We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit in two years.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“second visit in two years.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we have just returned from holiday in southern palms mombasa we spent seven days there and found it to be just as i remembered in july of 2010 , the room was exactly the same the gardens and pools all beautiful. we stayed all inclusive and alot of the staff remembered myself and husband including the taxi driver who picked us up at the airport, and various hotel staff it was like visiting relatives lovely.

Room Tip: All rooms face the swimming pools and there are only 3 floors to each block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireopalManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    463
    146
    50
    35
See reviews for
389
572
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Svedala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Let me start with the positive stuff. The pool area and beach were really nice. The italian restaurant and the grill were also good, and we did enjoy our stay in general.

However, there are some things that could be better. After staying at four lodges on a safari week we expected this to be a level up in comfort and standard. It wasn't.

For me it all starts and ends with the rooms. They don't seem like they've been renovated for at least 20 years. The tiles in the bathroom were cracked in a few placed, the color were faded and the blender for the shower should be replaced. The rooms should get better sound proofing, it was way too easy to hear what went on outside and in the neighbouring rooms.

There are also some easy fixes for the rooms. The beds and pillows were hard, and the cover was just a plain blanket, that didn't seem to fresh. The drapes were too thin, so they weren't able to darken the room. This should be easy stuff to fix, right?
We asked the staff about the pillows, but they didn't understand at all. They thought they were soft and that was it.

The main restaurant was a bit of a dissapointment. There were around 20 dishes, but always more or less the same, and none of them were cooked with any particular skill or with any love. I'd much rather have 2-3 dishes that were different every day and cooked under the supervision of a trained chef. Most of the food was quite tasteless, they almost seemed afraid of using spices. When we ordered from the menu for lunch quite often our orders came at different times, so the first person had almost finished when the second person got his/her food. Not exactly four star standard in my book.

Regarding the staff, some were very good, I'll give them that. However, I'm not sure if we were unlucky to get in contact with some very inexperienced staff or if that's simply their way. Examples:
* When we wanted to switch dinner for lunch one day, because we were going out to eat in the evening it took 30 minutes to arrange this, and we had to sit and wait the entire time. This can't be the first time they got this request?
* Sometimes at breakfast, especially when we were early, a staff member would just come to our table and stand there, looking at us eating. Creepy.
* Do we really need one person to show us a table, one to take the drink order and a third to take the food order? More than once they didn't remember the order or made a mistake. How about one server per table that takes care of everything?

On our last day we were invited to what they called a "management coctail party", which more or less was a welcoming meeting. This is symptomatic of this hotel. They have a great will to do something, but somewhere it goes a little wrong. If we had gotten this the first day we would probably used some more of their services, like wind surfing or diving.

Also remember that diani beach is far off. Anything remotely fun is around an hours drive away, and you have to take a ferry to get into mombasa.

If we return to Kenya we'll probably try another hotel.

Room Tip: There's entertainment going on until 23 every day. If you like that you can ask for a room close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Spent a fantastic relaxing all-inclusive week at this beautiful hotel after a busy safari - can't fault it. Staff are lovely (with the odd exception, but everyone occasionally has a bad day!), and a few KS now and again works wonders. Food and drink excellent, pools and grounds beautiful and very well kept. Some people complained about the music/noise from daytime animation activities and evening entertainment, but we were lucky to have a room at the quiet (reception) end of the hotel so it wasn't a problem. Also the pool at this end is very quiet - we used the loungers near the Fountain Bar where the breeze wafts the spray to keep you cool. Bed was a little on the hard side, and rooms could do with a coat of paint, but were kept spotlessly clean. After a couple of nights we realised that the air conditioning wasn't working properly so we mentioned it to the maid and within a couple of hours an engineer arrived to fix it so we were nice and cool for the rest of our stay.

Beach is beautiful but the local traders/hangers on can be a nuisance when you just want a quiet walk. The animation team do a beach walk each morning, alternating left and right and we found this was the best way to see it properly without hassle. Evening entertainment was low-key but this is a place for relaxation so what do you expect.

The only downside was the transfer from Mombasa airport - unfortunately ours was late Friday afternoon and the queues for the ferry were horrendous. What should have been a 1 hour max journey took 3 hours. The trip back the following week would have been just as bad, and we would have missed our flight, had our driver not pre-bribed the ferry security police to let us jump the queue! Maybe other times of the day/week are less busy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the reception end of the hotel are much quieter. Those nearer the beach get noise from day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have stayed in the Southern Palms on a number of Occasions and really enjoy the laid bak atmosphere and lovely grounds. The wooden furniture in the rooms give the hotel a lovely Afircan feel and the rooms are beutifully clean. The proximity to the beach is suuperb. We have always found the staff helpful and friendly. We travelled with two children and so booked interconnecting rooms. They don't have too many of these and so it is worth booking early. The entertainment in the evening is varied and good. The food is very good and there is a lot of choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenyantrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The place is well located in Diani, with a nice beach. The set-up is ok, but, there is a big “BUT”, the staff.
Slow. Unprofessional for any respectable tourist. Full of all types of [--].
It is true that we came there for the sea-sun-nature, but the contacts with the local staff is disappointing from all points of view. Imagine that they are acting like bureaucrats, like government employees, they treat you with no respect and no courtesy; they show you their superiority of being locals over you a tourist in their country.
“Muzungu, you are here just for a while, but we are here for centuries, take it how it is, or we make your stay a hell, and anyway we take your money.”
That is the message what I got in this place.
Overall, if you are able to disregard the full-of-crap African-Kenyan attitude, the stay will be ok. As I said the sea, the nature and the weather fully compensate any human contact encounter.
BORING-BORING-BORING: The evening shows.
A group of so call “animators”, “entertainers” are running a so call traditional show in order to fill your time before you go for sleep.
They did this show for years and years, nothing was changed. The same fat dancers, in contract with the resort, the same “lazy-let me to finish the show again-oh yes Muzungu there is nothing you can do about” attitude, permanently present around the resort.
THE BUFFET
Average food quality, again the staff too bored to provide any good service (unless a boss is in the area, when they run and run desperately to please the boss and to not get fired), dirty local fruits chopped disgraceful, chemical creamy cakes, made from cheap powders, which taste sandy and chlorine, sauces present full month until smbdy might refresh the composition, strange salads, probably remixed for days.
DRINKS AT THE BAR
Totally, totally overpriced. A Tusker (famous local bear) in the shop 100 Ksh, in a normal bar 120-150-200 Ksh, in Southern Palms Beach Resort, 350 Ksh. Two hundred metters on the beach to the right, a nice beach bar is giving you the fair price.
GENERAL IMPRESION
They make all to give as cheap service and as cheap food is possible in order to take your money. The policy is, “ANYWAY YOU ARE FOR THE FIRST AND THE LAST TIME HERE, SO TAKE IT”
A traditional Asian managed joint, with a German so call hotel manager, present there just for the image, where you are treated like a milking cow.
Enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OutsideDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in southern palms hotel and went with our parents. On arrival we were welcomed by the staff with coconut drinks. The receptionist staff were alway freindly and helpful. The hotel itself was very clean, so were the rooms. We stayed on a HB bases - there was always a good variety of food choiced at breakfast. During Dinner there was different food cuisine ie chinese, indian including fresh hot pitta bread daily, roast ect... I would really like to thank the chef Mr Khan who cooked beautiful meals for us especially for my mum and dad. All the waiter were wounderful and helpful, very jolly people.
The pool site was one of the best. There is a bar in the middle of the pool, there had lots of attivities in the pool ie arobics.
the entertainment was remarkable - we had a wonderful time and a very conformable stay. i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Do not pay extra money for a seaview room. you can sit at the beach front till as late as 1:00am wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I just want to let the world know that I had a fabulous experience at the Southern Palms resort in Kenya. In particular the customer service is second to none. I love the entertainment and management always did everything they could to make the guests feel comfortable above and beyond normal service. It was truly a pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center can see and hear the evening entertainment each night until 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#14 of 29 in Diani Beach
599 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,518 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing