We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of Mombasa, close to Mombasa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
liberec
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“out of Mombasa, close to Mombasa”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is very good quality hotel, close to Mombasa. We have spent there nearly one week / divided into 2 parts because of our leaving for safari/ and we have wonderfully relaxed. Food was good quality, animation was also nice. Service was also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiberecKabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Libereckabs
Thank you for taking your time to write a wonderful review about our hotel, we are glad that you had an amazing holiday with us.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied and we meet and exceed their expectations.
We are delighted that you loved the quality of the food, the animation and the general services of the hotel.

Thank you again for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards.

Betty
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    458
    144
    50
    35
See reviews for
383
569
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was the second half of our honeymoon in Sept 2011 (bit late in adding so had to mark as Sept 2012 - sorry!) having spent the first week in the Masai Mara on Safari and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were lovely, the resort beautiful. The Animation Team are hilarious, the pool is great with a swim up bar - just what you need in the African heat.

The rooms are clean and have a TV where we even caught up with some football. The bed wasn't the comfiest but different continents have different ideas of what a good mattress means. It wasn't lumpy or anything - just a little hard for us.

The main thing we enjoyed was the food. We were all inclusive and it was always a full buffet. We would go down promising to just have a main and desert or soup and some fruit and breakfast lunch and dinner, we'd end up having 3 courses of delicious food. Don't go if you have any intention of dieting while you are there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Edinburghdancer,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and congratulations on your second honeymoon. We are delighted to hear that you had a magnificent time in Kenya and particularly in Southern Palms.
Pleased that you loved the animation team, they are superb and also the great pools and the swim up bars, Indeed they are the best to hang out in while in the sun. You couldn’t have had it better.
The food is amazing and no one can blame you for having a lot more than you intended to and we are proud of that.

We thank you for choosing our resort and we look forward to hosting you again for your third honeymoon holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Safari/Beach Package-7days safari/7 days beach. We tranferred to *Southern Palms due to the booked hotel not being up to standard expected, cost us extra to move plus we lost a day of the much awaited holiday but worth it. Although both hotels were the same star rating OMG! what a difference. I can't praise Southern Palms enough we had the most amazing stay just wish we had booked an extra week. The food, pools, bars, rooms, location, and amenities are great. All staff are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble plus have a GSHumour we had many a laugh with the staff. The dining room entertainment is subtle and high standard the entertainment near the pool is more lively finishing at a reasonable time. There are lots of places you can chill out with a drink in and around this hotel all lovely and clean, the toilets are amazingly clean and cool. The food caters for all tourists and an extremely high standard, had some lovely English food too puddings and deserts are to die for. The beach is beautiful and so warm, the pool water is warm too which surprised us,so clean all the time. Cheap taxi rank outide hotel and hyper-market and shops a 10 min taxi ride away. A big thank you to both Thomson reps *Mercie and Stacy for looking after us. Another big thank you to Elias for supplying me with natural yougurt for the sunburn on my back, yes it really works. We can't wait to go back to Southern Palms asap.

Room Tip: TIP: A.I. does NOT include the mini bar OR the large bottles of water in the fridge these cost 250Ks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Dot H,
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We are so delighted to hear of your un-ending praises of our resort, it gives us so much joy to know that you found nothing but the best of your holiday with us.
We are happy that you found the food of high quality and with the tones of praises I get on this I earnestly agree with you especially our legendary English pudding and deserts.
Our large warm clean pools and beach are famous and everyone’s favorite and we are glad you experienced and loved them.
We have passed your good mention to Mercie and Stacy your tour representatives and of course our very own Elias who gave you the sun burn remedy, ”was happy to serve you, he says” We are pleased that you also had an amazing time with the rest of the staff.

Thank you for choosing Southern Palms and we too cannot wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is our 10th visit to Southern Palms and still after all this time I love it! It's the only place I have ever been to where everyone has a smile on their face 24/7. What makes it even more special is the staff, always friendly and they make you feel like you are home.
My favourite restraunt is the Snack bar, situated by the beach. The menu caters for everyone, whether you want just a snack or a main meal....or my fav, an ice cream.
We have already booked our trip for next year....we havn't even left yet but we're already counting the months!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairetomo2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Claire,

10 TIMES IN SOUTHERN PALMS!! And already booked for the 11th?? Well guess what! We too cannot wait to see you again Claire.
We cannot explain how wonderful it is when a guest so special like you finds a second home with us.
The snack bar down at the beach, the perfect menu selection, your favorite ice-cream (wonder which flavors’) and above all, the most valued treasure of warm hearts and smiles will always be there for you.

You are most welcome back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddinxveen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent 3 weeks in this resort and it was very nice. The pool is really nice and a must because the sea is sometimes low tide and the beach can be windy.

We had good experience with the staff. A staff member called "Hussein" was always walking around and asking everyone if everything is good. If not, he would write down the comments and send it to the management. Hussein was very nice and helped out many of our dutch guests, everyone knew him because he was so friendly.

The food of all restaurants was very good. The pizza's were perfect and the grill restaurant was very nice. Breakfast was also very good, with alot of choices and freshly made eggs and pancakes/wafels. There were enough waiters to keep everyone happy with the drinks at the table.

The toilets in the resort were always clean. Every 30 minutes someone was cleaning it, and there was always staff around to cleanup the water from people who walked from the pool to the toilet.

The rooms were good, but not perfect. The shower/bathroom was a bit old and it was hard to get the water at good temperature. The airco was very good, it really cools down the room. The rooms were very clean, the staff checks it 3 times a day. Also we liked the mosquito net around the bed. We never used it because we didn't see any mosquito, but it's nice to have when the season of mosquito's is active.

Even though our stay was really perfect, we still had some comments:
- The WiFi was paid, but it was very bad signal and lots of interruption. After 2 weeks of our stay, the WiFi became free for everyone. This was a good improvement!
- We booked all-inclusive, but it's not fully all-inclusive. There is a special menu for all-inclusive guests, with a smaller selection of drinks and cocktails. Some drinks were not included so we had to pay extra.
- We had to sign for every drink and lunch food, sometimes we had to sign 5 bills with name, serial number, room number and signature. This was very frustrating. Imagine that you take a drink at the pool bar, then have to sign with your wet hands and always wait for the bill to be made and taken back. You can't just take the drink and walk away, like you do in other all-inclusive resorts.
- The Libanese restaurant is optional, you have to pay for eating there. Also if your are all-inclusive. We didn't see anyone in this restaurant in our 3 weeks of vacation.
- The doors of the rooms sometimes slam very hard if your don't close them slowly. Some mornings people were leaving the room for breakfast, pulling the door behind them and that makes alot of noise. They should put some rubbers or make it soft-closing.

Non-resort related comments:
- The beach was not so nice, there were alot of sales people walking around. The resort side with beds is protected by guards, the sales guys are not allowed to go there. But if you walk to the sea or make a beach walk, all the people would come to you and try to sell stuff. Even if you say "no thanks" for 100 times, you still end up with 10 people around you. This also feels very unsafe, specially when you know you have money or expensive items with you.

Altogether this was a great resort and we had a perfect time in Kenya! Also special thanks to Hussein for being the most friendly staff and helping us with every problem/question we had! He played a huge role in our great vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Nomadje,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on our hotel, we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time with us.
Southern Palms boasts as one of the largest swimming pools hotel in Kenya and they are to die for in the heat of the south coast, needless to say, you experienced it yourselves.
We are proud of the standard of the foods and the wide variety we spoil our guests with and happy that you loved it. The Pizza and the unbeatable barbeques in the grill restaurant, not forgetting the excellent services that the waiters offer. We appreciate your good mention on all these.
We are glad that you loved your rooms and the amenities provided. We regret that you found the doors noisy when closing and thank you for the suggestion of placing rubber stoppers, or the soft closing. We are looking into these options.
The reason for signing your receipts whenever you got a drink is because we use a cashless system in all the outlets We have taken note however, of the system being too indulging and will try to find other ways to ease the transactions.
We are delighted and proud of all the compliments and praise for Hussein for being outstanding and we forwarded the message to him for the excellent performance. He too passes his heartfelt gratitude for this and says he was happy to be at your service.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once again my partner and I went to the Southern Palms Hotel and once again we were not disappointed either buy food or anything else.The staff were polite and cheerful and couldn't do enough to help you make the holiday a good one.Food was of a very high standard and ample for my partner and I,Beach was beautiful and kept clean by the staff, service was excellent thanks Jane for your efficient service,Room cleaning done daily and efficiently a big thanks to Dorcas our room maid who assisted us in our requests while efficiently cleaning our room.
I could and should thank every member of staff but that would take to long so I will thank Elizabeth on Ice cream and both barmen at the pool bar for help and service. A very good enjoyable holiday again thanks to efficient management special thank to the F+B manager for his efforts in continuing to improve standards in all restaurants

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peddlerpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Peddler Palm,

Thank you very much for your wonderful complement for our hotel, we are proud to know that your holiday was fun and memorable with us.
We are glad that you recognized and appreciated the effort the resort has put in the improved and high standard of food by the food and beverage team and management at large.
We have passed your exceptional mention to Jane, Dorcas and Elizabeth for making your stay extra special.

Thank you for choosing Southern Palms as your best hotel for holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent here 7 nights. We had three ocean view rooms. Rooms are not big but clean. Service is done a few time a day. Much better food than a few years ago in Diani Sea Resort. Indian corner and plenty of fruits on each meal. Good free barbecue restaurant. No problem to get a sunbed at a swimming pool, good animation. Some bevarages are not all-inclusive. Negatives: room towels, rooms with windows to the north may suffer from noisy evening animation, stuborn sellers on the beach (common for all hotels on Diani Beach), beware of grey monkeys - may be dangerous, don't dive 1 day before flight home - my son came back with ill ear (bacteria+flight worked togehter for this illness), eat only what smells or taste fresh. Spoiled food is dangerous at such temperature. Very hard sleeping mattresses.

Room Tip: Don't choose room with window to the north - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern P, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your sincere review on our hotel, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us especially on the foods where we are outstanding from other hotels you have visited. The barbeque restaurant is a must visit and a favorite for all our guests, we are glad that you loved the Indian corner and the fresh fruit station.
The beverages list consists of both local and imported drinks, the all inclusive enjoys all the wide local varieties of drinks both soft, beers, rum, whisky, brandy, cocktails and also wines
The hotel is designed to have evening entertainment in the open air which most guests love especially from the European countries hence the volume, however our quiet hour starts at 11 o’clock and is strictly observed.
We try our level best to ensure your privacy and peace while at the hotel beach area as we have the security watching over you, the beach sellers are not allowed near the sun beds and hotel beach space, but when the guests stroll further away they will approach you to sell to you all you need to do is politely turn them down and they will go elsewhere.
The grey monkeys are not known to be vicious unless provoked, they do visit the hotels ones in a while looking for food. It is best to ignore them and not feed them as it is not allowed by the law to feed wild animals then they quickly lose interest and leave
.
Once again thank you for choosing southern palms for your ultimate memorable holiday we hope and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
5.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing