari in this holiday the keeping the bags packed was had and we were given a new room when we returned that was just as nice and clean as the first.

Take a copy of your passport with you if you are going on safari as they need your passport details at each place you stay.

The food at the snack bar is lovely as is the the Italian above. Hussain is lovely and if you were to have a problem he would sort it out also Barekee at breakfast who is a trainee always a great big smile.

The beach is nice but you do need beach shoes, as everyone says the beach sellers are a pain but you just have to be rude and ignore them. If you want to buy goods at a good price you can walk just down the road to a shop call boutique everything is a fixed price and cheap no bartering.

All round a great holiday and a great choice of hotel you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the southern palms hotel 11th to the 25th Feb 2014 and everything about it we found Excellent.
We were greeted at reception with cold towels and a fresh coconut drink by the reception staff who were so friendly and attentive.
We were a family of four travelling with children aged 11 and 14 so had two rooms. I emailed the southern palms for peace of mind that we had connecting rooms, The hotel replied promptly and sure enough all the rooms were sorted and no problems at all.
During the day the entertainment team were great and really tried to get people to join in there activities, my husband and son played pool and beach volleyball daily and thoroughly enjoyed it.
All the staff at southern palms work very hard and always greet you with a "jambo" they are very polite and friendly a credit to the hotel.
All in all we loved everything about the southern palms, The staff the food and the beach is just amazing.
Don't be put off by the beach seller they too are very friendly, they will approach you when going to the sea but will soon leave you with a "no thanks ".
The security at the beach are great and around the complex always a wave and a "jambo".
We hope to return to Kenya and I would not hesitate to return to the Southern Palms " Brilliant".

Room Tip: Rooms 280/281 excellent as one is a corner so really big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierce29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Having spent two weeks at Southern Palms during January and being a regular visit to Diani (where my husband is from) can highly recommend Southern palms, having stayed many Hotels in the area found this one most enjoyable and the staff the most happiest, friendly and eager to please.
Thank you Domonic for the banana daquiri's .
looking forward to returning to see you all as soon as possible and for as long as possible, 2 weeks is not long enough

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TES126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel that answers at all most all western standards is located near the white sandy beaches south of Mombasa.
Clean surroundings and decent rooms let you forget the first and dirty impressions you get while you are travelling in Kenya.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in buffet, but you can also leave the hotel behind and go for the restaurants in the neighborhood where you can find nice grilled beef and fish dishes.
The swimming pool is big and inviting and you can also follow diving initiations on certain days.
Although the beach is clean, you’d better watch out for the beach boys, who can be very annoying and aggressive.
Nevertheless worth a stay!

Room Tip: If you can choose your room, avoid the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 11 Feb through to 25 Feb. Having painstakingly scoured Trip Advisor in order to really research a good hotel. It soon became apparent that the time spent was worthwhile. Southern Palms Beach Resort turned out to be an inspired choice and we were not disappointed.

The journey to Kenya was aided positively by our flight with Thomson's when we found that we were travelling on their newly purchased Boeing 787 Dreamliner aircraft, what a great trip. However, you are still tired when you reach your destination but that tiredness soon evaporates when you are welcomed and checked in by Betty and her reception staff. Thank you all, you are a credit to the hotel and deserve the plaudits.

We settled in very well and quickly, the room (370) was a corner room and therefore nice and spacious. We soon felt 'at home'. Many thanks to Isaac for keeping our room spotless.

I'm conscious that I don't want to repeat everything that other contributors have already stated about Southern Palms. The complex itself is extremely well kept and spotlessly clean, it is easy to quickly navigate your way around and you soon become aware that the staff are the most polite, friendly and helpful that we have ever encountered on all of our travels. You soon become acquainted with the phrases 'Jambo', and 'Hakuna Matata'. Really polite welcomes and well meant.

The food was acceptable, with breakfast and the snack bar excelling, however, the restaurant food for the evening meal lacked a tad in variety for vegetarian choice. This is not meant as a massive criticism, it is just an area we feel could be enhanced. Nice variety of sweets and an abundance of great fruit at all meals times.

All of the staff are brilliant. If they can be of help they will go out of their way to do so, the entertainment staff enjoy themselves and their enthusiasm is infectious. Having said that, if you don't want to take part in the activities they don't hassle you which is great. Banter with them is fun. We recommend highly the morning guided beach walk, really good. Special mention and thanks to Hussain, Saleem, Dinnah, Lugwa, Julius, Robert and Ali. Also to Samuel the chef who always liked to speak to us individually about our meals. David the pizza chef made the tastiest pizzas. The shop was very nice and Nancy and her co-worker were very welcoming, even if we just want to browse. Dominic at the cocktail bar makes the most amazing cocktails.

Security at the resort is superb and the personnel are also very very good.

There are 3 variety of monkeys which freely roam about the place. They are quite friendly however watch your food on your balconies and keep your doors shut.

However, there are a couple of real negatives from our perspective which we feel the hotel needs to look into if they are going to enhance guests stays, as follows:

a) WiFi/Internet access is advertised but virtually non existent. Why the hotel management do not address this issue is beyond me and badly lets them down. Most travellers now want and need access to their loved ones whilst away and access to Skype is generally a must. This was totally impossible and as such it is wrong that the hotel promote the availability of WiFi or the Internet. Please Please look into this.
and,
b) Beauty Parlour. This operation is unfortunately not owned by the hotel and as such out of their control. My wife found the treatments to be expensive and not always at the advertised price. Treatments are offered and booked at one price, the treatment is given and then suddenly a higher price charged.!!!! Not very ethical at all and not isolated to my wife, we found another guest that had encountered the same sharp practice. Our advice, stay away from the beauty parlour.

We booked a 3 day safari through Julius T Safari's, a local company not associated with the tour company's. Really good service and we recommend them highly, please look at their reviews.

Would we return to Southern Palms -definite Yes.

Room Tip: We had room 370 which was a third floor corner room which was quite spacious, quiet and with a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

"Jambo Southern Palms".
We arrived around midday after many hours of travel from England and quite frankly we were very tired and fed up! Well if you want to go any where in the world to be cheered up then go there, as we walked into the beautiful reception area we were greeted with very welcome cold flannels and a refreshing coconut drink as our bags were taken off the coach, we then went to the reception desk and were greeted by Betty and her team who booked us in very quickly and greeted us with huge welcoming smiles.......now the holiday had begun.
I'm a great believer in first impressions and this place certainly delivers, the gardens are immaculate, the rooms are spacious and clean with huge balcony's.
The pools are amazing, after a few days when we swam towards the bar Nancy remembered what we drank and would be holding up our drinks in readiness for us.
The beach is very clean with beautiful white sands and the sea was oh so warm.
The food selection was just simply amazing, in the main dining room there is something for all pallets and it is not repeated day after day as in some holiday hotels, the selection is huge especially the puddings! in addition to this there is a Lebanese, an Italian, a Fish and a grill restaurant if you want some something else, (you will need to book for these).
The staff are wonderful every one of them, they all greet you with a "Jambo" and a pleasant smile, its hard to single out any one in particular as they are all working hard to please but the one who stood out was Hussain, he is an absolute credit to Southern Palms.
In the evening the entertainment was always finished by 11:00, its very low key but you'll never please every one.
I must say having read the occasional negative comment on trip advisor I am staggered! These are obviously the sort of people who like to moan for the sake of it because this place is faultless!
The only problem we had was my wife has gone up a dress size because of the fantastic puddings! small price to pay for the best holiday ever! thank you Southern Palms.

Room Tip: Take some beach shoes for the sea, there's a lot of coral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
418 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
978 reviews
5.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing