We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We would like to start by saying we would gladly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again if we return to Kenya. The positives - The staff were fabulous and constantly asked if we were ok/enjoying ourselves-particularly Hussain! The entertainment crew worked very hard. They were always upbeat and jovial and the entertainment itself was very good in the main. Particularly Charles and the 'magic man' who kept us entertained for hours!
The food was good. Geoffrey who worked on the fruit section was a star and so creative with his 'fruit art'! Monica was fabulous on the Omelette & pasta station too. I'm not too fussy so I always had options however my husband did struggle sometimes for variety but there is always the pasta station which is lovely! Amazingly we never got bitten by mossies even though there were plenty around but I think this is partly due to the hotel spraying everywhere & leaving candles out too. The negatives -To be fair, this was our most expensive holiday ever but sadly you don't get the same value for money here as you might elsewhere in the world (we went to Mauritius for less last year and stayed at a 5 star resort). If we're honest, the hotel feels more like a 3.5 star than a 4 star. The hotel room we stayed in was fairly basic but adequate however the shower was very dated, the water flow was slow to say the least and you had to leave it running for sometime before you could get any hot water! The hawkers on the beach were by far the worse aspect of our stay (which I guess cant be so bad!). You cant walk down to the water without being harassed however the security guards at the hotel do a good job of keeping them away when they can. The monkeys were entertaining but a little alarming but not too much of an issue! Overall we had a very pleasant stay at Southern Palms and it really was a holiday to remember. Even though we were travelling with First Choice, we booked our safari through JT who provided a magnificent experience for us which we will never forget - all in all, our holiday was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 188LisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear 188LIsaP,

Hello Lisa. We were so happy to learn that you and your husband had a
holiday to remember at Southern Palms and that you would recommend us to
other potential guests.

Every member of staff mentioned by name were thrilled to know that you
described them all as being fabulous!

We accept the points you raise and would point out that plans are in hand
for refurbishment of rooms. That apart, we are delighted that you still had
an amazing holiday.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Southern Palms Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent 4 Star Hotel, great staff always smiling and could not do enough for us. We could not fault anything about this wonderful place, a big thank you to Hussain, Frank, Felix , Stephen,and of course Josphat who look after us on the beach. Thank guys will not forget your hospitality and kindness, will definitely be back next year all being well. The beach boys are a pain but have got to earn a living. It would have been nice to take a stroll along the beach without being hounded by them, don't let this put you off this great place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetc130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Janetc 130,

Everyone here was delighted to learn that you plan to return to Southern
Palms next year. We are already counting the weeks until we see you again
and can't wait to provide you with the same high standard of service you
received during your recent vacation.
Asante sana

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned following a two week honeymoon at this hotel and we had one of the best holidays we have ever had! I cannot praise the staff enough from the security staff, pool attendants through to the animation team and the waiters. Everyone we came into contact with could not do enough for us. The staff genuinely care about their guests and want them to have a great holiday. There are far to many to mention on here but some staff that really stood out to us were Hamisi Dzambo (chef), David & Tobias (thanks for the lovely omelettes & pizza), Josphat Nzuki, Lugwe Masumbuko, Geoffery Gachery (security), Linet mideva (trainee waitress), Frank Muturi, Felix Kivuva and geoffrey (fruit artist) who prepared us delicious fruit every morning. There were many more we could add to this list.
The animation team were brilliant! I miss the sound of uncle sam & charlie in the mornings. They tried to get you involved but were not too pushy if you didn't want to join in. The evening entertainment was good and varied. The beach walks with the animation team were a great idea as you got to walk the beach with no hassel from the beach boys.
The rooms were spotless as were the grounds and pool area. The staff work very hard and the pool attendants work effortlessly to keep the pools clean. The beach is lovely and the security staff work hard to keep the beach boys at bay.
The food was delicious and well varied. There was the main restaurant where there was buffet food with lots of choice at breakfast, lunch & dinner. There was the boritti snack restaurant which cooked great pizza along with lots of other choices of great snacks. There was a grill restaurant where the waiters serve the food at your table. I could not find any fault with the food. Truly exceptional!
We plan on returning to Southern palms again in the future and cannot wait to meet many members of the staff again. They helped shape our honeymoon into the best holiday ever.
Thank you everyone at Southern Palms, you all deserve to be very proud of yourselves for your hard work!! We can't wait to return. Michelle & Tony

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missymop52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Missymop,

How proud you have made us feel by saying that we helped make your honeymoon
the best holiday ever!
You are so right, all the staff at Southern Palms do genuinely care about
all the guests and it is always their aim to ensure everyone has a great
vacation.

The chefs and waiters were delighted to learn that you found the food was
exceptional both in quality and quantity and were to pool and gardeners for
your kind remarks about their work. The individual members of staff have
been told of your praise for their efforts all say a big thank-you.

We were so happy to learn that you plan to return to Southern Palms again in
the future and we promise you a warm welcome when that day arrives.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff was super friendly. The food was good. Enough variation. Nice activities. Great pool. The beach is fantastic, despite the beachboys. Very well maintained. Very clean. WATCH OUT: check out is at 10 AM everything after that is to be paid for. Even if you're all inclusive and your transfer to the airport is only hours after check out.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cj21989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear cj21989,

Thank you so much for your praise of the staff, the hotel and everything
that goes with it. We were sorry that the check-out time was a concern, but
this to enable to housekeeping staff to do their work thoroughly and in time for the next arriving guest as we strive to maintain our very high standards of comfort and cleanliness. We very much
appreciate your comments.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hi all, myself and my husband just returned from this hotel and are already looking to go again and we never return to the same place twice, so I will give you as much info as I can.
To start with the service and staff here are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely care about their guests.
The food is great, varied and of high quality. For breakfast there were things like pork, chicken and beef sausages (yes all 3 types), bacon, eggs, omelette, potatoes, tomatoes, fruit, cereal and toast and much more!! Lunch you could have at the main Buffett which was very good offering things like fresh pasta, soup, salad, ribs, fish, chicken and Indian food or you could go to the boritti bar with things on offer like burgers, hotdogs, chips, fresh made pizza, fish and again lots more....just soooo much choice!!
Then we go onto dinner where you could have the main Buffett which again there were many choices and amazing melon carvings and desserts or you can eat at the grill where you have the waiter come to your table and serve you meat from a skewer, we had chicken, beef, lamb and fish and they just keep walking around giving you more.
There was also the Italian restaurant which we didn't visit as the menu was not to our liking but many people we met enjoyed it, personnel preference I suppose!
The swimming pool area was gorgeous and kept very clean by the hard working pool attendants, one who stood out to us was called Hassan and he was so friendly and happy.
The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and comfortable, beds were a bit hard for my liking but the pillows were lovely, the staff put your mozzy nets down every evening and as well as a fiull clean in the morning they also emptied bins and remade beds if needed in the evening too.
The activities were great, the animation team are fantastic people and very well organised although not too pushy if you didn't want to join in they let you be, we did the beach walk twice which was good but a long walk of nearly an hour, water aerobics and pétanque and enjoyed them all.
Different entertainment every night from dancers, snake shows, quiz nights, live bands and much more, only complaint is it finishes too early at 11pm, you just start enjoying yourself and the music is finished and packed up.
The only bad thing about this hotel was being harassed by the guys on the beach, it was impossible to go alone on the beach but I will say if you stay on the sunbeds near the hotel the security staff were great and kept them away and if they saw you being harassed they were over to help you out in seconds.....first class service yet again!!
We loved this holiday and can't wait to return, I would recommend to anyone so don't hesitate just book your stay here and say hi from us!
Lastly I must give the names of the staff who made our holiday very special indeed, they will remain our friends forever so thank you to the animation team: Uncle Sam, bobo, Jenny, Peter, Charlie, Omar and all of the animators, also to linet (trainee waitress) Jeffery, hammisey, Felix,David, hussain and frank, but mostly to Maurice on the animation team who looked after us every night and made us feel very welcome indeed....all a true credit to the hotel, but every staff member was great here, 4*hotel but 5* service!

Thank you southern palms for some lovely memories, we will be back!

suzie and john golding

Room Tip: Sea view are beautiful but the sea is very rough at night so can be very noisy, but worth it for the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear suziegolding,

Greetings Suzie and John. When you tell us that you normally never visit the
same place twice and yet you are already looking to return to Southern
Palms, it fills us with so much pride.

Your kind words have delighted each and every member of staff you singled
out for praise. They appreciate your comments so very much and all remember
you both with affection.

We were delighted with your reaction to the hotel facilities and many activ
ities ­ and when you spoke about the quality and listed the great variety of
food on offer, it really began to make us feel hungry!

It gave us great pleasure in helping to create some wonderful holiday
memories and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Jambo everyone. We stayed at the Southern Palms for 2 weeks and it was one of the best holidays we have had. We arrived in the early morning on Sunday and were allocated our rooms after a short wait (Which allowed us time for breakfast). Unfortunately our first room had a few minor problems which meant we had to move. After a short sleep, we were allocated another room without much fuss. The reception Team handled this hiccup very efficiently.

The food in all of the restaurants we used was to a high quality. The fruit carvings created by 'Picasso' were brilliant. The barbecue restaurant is also worth a worthy mention.

The grounds of the hotel are very well manicured including the massive pool. During our stay we encountered monkeys every day. They would wonder past looking for anything eatable, which includes people sneaking bananas out of the restaurant.

We think the thing that made the holiday great (Aside from the Masi Mara Safari) was the friendly staff. Every body from the Waiters and Managers to the Grounds Men and Security Staff, would greet us with JAMBO. A special thank you is saved for the Animation Team, in particular Bobo, Jennifer, Peter and Omah. They kept us involved and entertained throughout the holiday with water polo, beach volley ball and water aerobics. (Omah needs a bit more practise on the Pool table). We enjoyed many an evening in their company, dancing and bantering. They really made the holiday special.

On a more practical front. Don't take any towels. (The hotel provides these for the room, pool and beach). There is a hair dryer in the room. Take a travel iron if your concerned about creases. The entertainment finishes at 23:00, so getting a good nights rest was not a problem. Don't worry about the beach sellers, go on the guided walks at 10:30 each morning, which are accompanied by a security guard until you get a feel for it. Any spare weight allowance in your outbound luggage, fill with pencils and drawing/writing books for the local schools and orphanages, they will love you for it. Have a very special meal at Ali Barba's Cave. You will be picked up and dropped back at the hotel for free.

Thank you Southern Palms for making our first trip to Kenya a very enjoyable and memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi Kim.

It was so good to discover that your vacation was so good and everyone here
at Southern Palms is so happy to have made your first trip to our beautiful
country enjoyable and memorable. We are delighted that you enjoyed our high
quality food and also found our grounds and pool area so pleasing as they
are something in which we take great pride.

Despite the minor problem on your arrival, which you kindly said was
handled so well at reception, it was reassuring to know that from then on
everything went well. Asante sana.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Southern Palms from 2nd to 12th Sepetmber. However, we had to change our room 3 times because the safes did not work and their was no empathy by any of the staff including Hussein who talked a good story. The food was bland but plenty of choices. We found the Italian Restaurant was ok but not what I would call UK a la carte but the service was very good and the staff were friendly. The beach was painful and got pestered by the beach boys but security were on hand for any trouble. The beach boys took us away from the main complex and demanded money for showing us some of the beautiful things that can be found amongst the rocks, albeit I did not begrudge them anything as they were friendly and gave them £5 for showing it to us, it is something to be aware off. Furthermore, make sure you take beach shoes if you are venturing into the sea becuase of the vast sea urgents. The 4 day safari was amazing but make sure you take wet ones and tissues with you as the toilets are not great. We managed to get upgraded to Saltlick, which was another experience in itself.
The pool was very good and the pool staff tried to involve you in all activities, sometimes too much. The Spa ladies also constantly pestered you albeit they were very polite but you would get a different one come round every 5 minutes, which became annoying.
Overall we had a geat time but disappointed with the hotel and the amount of times we had to pack and unpack due to faulty safes. You would have thought they would have checked them first prior to letting the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Drou 65

Greetings and thanks for your review. We would like to express our regret
over the problems you had with the safe not working in your room and assure
you that the matter is being looked into as a matter of urgency. We were
disappointed that you received little understanding from the staff, and the
person you named, over this issue but it was pleasing to see that the
service and staff was very good in the Italian Restaurant.

However, we were happy that you enjoyed your holiday overall despite the
misgivings and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,534 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $97 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing