We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveler rating
692
507
161
60
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
507
161
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill main restaurant beach boys half board all inclusive package nyama choma animation team water aerobics f b manager day safari evening entertainment masai dancers choice of restaurants beach volleyball indian food fantastic holiday beach bar
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm Rebecca, 15 and I went on holiday here with my family during the summer of this year. The holiday was brilliant! Probably the best holiday I've been on, all the staff are very very friendly and welcoming and will help you however they can to make sure your holiday is the best it can be. We arrived and were given fresh coconuts and towels to cool us down, before having our bags carried for us as we were shown to our rooms. We also met the manager Hussian when we arrived, he checked up on us regularly throughout our stay to make sure that everything was going well -of which it was. He was probably the most friendly person I met on the holiday and was always making me and the family laugh and feel very welcome. The food was also amazing there, every night you could go to the main restaurant area to have a buffet-type meal with plenty to choose from, this included curry's, fish, meatballs, seasonal vegetables, soup, and the most wonderful selection of puddings. There was also a man who would carve brilliant images in to the fruit, such as moneys and guitars in to the melons, which just added to the atmosphere for the night making it a wonderful way to eat. There were different restaurants as well such as an Italian and a BBQ themed area which was right on the poolside. In the evenings you could sit out by the pool on the WIFI whilst enjoying a drink served to you by the waiters such as Felix who also made a massive effort to make us feel welcome. The entertainment every evening, the staff and the environment were all absolutely amazing and couldn't be praised enough, I would love to go back there if I ever get the chance. It really was the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaL0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear BeccaLowe,

Hi Becca, It was so good to learn that you rated your holiday at Southern
Palms as the best ever. Everyone is so happy to have contributed to the
experience and can assure you that in time to come, when you have completed
all your studies, we would be delighted to welcome you back for another
Holiday of a lifetime.

Kind regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I have just the most amazing beach holiday at the southern palms hotel on Diani beach in Kenya. The facilities including the bedrooms, the pools, the restaurants and their food, the bars, the beautiful beach and most of all, all their wonderfully friendly and efficient staff made the holiday the best ever!!! Thanks for the beautiful melon sculptures Geoffrey!!! U r so gifted. I could have watched u do your art for hours!!! Thanks to all the teams who helped to make my time there so much fun. U all deserve a medal!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank SandieScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Sandie Scott,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments Sandie ­ everyone here really
appreciates all your remarks.

The staff have had a meeting and decided that when the medals are delivered
they would like you to return to present them to us, hahahaha!!

Asane sana.

Best Regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have just come back from Southern Palms and cannot recommend it enough. The staff there are absolutely brilliant and will do everything they can to make sure your stay is perfect. First there is Hussain whose mission is to memorize every guest's name and for whom nothing is too much trouble and is always checking that all is well. Then there are waiters Frank and Felix who are like the energiser bunnies.......always on the move, fetching and carrying like men possessed. I've got to give a special mention to Ronald the stir-fry king, who gave us his recipe along with a demo cooking lesson (we've made two since we've been back and they are just fabulous) and also Geoffrey the pastry artist who makes the most amazing sculptures from melons...they really have to be seen to be believed!! But all the staff work really hard from Victor in the grill restaurant down to the cleaners ( I haven't forgotten you Oliver and
Paillej)

The hotel itself has got beautiful grounds with a meandering swimming pool that runs right through it. You can always find a quiet spot if you want it and there are always enough sunbeds to go round. The beach is a real plus, golden sand that's raked every day and lovely walks in either direction and is one of the few hotels in Kenya that has a private stretch for guests to use. The beach boys can be a bit annoying at times, but they are only trying to earn a little bit of money to feed their families, and can be trusted despite the way they look! We befriended a couple of them and booked a trip to Wassini Island, identical to the one offered in the hotel, but at just over half the price. They all know each other, so if you want to buy anything direct from them, ask for our guy Lulu, he's not as pushy as some of the others so doesn't get many customers, and you can trust him to deliver what you've asked for. Tell him that Dave and Brenda recommended him.

If you want to go on safari it's worth going local and booking with JT Safaris......we have used Julius for years and he is always much cheaper than using tour operators and he has a very good reputation. We emailed him before we went and arranged a time for him to meet us at the hotel. He sent a car and driver to take us to his office where we arranged the safari, and then we were driven back. Personal service......what more could you want!

Have a great holiday, we did!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaCrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Brenda Crick,

After enjoying what you describe as a great holiday, your recommendation of
Southern Palms is music to our ears Brenda,.

Your words of praise for the staff have been passed on and they are all
delighted ­ particularly Frank and Felix, Ronald (who is thrilled that you
have tried out and enjoyed his stir-fry recipe) and Geoffrey (whose fruit
carving is admired by everyone). Victor in the grill restaurant and room
stewards Oliver and Paillej also say a big thank-you.

A great deal of effort goes into keeping the beautiful grounds and pool
complex in immaculate condition and it means a lot to those responsible when
their work is appreciated by guests like yourself and Dave.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

JAMBO!!! We spent two fantastic weeks in Kenya at Southern Palms. We truly enjoyed and definitely will return in the future. What makes Southern Palms special is the superb location, paradise beach(minus beach boys) and amazing staff who were incredibly friendly and helpful. We would like to say a massive Asante Sana to: Hussain (fantastic manager,looking after all guests), Ali Kauli(amazing person, whom we truly enjoyed talking to every morning at the pool), Nancy( for scrumptious cocktails), Sidney Emakule(for great humour and fantastic time and help during yummy meals) and of course Uncle Sam( for full of fun and laughter aquarobic sessions in the pool). Asante Sana Southern Palms, you have an amazing team of people working there and hope to see you in the future :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Aga C,

How pleased we were to learn that Southern Palms and its staff met all
your expectations. It makes everything worthwhile when our efforts are
appreciated and the staff you mentioned by name, including Ali, Nancy,
Sidney and the effervescent Uncle Sam really look forward to seeing you
again on your return.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Southern Palms for 6 nights following our safari trip, booked through 'The Big Journey Company'. Every singe member of staff we met had a smile and were helpful and friendly.
The resort leads directly to the wonderful beach (the only downside to the beach were the 'beach boys' who are persistent in trying to sell their goods) and each day a guided walk along the beach was available.
The food was high quality, plenty of choice (even for vegetarians!) well presented and the restaurant well laid out. We only used the main restaurant but there are 5 on site. Sitting eating while watching the weaver birds build their nests was lovely.

The pools are large and there are plenty of sun loungers, towels are provided.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the beautifully kept gardens and pool, and Duke (hope I've got his name correct), the young gardener, provided us with fresh flowers for the patio table. George, our room steward kept the room spotless and there were nice 'little touches' like a wrapped sweet on the pillow each day, and the mosquito nets put up and down each morning / evening ready for us.
You do need to keep the doors closed though as the monkeys around the site have learned that there can be sweet things in the room and we saw at least a couple with packets of biscuits or similar which had been stolen, we assumed, from the rooms (one giveaway was when a packet floated down from one of the rooms above us!). There is a sign saying it's illegal by law to feed the monkeys but we saw several people giving them bananas regardless.

Go the bar by reception about 7.15pm to see the bushbaby who drops by each evening too!

There are several trips that are available to book - I don't travel well on boats but a friend did the dolphin trip and had an amazing day, swimming with about 12 free dolphins and a turtle, and having lots of fish, a stingray and many other 'underwater safari' species pointed out to her.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Pat P,

Thank you so much for your kind review ­ you put a smile on the faces of
everyone around.

Your praise for the quality and quantity of our food delighted to restaurant
staff ­ and our resident weaver birds seem to have been even more active
since their mention Trip Advisor!!

We were happy to know that your enjoyed your room with a view overlooking
the beautifully maintained gardens and that you found George your room
steward so obliging.

Your advice to guests about keeping the balcony doors closed is sound, as
the monkeys are quick to spot any opportunity to steal things. Thank you
again for your kind words.
You are welcome again in Southern Palms.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews