We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now thats' what you call a resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Now thats' what you call a resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

After a stretch of tiring meetings in Nairobi, Kenya, an escape to Mombasa was worth the whole trip. And a stay at Southern Palms Beach Resort was a cherry on the ice cream! We received a warm reception from the staff and the room was very nice, breezy and cozy. What had me surprised was their array of food served be it breakfast, lunch, dinner or even the evening snacks and during stay of 4 days, each day the menu was different and absolutely delicious. There were lots of activities from water aerobics, volley ball and wow! Swahili classes too! The staff conducting these were very enthusiastic and a live wire. So just when we thought, that was it... the evenings were fun with shows! With reptile show, aerobics, magic etc.... Thus, our stay at the Southern Palms Beach Resort, as much as it was relaxed, there wasn't even a fraction of a second when we got bored. Thank you and loads of best wishes to the Resort team!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Chandni D,

Thank you so much for your glowing comments and are delighted that your four-day stay at Southern Palms. helped you relax and recharge the batteries after a succession of tiring meetings in Nairobi.

The fact that you were so pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of food in our restaurants is a tribute to all our catering staff.

The animation team were so pleased to hear of your enjoyment of the daytime activities and the evening entertainment while your good wishes have been passed on to all departments.

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms Beach Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    453
    139
    49
    35
See reviews for
374
565
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived at Southern Palms and wow the surrounds were spectacular you knew straight away you were going to enjoy
We were greeted by the Staff with a nice cold drink and cool towels to freshen up with, then we were allocated to our rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean 343 & 344.
The Staff could not do enough for you to make sure your Holiday is first class nothing is too much trouble for them.

Internet Access
The Internet is available at the main Reception area however you have to obtain a password from an office at the Reception area which lasts all week

Swimming Pools
The swimming pools are the best i have seen and there is also a sea water pool, the pool with the bar in was our favourite.

The Beach
The Beach is spectacular and there are plenty of beds to lie on, even if there not in the correct position the security personnel will help you reposition them, but they may hang around for a tip. However whilst on the Beach you will get pestered by the Beach Boys who will try and sell you anything, however if you are firm with them they will leave you along, however i found them entertaining.

Bars
There are several bars to get drinks from, plus a 24hr bar at the main Reception, if you do not want to watch the entertainment at night by the Italian Resturant you can go to the Beach Bar, or you can sit on the Beach and they will bring you drinks or you can even have your meal on there

Resturants
There are a fair few to choose from, we mostly went to the Italian and the Grill where the food is first class and the waiters go way out of the way to make it pleasant for you.
However apart from the Main Resturant you have to book at the others 24hrs in advance, you book these at the Desk as you go into the Main Resturant

Monkeys
There are lots of Monkeys around beware if you have a bag as they attempt to snatch it and hunt for food

Mosquitoes & Midges
There are lots about and the Staff continually spray your door and room to get rid of them, plus you sleep in a netted curtain which gives you that added comforting factor. At night when we went out we used Boots Repel 50% Deet and also Avon Skin so Soft and none of us got bitten

Sunbathing
I love the sun however i never put anything on less than Factor 30 and i never burnt once, nor did any of the family

Tipping
As you know its a poor country and everyone wants tipping however you have to draw the line at times, when we arrived at Southern Palms the Coach Driver was asking everyone for money as he brought us there, to me that is a service provided by Thompsons, however you tip as you see fit to, we tipped the cleaners who had looked after the room all week, plus some Waiters who had made you feel welcome

All in All a Brilliant place to go as we had a fantastic holiday and will be going back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear John W .

Thank you so very much John for your wonderful comments. For our part, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Southern Palms and to hear that we made your holiday so memorable from the day you arrived.

I am sure that your detailed observations will prove helpful to other guests – particularly the advice on sun protection and how the keep the mosquitoes and midges at bay. Though we take all the precautions we can, it is good to know that guests also play their part in staying ‘bite free’! Your advice on the monkey nuisance is also timely.

The staff at both the Italian and grill were delighted to have served you, as were the bar staff and the housekeeping team.

We are very proud of our swimming pool complex and are delighted that you rate it as the best you have seen.

Your review made all our efforts worthwhile and you can be sure that all your friends here look forward so much to welcoming you back to Southern Palms.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We loved the hotel's ambiance, food and activities. It was a memorable experience worth repeating. The staff were friendly and courteous. There are several restaurants to choose from for dining. All in all Southern Palms is a great place to relax and have a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuseinJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Husein J

Thank you for your extremely gracious comments on Southern Palms Beach Resort. We are delighted that you had a relaxing and memorable time in the resort and you would love to come again, it makes us really proud to hear such praises, just to know me met your expectations.
We are glad that you loved the delicious food and 5 restaurants to choose from are enough to keep you occupied the entire holiday. The staff indeed is friendly, very courteous and polite and there for you all times.
We look forward to greeting you again soon in your next visit to Kenya and Southern Palms .

Warm Regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spent a great week at the Southern Palms. Accommodation, staff, food and weather were all excellent. In particular the choice, quality and presentation of the food was superb.
Facilities were extensive and all well maintained, staff standard levels were high and despite the hotel being only half full, coming towards the end of the season, we were not bothered too much to take part in hotel activities or to purchase extras such as the boutique services, upgraded meals etc.
The staff were excellent particularly Defence in the Italian restaurant and Hussain in the main restaurant.
Only one real irritant - drinking water was v expensive in the hotel however a short taxi ride to the supermarket was a way round this.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful review of Southern Palms Beach Resort.
We couldn’t be happier than to hear of your praise and appreciation of this beautiful resort, more importantly the friendly and helpful staff as well as the high quality standard of food presentation.
We do our best to offer personalized services and to attend to even the smallest of needs of our guests; I have passed your gratitude to Defence and Hussein who particularly made your day.
We have noted your concern for the price of drinking water, however when compared to other hotels of our equal we are in the same bracket.

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms and we look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

this hotel was superb the staff are very friendly and extremly helpfull. After a long flight, followed by a coach trip followed by a ferry followed by more coach we arrived at southern palms we were greeted by simba (seriously!) who offerd us cool towels and fresh coconuts while the reception staff checked us in. we were shown our room by the porter who was very freindly i also think he doubled up as hotel security! (dont worry there very effective!) id like to say if you are thinking about safari dont book in the uk you WILL pay £200 more than if u visit a man called ferdinand (TC's safari's) on the beach. in fact we booked all of our excursions on the beach it really is cheaper and you feel like you are supporting local buisness rather than large tour opperators. although some beach boys selling local merchandise can be very full on just say no! or even better talk to them and get a bargain! be warned though they start high be prepared for 30 mins of bartering or, threaten to walk away that seals the deal! the restaurants in the hotel were very good, the barbeque restaraunt was good but the italian was better due to the pizza oven they have amazing! be warned though the indiana is HOT! i think i had a whole african birdseye chilli on each slice! but for me the buffett restraunt was the best as a chef i have to say the dhaal's and homemade naan breads were superb, ~It seems the hotel tries to please everyone in the buffet restaurant as there is a variety of european, african and indian foods all cooked to a high standard. also tipping IS essential dont be tight! just make sure you have alot of low value kenyan shillings! we did safari in savo east and west it was one of my favourate experiences we also did the dolphin trip to wassini island truly stunning and awe inspiring. take pens, paper,extra socks. shirts and shoes to barter and pay for local items. the kenyan people truly appreciate these they are a wonderfull people who are always happy under harsh circumstances

Room Tip: pool view or sea view are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Diear Michael,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write this Lovely review of Southern Palms Beach Resort and congratulations on your honeymoon.
Michael you have made our day, your comments were gracious in the extreme and everyone here is walking around with an extra spring in their step after hearing of your review.
We are all so delighted that our services pleased you so much and to be praised by a professional chef for the high quality of the Dhaals and naan bread has filled the buffet restaurant staff with pride, it goes without saying that the team at the Italian and barbeque restaurants were equally pleased to have served you.

We are looking forward to greeting you again should you return to Kenya and Southern Palms.

warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
388 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were supposed to be staying in another hotel (where we had stayed before) but at the last minute Thomson pulled out of it and we picked this hotel because of the similarity in architecture to the other one and also the good reviews- it cost us more but was worth it. We had room 342 looking straight out to sea and was far enough away from the entertainment to be quiet ( many thanks to Ruth in reservations for her quick responses to my email enquiries) From the minute we arrived we were treated like real guests. We rarely came across any unhelpful or unfriendly staff.
We liked the traditional feel of our room and our bathroom looked as if it had been recently upgraded. Though we were on the 3rd floor we did have an occasional visitation from the monkeys, but this is what holidaying in Kenya is all about.
We could not fault the food (we seem to have been lucky in our trip to the Italian restaurant - see other reviews). We especially like East African curries and after chat with one of the chefs some different ones appeared. Drink service in the restaurant could be slow at times but as we weren't dashing anywhere this was little problem.We had a Special seafood barbecue evening on the beach (costs extra). The entertainment was good (apart from some Masi dancers who did the same dance every time they came to the hotel). Our only complaint was that our lobster had been overcooked. The rest of our meal was excellent.
The huge swimming pool was excellent and my partner and I wore off some of the calories at aquarobics and water polo. The swim up bar was most pleasant, but was a pain having to sign for our drinks with wet hands!. My only issue about the pool was that there were no hand rails to assist with getting in and out of the pool.I had recently broken an ankle so my balance wasn't as good as usual and I had to get my partner to help me in and out of it - I could have gone to the shallow end, but it was a long swim from there to the bar! There were several other guests who had much worse mobility problems then me, and I noticed they also need help in and out of the pool.Some of the tiles at the shallow end could be a little slippery -maybe some sort of hand rail here as well would be helpful.
The entertainment is fairly low key, which is what we like. The band on Saturday nights was excellent. We would have liked to hear them more often.
My partner was disappointed that no sailing was available -Thomson had said there was. There was only one very old delapidated boat available and it was apparently under repair!
Our only real issue was the number of hawkers on the beach-- I noticed over 30 waiting on the beach outside the hotel steps, like vultures , at 8.30 am. We love walking on the beach (and this one is gorgeous) but we had to time when we went -usually 7.30 am . Even at that time one of them appeared and offered to be our bodyguard! Usually a polite " no thanks I've in Kenya several times before" will put them off, but not here., they were just too persistant and could get cross if you asked them to leave you alone.
The massages etc at the hotel were quite expensive (in comparison to the other hotel we have stayed at in Kenya). However we discovered Mama Zena in her beach hut. It looks terrible from the outside but her two massage couches, coverings etc were very clean and smelled very fresh. My partner and I both had excellent massages for about £10 each. It was so relaxing lying listening to the Indian Ocean a few yards away.
Would we come back here - very definately! The whole ambience of the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Our seaview room 342 was quiet and it was pleasant to sit on the balcony at night with a drink and j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Milliemax 64

Thank you for your wonderful review of Southern Palms Beach Resort.
We are proud to hear that we met and exceeded your expectation, we are glad that you loved the food especially in the Italian Restaurant, and the evening entertainment.
The huge pools are our guest’s favorite and thank you for the suggestion for rail handles, we are looking into that.
We are happy to hear that the staff was nice and friendly as always and that you loved your sea facing quiet room.

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards.

Betty,

Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from southern palms had a wicked holiday the hotel was lovely very clean lovely setting beautiful beach food great Italian resturant not so good but the grill was lovely. Staff very friendly but so slow getting a drink was murder every thing is poly poly (slowly slowly) Lucy was great looked after us so well and George our room steward was lovely nothing a problem. Beach sellers are so annoying but we just played along with them and ended up having a good laugh. Massage at hotel was good but expensive just a few yards down the beach a hut with flags on gave the best massage an hour for about £8 you have to give it a go amazing. We went on safari to lions bluff do not book on the beach or you will end up on a mini bus with about 8 strangers we booked before we went with Ali from vumbi safaris just us in a vintage jeep only about £50 dearer but so worth it we then went with him on the dowel boat to see the dolphins and scuba diving only 7 on our boat and about 30 on the others so again get in touch with him later in the week he took us to local bars so we didn't have to stay in the hotel at night the entertainment is so bad it's funny lol. He knows all the good places and local people so you get a real taste of Kenya so again if you are going to do these trips please contact him he is a good genuine guy . Tipping is a nightmare so be careful we did tip but after speaking to others think we started off way to high we were on ground floor so gardeners bring you flowers etc then gifts really nice but a bit much everyday not a problem but just a warning. Overall our holiday was great amazing place best hotel in diani beach we stayed because we couldn't get booked into hemming ways this year where we go for the fishing. If you are into game fishing at diani beach it's not that good ok for a day out but if you are into fishing you need to go from shimoni or mtwapa creek we went with ken Rodwell and had a great day. You won't be disappointed with the hotel and will have a great holiday we would stay there again and many go back year after year so depressed I'm home lol

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaandlaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Lisa

Thank you for taking your time to post a lovely review of the hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed every moment of your stay in Kenya and particularly in Southern Palms.
We are glad that you found Southern Palms very accommodating and relaxing .We strive to make sure that every guest’s dream of his holiday is realized in a personalized way and thank you for the pleasant recommendation.
We have passed your good mention to Lucy and George for making your holiday memorable.

Once again thank you for choosing Southern Palms as your preferred holiday destination. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS, Jovago.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing