We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveler rating
687
504
159
60
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
504
159
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillmain restaurantbeach boyshalf boardall inclusive packagenyama chomaanimation teamwater aerobicsf b managerday safarievening entertainmentmasai dancerschoice of restaurantsbeach volleyballroom attendantindian foodfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff was super friendly. The food was good. Enough variation. Nice activities. Great pool. The beach is fantastic, despite the beachboys. Very well maintained. Very clean. WATCH OUT: check out is at 10 AM everything after that is to be paid for. Even if you're all inclusive and your transfer to the airport is only hours after check out.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cj21989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear cj21989,

Thank you so much for your praise of the staff, the hotel and everything
that goes with it. We were sorry that the check-out time was a concern, but
this to enable to housekeeping staff to do their work thoroughly and in time for the next arriving guest as we strive to maintain our very high standards of comfort and cleanliness. We very much
appreciate your comments.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hi all, myself and my husband just returned from this hotel and are already looking to go again and we never return to the same place twice, so I will give you as much info as I can.
To start with the service and staff here are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely care about their guests.
The food is great, varied and of high quality. For breakfast there were things like pork, chicken and beef sausages (yes all 3 types), bacon, eggs, omelette, potatoes, tomatoes, fruit, cereal and toast and much more!! Lunch you could have at the main Buffett which was very good offering things like fresh pasta, soup, salad, ribs, fish, chicken and Indian food or you could go to the boritti bar with things on offer like burgers, hotdogs, chips, fresh made pizza, fish and again lots more....just soooo much choice!!
Then we go onto dinner where you could have the main Buffett which again there were many choices and amazing melon carvings and desserts or you can eat at the grill where you have the waiter come to your table and serve you meat from a skewer, we had chicken, beef, lamb and fish and they just keep walking around giving you more.
There was also the Italian restaurant which we didn't visit as the menu was not to our liking but many people we met enjoyed it, personnel preference I suppose!
The swimming pool area was gorgeous and kept very clean by the hard working pool attendants, one who stood out to us was called Hassan and he was so friendly and happy.
The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and comfortable, beds were a bit hard for my liking but the pillows were lovely, the staff put your mozzy nets down every evening and as well as a fiull clean in the morning they also emptied bins and remade beds if needed in the evening too.
The activities were great, the animation team are fantastic people and very well organised although not too pushy if you didn't want to join in they let you be, we did the beach walk twice which was good but a long walk of nearly an hour, water aerobics and pétanque and enjoyed them all.
Different entertainment every night from dancers, snake shows, quiz nights, live bands and much more, only complaint is it finishes too early at 11pm, you just start enjoying yourself and the music is finished and packed up.
The only bad thing about this hotel was being harassed by the guys on the beach, it was impossible to go alone on the beach but I will say if you stay on the sunbeds near the hotel the security staff were great and kept them away and if they saw you being harassed they were over to help you out in seconds.....first class service yet again!!
We loved this holiday and can't wait to return, I would recommend to anyone so don't hesitate just book your stay here and say hi from us!
Lastly I must give the names of the staff who made our holiday very special indeed, they will remain our friends forever so thank you to the animation team: Uncle Sam, bobo, Jenny, Peter, Charlie, Omar and all of the animators, also to linet (trainee waitress) Jeffery, hammisey, Felix,David, hussain and frank, but mostly to Maurice on the animation team who looked after us every night and made us feel very welcome indeed....all a true credit to the hotel, but every staff member was great here, 4*hotel but 5* service!

Thank you southern palms for some lovely memories, we will be back!

suzie and john golding

Room Tip: Sea view are beautiful but the sea is very rough at night so can be very noisy, but worth it for the view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear suziegolding,

Greetings Suzie and John. When you tell us that you normally never visit the
same place twice and yet you are already looking to return to Southern
Palms, it fills us with so much pride.

Your kind words have delighted each and every member of staff you singled
out for praise. They appreciate your comments so very much and all remember
you both with affection.

We were delighted with your reaction to the hotel facilities and many activ
ities ­ and when you spoke about the quality and listed the great variety of
food on offer, it really began to make us feel hungry!

It gave us great pleasure in helping to create some wonderful holiday
memories and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Jambo everyone. We stayed at the Southern Palms for 2 weeks and it was one of the best holidays we have had. We arrived in the early morning on Sunday and were allocated our rooms after a short wait (Which allowed us time for breakfast). Unfortunately our first room had a few minor problems which meant we had to move. After a short sleep, we were allocated another room without much fuss. The reception Team handled this hiccup very efficiently.

The food in all of the restaurants we used was to a high quality. The fruit carvings created by 'Picasso' were brilliant. The barbecue restaurant is also worth a worthy mention.

The grounds of the hotel are very well manicured including the massive pool. During our stay we encountered monkeys every day. They would wonder past looking for anything eatable, which includes people sneaking bananas out of the restaurant.

We think the thing that made the holiday great (Aside from the Masi Mara Safari) was the friendly staff. Every body from the Waiters and Managers to the Grounds Men and Security Staff, would greet us with JAMBO. A special thank you is saved for the Animation Team, in particular Bobo, Jennifer, Peter and Omah. They kept us involved and entertained throughout the holiday with water polo, beach volley ball and water aerobics. (Omah needs a bit more practise on the Pool table). We enjoyed many an evening in their company, dancing and bantering. They really made the holiday special.

On a more practical front. Don't take any towels. (The hotel provides these for the room, pool and beach). There is a hair dryer in the room. Take a travel iron if your concerned about creases. The entertainment finishes at 23:00, so getting a good nights rest was not a problem. Don't worry about the beach sellers, go on the guided walks at 10:30 each morning, which are accompanied by a security guard until you get a feel for it. Any spare weight allowance in your outbound luggage, fill with pencils and drawing/writing books for the local schools and orphanages, they will love you for it. Have a very special meal at Ali Barba's Cave. You will be picked up and dropped back at the hotel for free.

Thank you Southern Palms for making our first trip to Kenya a very enjoyable and memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi Kim.

It was so good to discover that your vacation was so good and everyone here
at Southern Palms is so happy to have made your first trip to our beautiful
country enjoyable and memorable. We are delighted that you enjoyed our high
quality food and also found our grounds and pool area so pleasing as they
are something in which we take great pride.

Despite the minor problem on your arrival, which you kindly said was
handled so well at reception, it was reassuring to know that from then on
everything went well. Asante sana.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Southern Palms from 2nd to 12th Sepetmber. However, we had to change our room 3 times because the safes did not work and their was no empathy by any of the staff including Hussein who talked a good story. The food was bland but plenty of choices. We found the Italian Restaurant was ok but not what I would call UK a la carte but the service was very good and the staff were friendly. The beach was painful and got pestered by the beach boys but security were on hand for any trouble. The beach boys took us away from the main complex and demanded money for showing us some of the beautiful things that can be found amongst the rocks, albeit I did not begrudge them anything as they were friendly and gave them £5 for showing it to us, it is something to be aware off. Furthermore, make sure you take beach shoes if you are venturing into the sea becuase of the vast sea urgents. The 4 day safari was amazing but make sure you take wet ones and tissues with you as the toilets are not great. We managed to get upgraded to Saltlick, which was another experience in itself.
The pool was very good and the pool staff tried to involve you in all activities, sometimes too much. The Spa ladies also constantly pestered you albeit they were very polite but you would get a different one come round every 5 minutes, which became annoying.
Overall we had a geat time but disappointed with the hotel and the amount of times we had to pack and unpack due to faulty safes. You would have thought they would have checked them first prior to letting the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Drou 65

Greetings and thanks for your review. We would like to express our regret
over the problems you had with the safe not working in your room and assure
you that the matter is being looked into as a matter of urgency. We were
disappointed that you received little understanding from the staff, and the
person you named, over this issue but it was pleasing to see that the
service and staff was very good in the Italian Restaurant.

However, we were happy that you enjoyed your holiday overall despite the
misgivings and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm Rebecca, 15 and I went on holiday here with my family during the summer of this year. The holiday was brilliant! Probably the best holiday I've been on, all the staff are very very friendly and welcoming and will help you however they can to make sure your holiday is the best it can be. We arrived and were given fresh coconuts and towels to cool us down, before having our bags carried for us as we were shown to our rooms. We also met the manager Hussian when we arrived, he checked up on us regularly throughout our stay to make sure that everything was going well -of which it was. He was probably the most friendly person I met on the holiday and was always making me and the family laugh and feel very welcome. The food was also amazing there, every night you could go to the main restaurant area to have a buffet-type meal with plenty to choose from, this included curry's, fish, meatballs, seasonal vegetables, soup, and the most wonderful selection of puddings. There was also a man who would carve brilliant images in to the fruit, such as moneys and guitars in to the melons, which just added to the atmosphere for the night making it a wonderful way to eat. There were different restaurants as well such as an Italian and a BBQ themed area which was right on the poolside. In the evenings you could sit out by the pool on the WIFI whilst enjoying a drink served to you by the waiters such as Felix who also made a massive effort to make us feel welcome. The entertainment every evening, the staff and the environment were all absolutely amazing and couldn't be praised enough, I would love to go back there if I ever get the chance. It really was the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaL0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear BeccaLowe,

Hi Becca, It was so good to learn that you rated your holiday at Southern
Palms as the best ever. Everyone is so happy to have contributed to the
experience and can assure you that in time to come, when you have completed
all your studies, we would be delighted to welcome you back for another
Holiday of a lifetime.

Kind regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews