We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveler rating
687
504
159
60
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
504
159
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillmain restaurantbeach boyshalf boardall inclusive packagenyama chomaanimation teamwater aerobicsf b managerday safarievening entertainmentmasai dancerschoice of restaurantsbeach volleyballroom attendantindian foodfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Southern Palms from 2nd to 12th Sepetmber. However, we had to change our room 3 times because the safes did not work and their was no empathy by any of the staff including Hussein who talked a good story. The food was bland but plenty of choices. We found the Italian Restaurant was ok but not what I would call UK a la carte but the service was very good and the staff were friendly. The beach was painful and got pestered by the beach boys but security were on hand for any trouble. The beach boys took us away from the main complex and demanded money for showing us some of the beautiful things that can be found amongst the rocks, albeit I did not begrudge them anything as they were friendly and gave them £5 for showing it to us, it is something to be aware off. Furthermore, make sure you take beach shoes if you are venturing into the sea becuase of the vast sea urgents. The 4 day safari was amazing but make sure you take wet ones and tissues with you as the toilets are not great. We managed to get upgraded to Saltlick, which was another experience in itself.
The pool was very good and the pool staff tried to involve you in all activities, sometimes too much. The Spa ladies also constantly pestered you albeit they were very polite but you would get a different one come round every 5 minutes, which became annoying.
Overall we had a geat time but disappointed with the hotel and the amount of times we had to pack and unpack due to faulty safes. You would have thought they would have checked them first prior to letting the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Drou 65

Greetings and thanks for your review. We would like to express our regret
over the problems you had with the safe not working in your room and assure
you that the matter is being looked into as a matter of urgency. We were
disappointed that you received little understanding from the staff, and the
person you named, over this issue but it was pleasing to see that the
service and staff was very good in the Italian Restaurant.

However, we were happy that you enjoyed your holiday overall despite the
misgivings and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm Rebecca, 15 and I went on holiday here with my family during the summer of this year. The holiday was brilliant! Probably the best holiday I've been on, all the staff are very very friendly and welcoming and will help you however they can to make sure your holiday is the best it can be. We arrived and were given fresh coconuts and towels to cool us down, before having our bags carried for us as we were shown to our rooms. We also met the manager Hussian when we arrived, he checked up on us regularly throughout our stay to make sure that everything was going well -of which it was. He was probably the most friendly person I met on the holiday and was always making me and the family laugh and feel very welcome. The food was also amazing there, every night you could go to the main restaurant area to have a buffet-type meal with plenty to choose from, this included curry's, fish, meatballs, seasonal vegetables, soup, and the most wonderful selection of puddings. There was also a man who would carve brilliant images in to the fruit, such as moneys and guitars in to the melons, which just added to the atmosphere for the night making it a wonderful way to eat. There were different restaurants as well such as an Italian and a BBQ themed area which was right on the poolside. In the evenings you could sit out by the pool on the WIFI whilst enjoying a drink served to you by the waiters such as Felix who also made a massive effort to make us feel welcome. The entertainment every evening, the staff and the environment were all absolutely amazing and couldn't be praised enough, I would love to go back there if I ever get the chance. It really was the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaL0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear BeccaLowe,

Hi Becca, It was so good to learn that you rated your holiday at Southern
Palms as the best ever. Everyone is so happy to have contributed to the
experience and can assure you that in time to come, when you have completed
all your studies, we would be delighted to welcome you back for another
Holiday of a lifetime.

Kind regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I have just the most amazing beach holiday at the southern palms hotel on Diani beach in Kenya. The facilities including the bedrooms, the pools, the restaurants and their food, the bars, the beautiful beach and most of all, all their wonderfully friendly and efficient staff made the holiday the best ever!!! Thanks for the beautiful melon sculptures Geoffrey!!! U r so gifted. I could have watched u do your art for hours!!! Thanks to all the teams who helped to make my time there so much fun. U all deserve a medal!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank SandieScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Sandie Scott,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments Sandie ­ everyone here really
appreciates all your remarks.

The staff have had a meeting and decided that when the medals are delivered
they would like you to return to present them to us, hahahaha!!

Asane sana.

Best Regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have just come back from Southern Palms and cannot recommend it enough. The staff there are absolutely brilliant and will do everything they can to make sure your stay is perfect. First there is Hussain whose mission is to memorize every guest's name and for whom nothing is too much trouble and is always checking that all is well. Then there are waiters Frank and Felix who are like the energiser bunnies.......always on the move, fetching and carrying like men possessed. I've got to give a special mention to Ronald the stir-fry king, who gave us his recipe along with a demo cooking lesson (we've made two since we've been back and they are just fabulous) and also Geoffrey the pastry artist who makes the most amazing sculptures from melons...they really have to be seen to be believed!! But all the staff work really hard from Victor in the grill restaurant down to the cleaners ( I haven't forgotten you Oliver and
Paillej)

The hotel itself has got beautiful grounds with a meandering swimming pool that runs right through it. You can always find a quiet spot if you want it and there are always enough sunbeds to go round. The beach is a real plus, golden sand that's raked every day and lovely walks in either direction and is one of the few hotels in Kenya that has a private stretch for guests to use. The beach boys can be a bit annoying at times, but they are only trying to earn a little bit of money to feed their families, and can be trusted despite the way they look! We befriended a couple of them and booked a trip to Wassini Island, identical to the one offered in the hotel, but at just over half the price. They all know each other, so if you want to buy anything direct from them, ask for our guy Lulu, he's not as pushy as some of the others so doesn't get many customers, and you can trust him to deliver what you've asked for. Tell him that Dave and Brenda recommended him.

If you want to go on safari it's worth going local and booking with JT Safaris......we have used Julius for years and he is always much cheaper than using tour operators and he has a very good reputation. We emailed him before we went and arranged a time for him to meet us at the hotel. He sent a car and driver to take us to his office where we arranged the safari, and then we were driven back. Personal service......what more could you want!

Have a great holiday, we did!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaCrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Brenda Crick,

After enjoying what you describe as a great holiday, your recommendation of
Southern Palms is music to our ears Brenda,.

Your words of praise for the staff have been passed on and they are all
delighted ­ particularly Frank and Felix, Ronald (who is thrilled that you
have tried out and enjoyed his stir-fry recipe) and Geoffrey (whose fruit
carving is admired by everyone). Victor in the grill restaurant and room
stewards Oliver and Paillej also say a big thank-you.

A great deal of effort goes into keeping the beautiful grounds and pool
complex in immaculate condition and it means a lot to those responsible when
their work is appreciated by guests like yourself and Dave.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

JAMBO!!! We spent two fantastic weeks in Kenya at Southern Palms. We truly enjoyed and definitely will return in the future. What makes Southern Palms special is the superb location, paradise beach(minus beach boys) and amazing staff who were incredibly friendly and helpful. We would like to say a massive Asante Sana to: Hussain (fantastic manager,looking after all guests), Ali Kauli(amazing person, whom we truly enjoyed talking to every morning at the pool), Nancy( for scrumptious cocktails), Sidney Emakule(for great humour and fantastic time and help during yummy meals) and of course Uncle Sam( for full of fun and laughter aquarobic sessions in the pool). Asante Sana Southern Palms, you have an amazing team of people working there and hope to see you in the future :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Aga C,

How pleased we were to learn that Southern Palms and its staff met all
your expectations. It makes everything worthwhile when our efforts are
appreciated and the staff you mentioned by name, including Ali, Nancy,
Sidney and the effervescent Uncle Sam really look forward to seeing you
again on your return.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews