We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philpmanu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a wonderful place best holiday in 20years. Made some amazing friends and the service and attention was 5 star we can not wait to return. We both had appointments in the salon and shopped in the shop both top quality. The staff went out of their way to make us happy and the entertainment kept us amused all the time. Food excellent didn't want to go anywhere else. The sky divers just added to our amazing holiday and we were made to feel like the only people in this hotel well done especially Phil(porter who went beyond the call of duty) Stanley,( room attendant extradinair) Edward (good bar man)and Betty(a marvell). See you all soon

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Phil P,

BEST HOLIDAY IN 20 YRS!!!! Wow, That could only happen here in Southern Palms and you absolutely discovered the secret!! THE STAFF, they crown your holiday experience with their warm sincere smiles and will stop at nothing to make sure all guests are completely satisfied and happy. The new fond friends you made all adds to the 5 star attention and services you personally received as is with all our loving guests.
The excellent food, amazing sky divers, as well as our staff Phil, Stanley, Edward and last but not least Me among others. Thank you so much for your kind words, we too are happy to add you as our beloved guest.

We all cannot wait to see you very soon. Karibu Tena!.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

In short southern palms resort is absolutely out of this world. And the staff there are some of the most friendliest I have ever met in the world. Just to mention a few Frederick (the president ) Alfonso the room attendant. Stephen the beach bar waiter., noor, Hussein, frank, defense, Betty, all of who including all the other very special staff were just amazing in every way. Me and my girlfriend stayed at this resort and it has firmly embedded itself in our hearts. The people of Kenya are lovely in every way. And we will going back definately. The food was beautiful, the resort was immaculate and the beach was just perfect.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear John S,

John in short, We are the World's Best. The best hotel, the staff, Crazy Mr President, Alfonso, Stephen, Noor, Hussein, Frank, Defense and Me of course. We are extremely enthralled to know that we all hold a special place in your hearts.
The good people of Kenya, beautiful food, clean resort and perfect beach, What more can we say!! other than we all wait in anticipation for your return.

Pass our love to your delightful girlfriend with a big Jambo!

Thank you and warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed for a week in this beautiful resort.
Staff was very accommodating when arrived and through our stay. We got a room on the ground floor for the first 2 nights before we went on safari. The room seemed very dark and not very clean but been relocated when we came back. Got a lovely clean room on the first floor with a little bit of a sea view. The bathrooms however need an update.The first day, we couldn´t get any hot water however this was soon sorted and we never had a problem again. Make sure your balcony door is properly locked because you do get occational furry visitors - not a big deal though - remember you are in Africa. The room was situated right oposite the pool and evening entertainment but it never was an issue. Unless you have a small child you don´t really go to bed before 11pm while on holidays, do you?
There is a mini bar in the room although you are charged for it even if you are on AI. It´s hard to understand as you get the same stuff if you walk down a few steps and get the same drinks for free at one of the bars. I do understand there are also guests who are on a half board basis, but surely this could be organised better.
There is a safe in every room you also have to pay for. Not much but I think this should be free of charge in a 4* hotel.
The resort has a fantastic location. I loved the beach and miss the long walks already. The beach boys could be a real pain but also a source of an interesting information about Kenya. Don´t be affraid to talk, some of them are better than any tour guide.
Never had a problem with sunlounchers at the beach or pool. There were always plenty available any time during the day. The pools and all the public areas were always very clean. The food was fantastic. I´ve visited many resorts like this were the food in a buffet was rather tasteless. Kenyans however know how to cook. Plenty of choice and everything really tasty and you will always find something different. Try the naan bread, they make it better than in any Indian. Tried the pizza at the snack bar which was very good too. I can´t comment on the other restaurants as there was no need to visit them.
Animation team was great, you will never be bored.
For the UK tourists - don´t need any socket adaptor they are the same as in UK. No problem in exchanging the currancy at the hotel, you´ll need KES and USD, you are able to exchange GBP and Euros. For those online dependent there is a free wifi available at the reception and lobby.
Finally the staff - they all are very hardworking, polite, fun and made you feel most welcome. My special thanks goes to Alex, who kept our room always clean and tidy, at the restaurant - Sydney, Stella and Hussein, you all did a great job.
Overall I am more than happy to recommend this place and would stay myself again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: room 229 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8munros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear 8munros,

Greetings to you, we are happy to read your terrific review and very proud to have you call it a very nice place, the amount of information you offer on our behalf is enough to clear any doubts for any future guest planning to visit our lovely resort as you experienced it yourself.
The beautiful beach, great entertainment, Superb food especially the Pizzas and tasty nans proudly done by our own chef, not forgetting the always friendly staff who are warm and accommodating Stella, Hussein, and Sydney.
We have taken note of the areas of improvement and will look into them, however we are glad that nothing stopped you from enjoying your holiday and wouldn't hesitate to pack and come back again.
Well!! we welcome you with both arms anytime you are ready, we are always ready too.

Thank you and warm regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent a week at this hotel for the second time in Kenya and this hotel..Had a fantastic holiday even with a broken arm.Luckily I HAVE A FANTASTIC HUSBAND so no problems in the pool as he helped me in and carried me around the pool.Now for the review!!!

We travelled with from Gatwick airport and pre booked a taxi.It took 2 hours 30 minutes to get to the hotel but this included a stop at Diani Beach Hospital so we could purchase some malaria tablets.Excellent service and much cheaper than getting your tablets in the UK.I usually get bitten loads by mossies but sprayed each night with Deet no bites at all!!

FOOD- excellent .The buffet restaurant is very good -loads of choice from salads to curries. My favourite place to eat was the Boriti snack bar next to the pool. It had fabulous freshly made pizzas plus lovely Caesar salads. Loads of choice for hot dishes.Tried the Grill in the evening -very good - you need to pre book -part of your all inclusive package. Best to pre book your meal there early on your arrival. The hotel also has an Italian restaurant which you need to pre book. In the afternoon by the beach bar you can help yourselves to sandwiches ,cakes,coffee or tea.

ACTIVITIES- loads to do .From water aerobics/land aerobics by the pool to guided beach walks .Volley ball on the beach. Deep sea fishing you can book near to the beach bar very reasonably priced. I usually do this always on holiday but due to my broken arm didn't try it this time.

TV- there is a huge television near reception around the corner from the main hotel bar if you want peace and quiet or like my husband you want to watch live premiership football in the evening (Kenya is 3 hours ahead).

TREATS- had a lovely manicure from Judy and my husband had a brilliant massage from the same lady. You will see the ladies walking around the complex. Highly recommended.

THE BEACH-had no problems with hassle from locals -walked up and down the beach with my ipod probably 10 times a day.The locals only want to talk to you so very safe.

INFO PRE TRAVEL- remember that there is a £30 departure tax. Get your Kenyan shillings from home so you can give the staff tips - they do appreciate it and deserve it.

Many thanks to Gideon for cleaning our room and to Peter and Justus who looked after us so well at the pool side bar. Stacey the First Choice rep was very helpful. Loved seeing the monkeys everyday in the hotel grounds and on our balcony, but watch out, if you leave things on your balcony the monkeys may pinch them! If you are lucky you may see the bush baby who apparently arrives at 8pm above the bar near reception.

Room Tip: If you don't want monkeys on your balcony, go for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Monkette,

We are delighted to hear from you and especially to know that you are safely back home as you had a sick arm.
Your knowledgeable tips for all future travelers especially to Kenya and indeed Southern Palms make us extremely proud to call you our "beloved ambassador" everything you said from the amazing staff, excellent food, hotel activities and recreation, treats, beautiful beach, travel information and all things nice are all beneficial to a our next visiting guests.
What more can we say other than thank you for visiting us especially Gideon your one and always room steward, he shouts a big Jambo!! to you.
Please remember us to your loving husband as we look forward to your next stay with us soon..hopefully with arm well again.

Thank you and warm regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in late November and it is truly a wonderful resort. Staff were friendly & helpful, food terrific and the pool area amazing. We had a pool view room on the ground floor with a balcony which was great. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Have a camel ride on the beach, truly amazing experience! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ediden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Ediden,

Thank you so much for the kind words especially when you call it a wonderful resort, we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and that the amazing pool, terrific food, friendly and helpful staff, your room with the amazing view all met with your approval.
We are proud that you recommend the Resort too, we do look forward to your next visit with us .

Thank you and kind regards.

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, excellent staff in general, fantastic food. Wonderful New Year stay. My third stay, can't wait for my fourth.

Whatever you do, don't attempt to use the franchised dive centre "Diving the Deep Blue Sea" the sales rep there lies (no kinder way of putting it) gives false promises and then tries to fob you off. In reality is rude and a time waster.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Doccoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Jambo doccoker.

It made us all feel very proud to hear that your third visit to Southern
Palms was what you described as "a great hotel, excellent staff in general
and fantastic food." But there was one blot on an otherwise perfect review
­ your disappointment over the scuba diving lesson.

We were sad to discover that you were asked to wait for between 30 minutes
to an hour for your free pool trial to begin. Unfortunately the dive master
was out sea diving with other hotel clients and unable to return at the
time allocated for your free lesson. We understand that this was explained
to you and feel that your comments about the diving school member of staff were extremely
harsh.

During the 17 years that the sales rep has been at the diving center there has been
no complaints from any guests about either lies or rudeness, ­ on the
contrary, many compliments have been received from satisfied divers about
his professional attitude and friendly nature. We however consulted with the diving management and they looked into the matter, we regret the inconveniences.

However, we hope that this unfortunate one-off incident can now be put in
the past and everyone here is so much looking forward to greeting you when
you return for your fourth visit.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Upon arrival, the hotel appears well maintained, but there was a large group of noisy skydivers in reception which was not a great start. The rooms although a bit tired are perfectly adequate.

We were at this hotel when the Sky Divers were present, and I can confirm that as in the previous post regarding this, their presence was irritating at least, and downright dangerous at its worst. The hotel states that the beach is public and they have no control over it, which may be true, but the hotel were hosting this group for a week, and some were actually staying at the hotel. They were noisy, and seemed to think they owned the place. I would be very worried if I had children on the beach when they were landing. Many of them appeared to be inexperienced and we witnessed several near misses. This particular stretch of beach is fairly narrow, especially at high tide which was when most of the landings occurred. Seven or eight all within a few minutes of each other. There was no one on the beach to actually warn anyone of their descent.

With regards to food, it was acceptable, but repetitive.

Entertainment was very poor, apart from the occasional acrobats and dance groups. The boys who conducted the water sports and aerobics during the day were very friendly and hugely entertaining but we found that in the evening the annimation team did very little, apart from stand in a circle on the dance floor and dance amongst themselves most of the evening. There was a snake show one evening, whereby two people turned up with three snakes and a lizzard and passed them around to an audience of about 200, not very entertaining, especially the second week when they returned and did it all over again. If you like bingo and music quizzes then this is the place for you!

Having been to Kenya 9 times and stayed in a different hotel each time we would rate this quite low on our list and would not wish to return.

IF YOU WANT A SUNBED ON THE BEACH !! be prepared to get down there BEFORE 6AM!! otherwise you will have no chance. Also very annoying that many of these beds were empty
for most of the day.

All in all not the holiday we were expecting having read the reviews before we went, we thought we had found a really good hotel, sadly it was not.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are most definitely the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyndos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello Lyndos 22

Greetings and thanks for your positive comments regarding the rooms and the
fact that you thought the hotel was well maintained on your arrival. Though you
thought the food was acceptable but repetitive, we would like to point out
that the vast majority of guests are delighted with the quality and variety
offered in our restaurants.

Regarding your remarks about the sky divers group, we
take on board what you say but would point out that this matter was dealt
with in reply to a previous reviewer ­and as a seasoned visitor to our
wonderful country we feel sure you are aware that beaches are public areas
and do not come under the jurisdiction of any hotels.

However, it was disturbing to learn that you thought our entertainment
programme was poor. As well as the daily water sports and aerobics there is
also petanque, beach volley ball , beach walks and a fitness centre. Indeed, there are bingo
sessions and music quizzes which our guests find most popular, but the
evening entertainment also includes a great live band, Giriama dancers,
Maasai dancers, animation entertainment as well as disco dancing ­ and the
snake show which you mention.

In our opinion this is a well-balanced programme of entertainment. But as
it obviously failed to meet with your approval we wish you had informed us
at the time of your visit to see if there was anything we could have done to
help ­ as we wish you had done regarding the sun bed situation because this
could have quite easily been rectified.

Once again we appreciate the fact that you took the time to make your views
known and we hope to be able to act on some of the points you raised.

Kind regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,018 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $102 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing