We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,462)
Filter reviews
1,462 results
Traveler rating
688
504
159
60
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
504
159
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillmain restaurantbeach boyshalf boardall inclusive packagenyama chomaanimation teamwater aerobicsf b managerday safarievening entertainmentmasai dancerschoice of restaurantsbeach volleyballroom attendantindian foodfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 1,462 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

JAMBO!!! We spent two fantastic weeks in Kenya at Southern Palms. We truly enjoyed and definitely will return in the future. What makes Southern Palms special is the superb location, paradise beach(minus beach boys) and amazing staff who were incredibly friendly and helpful. We would like to say a massive Asante Sana to: Hussain (fantastic manager,looking after all guests), Ali Kauli(amazing person, whom we truly enjoyed talking to every morning at the pool), Nancy( for scrumptious cocktails), Sidney Emakule(for great humour and fantastic time and help during yummy meals) and of course Uncle Sam( for full of fun and laughter aquarobic sessions in the pool). Asante Sana Southern Palms, you have an amazing team of people working there and hope to see you in the future :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Aga C,

How pleased we were to learn that Southern Palms and its staff met all
your expectations. It makes everything worthwhile when our efforts are
appreciated and the staff you mentioned by name, including Ali, Nancy,
Sidney and the effervescent Uncle Sam really look forward to seeing you
again on your return.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Southern Palms for 6 nights following our safari trip, booked through 'The Big Journey Company'. Every singe member of staff we met had a smile and were helpful and friendly.
The resort leads directly to the wonderful beach (the only downside to the beach were the 'beach boys' who are persistent in trying to sell their goods) and each day a guided walk along the beach was available.
The food was high quality, plenty of choice (even for vegetarians!) well presented and the restaurant well laid out. We only used the main restaurant but there are 5 on site. Sitting eating while watching the weaver birds build their nests was lovely.

The pools are large and there are plenty of sun loungers, towels are provided.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the beautifully kept gardens and pool, and Duke (hope I've got his name correct), the young gardener, provided us with fresh flowers for the patio table. George, our room steward kept the room spotless and there were nice 'little touches' like a wrapped sweet on the pillow each day, and the mosquito nets put up and down each morning / evening ready for us.
You do need to keep the doors closed though as the monkeys around the site have learned that there can be sweet things in the room and we saw at least a couple with packets of biscuits or similar which had been stolen, we assumed, from the rooms (one giveaway was when a packet floated down from one of the rooms above us!). There is a sign saying it's illegal by law to feed the monkeys but we saw several people giving them bananas regardless.

Go the bar by reception about 7.15pm to see the bushbaby who drops by each evening too!

There are several trips that are available to book - I don't travel well on boats but a friend did the dolphin trip and had an amazing day, swimming with about 12 free dolphins and a turtle, and having lots of fish, a stingray and many other 'underwater safari' species pointed out to her.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Pat P,

Thank you so much for your kind review ­ you put a smile on the faces of
everyone around.

Your praise for the quality and quantity of our food delighted to restaurant
staff ­ and our resident weaver birds seem to have been even more active
since their mention Trip Advisor!!

We were happy to know that your enjoyed your room with a view overlooking
the beautifully maintained gardens and that you found George your room
steward so obliging.

Your advice to guests about keeping the balcony doors closed is sound, as
the monkeys are quick to spot any opportunity to steal things. Thank you
again for your kind words.
You are welcome again in Southern Palms.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well we arrived st Southern Palms hotel 1st thing on a Sunday morn, 1 st impressions were WOW, & we were never disappointed throughout our 3 week stay. We were checked into our room very quickly our luggage was swiftly taken2 the room as well. After swiftly unpacking we set off 2 the pool 2 chill & catch up on some s keep as well. Plenty of Sun loungers to choose from so never had 2 worry about not having anywhere laze each day. Had a welcome meeting with Moses & he was brilliant throughout the holiday, we were off on Safari 2 days after arriving & spent 4 wonderful days travelling to Tsavo West, Tsavo East & then onto Saltlick a fabulous lodge on stilts & worth paying for the upgrade. We had morning game drive's, evening game drive's, walks & tours during the days. We followed a lioness & her 3 cubs on one of the night drive's & it was totally amazing & not 2 be missed. The 2nd week we booked an overnight trip to Shimba hills which was great except 4 the fact that the bathrooms were down the corridor!!! Not happy about that 1, but we were very fortunate as we were offered a suite 4 the night, which was lovely. Back to the hotel to chill at again & the staff couldn't do enough for us, Hussain one of the restaurant managers was brilliant, helpful at all times. Lillian was also wonderful, always polite & very good with everybody. Sidney 1 of the waiters always made sure we always had drinks at all times, Forces cleaned our room every day & did a fan job so thank u. We had a couple of great massages & they were great value & worth every penny we spent on them. Well we could find no fault at all with anything, the food was excellent, excellent, excellent, plenty of choice, very tasty, full of flavour & plenty of choice always, nothing was repetetive & 2 be able 2 say that after 3 weeks certainly says a lot. Well I could go on 4ever & it would still be good. This was a holiday of a lifetime & Southern Palms did not disappoint at all, so a great big thank u 2 everyone who works st the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor 4 quietness.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Debsie,

Jambo!! it is good to hear from you again and the lovely review you wrote makes us all very proud to have made the holiday of your lifetime nothing short of Wow!!.
From the beautiful gardens and pools to the very tasty and high quality food with huge variety to choose from, to the friendly, helpful and efficient staff, especially those that you personally picked up for good mention was music to our ears.
We are happy that you also loved the wildlife in Tsavo East and West and the beautiful lodges you stayed while out on safari really make us proud to be country of choice for the perfect holiday destination.
We do look forward to welcoming you again, your friends and family here in Southern Palms Diani, the Gem of the south. Karibu Tena!!!

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent two weeks at southern palms and had a truly wonderful holiday.All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful ,nothing was two much trouble and they always had a smile on their faces, special mention must go to Omar Dinnah and Frank the f&b staff plus Ali the gardener and Jumo the room steward and all the lads that kept the pools immaculate
no complaints at all about the food this was of high quality and vast amount of choice,strongly recommending the grill and Italian
The hotel it self is situated in beautiful gardens leading down to the Indian ocean
Overall a truly fabulous holiday paradise and we are all looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Craig.

Greetings Craig. We were thrilled to receive your most complimentary
review. It was good to hear that you found everyone so helpful and the
members of staff you named have been informed of our comments.. It gave us
great pleasure to know you found the variety and high quality of food met
with your approval, as did our immaculate gardens and beautiful pool area.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to what you describe as a
beautiful holiday paradise.

Thank you and warm regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We spent 7 nights here and found all the staff to be very friendly, courteous and helpful. No matter where you were they would always greet and smile with you. Good customer service has to be credited here.

The hotel has a large variation of food to choose from, spoilt for choice and everything is well displayed and presented ... You must try the grill restaurant!, very scrumptious.
A big mention to Joyce who works in the main restaurant, keep up the good work and I do hope you do continue to progress in your career.

The only negative view that we experienced was that some staff, especially the breakfast and kitchen staff uniforms were unclean and worn for wear, here they could do with a new set.

As we arrived at the hotel early morning we were allowed to have breakfast first until the our room keys were ready, the breakfast uniform was the first thing that was drawn to my attention immediately , I did express my concerns to the manager so let's hope he takes my comments into consideration as we all know "first impression last".

Overall the hotel met the specification as advertised. It was nice to have areas where you could lounge out and have your drinks bought to you whilst relaxing.

Love the shape of the swimming pool.

Will definitely return here again, good location and shops are in walking distance.

We must also thank the holiday rep Moses for his sound advice on our safari also it was a pleasure for him to have dinner with us on our last day.

Haikuna Matata

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Startz 123

Hello Startz!!. How great it was to read that you found all the staff at
Southern Palms so friendly, courteous and helpful, as we place great
emphasis on staff training and customer service.

We also take great pride in the high standard and variety of food we prepare
for our guests so to know that you were spoilt for choice was a source of
satisfaction to us, and Joyce was delighted to receive your words of
encouragement.

It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back to enjoy all the
facilities both inside and outside the hotel.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews