We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Palms - A little paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
London
2 reviews
“Southern Palms – A little paradise”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My sister and I needed a break from the hectic city life and decided to return to Southern Palms again this year.
On our previous visit, we had a great time but the food was not too good…….but this year was so so different!!!! The Italian restaurant is lovely and the food is very well presented. The main restaurant had lots of options and the food was sensational and labelled in different languages - cool idea!!! In particular the grill restaurant was amazing! Breakfast was varied with lots of options and plenty to choose from as there was always something on the menu that was edible. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to try the Lebanese restaurant this year.

A very special thanks to Mr. Mahmoud the F&B Manager who was always “hands on” assisting his staff and even cooking and serving guests himself . A big thank you to Esther as well as all the staff who really make this a special place as they are so happy, friendly and will do anything they can to please the guests.
All in all well worth a visit and excellent value for money

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leischan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    463
    146
    50
    35
See reviews for
389
572
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Thank goodness for this superb resort.Having moved to this hotel after being let down at the Leopard Beach Hotel on the same beach, the comparison was amazing. I feel it necessary to thank certain members of staff individually. A big thank you to Esther and Peter who both provided an excellent service for the duration of the stay at the resort and made us feel most welcome.The Management are constantly aware of attending to their guests in a welcoming and friendly manner and all the staff are always very helpful. The choice of food is out standing, be it local cuisine or international. And the alternative restaurants within the complex spoil any guest for choice of dining.The facilities such as the pool, with its whirl pools and special features at the centre of the complex are quite spectacular.The entertainment in the evening is quite traditional and unique, ranging from acrobats, local dance bands, belly dancers and visiting Masai warriors.The serenading at dinner by the local musicians is also an extra treat. For the adventurous check out the Dive Centre based at the hotel 'Diving the Crab'.. A Five Star diving facility which offers expert diving instruction and day trips. The beach attached to the hotel has the most fabulous setting and sugar cane sands. The beach sellers are quite amusing and will try to stop you for a little conversation.. while attempting to sell you 'something'. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay despite the rainy days.

Room Tip: A corner room will offer you more space than a conventional one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterSquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Very nice resort to stay in.

The pool was nice and clean. It was very large so you never felt there was a crowd and you was plenty of space to splash around with out bothering other guests. The beach just outside the resort was great but would have preferred if the turist tad sellers was kept more at bay and also if they could take their “clothes lines” with scarves down so you could actually enjoy the view along the beach.

The staff was incredible attentive, sometimes a bit too much. They wanted to do everything and would not take a hint (or a direct request) to leave us alone. I appreciate it was out of a desire to make our stay as good as possible but it would be good if they became a bit better at reading guests needs.

One big criticism though: Towels………..there was never enough towels by the pool (none if you were not up at dawn) and this problem extended to the rooms. Southern Palm have to sort this out. We returned from safari dusty and sweaty at 13.15 and after 3 requests finally got towels for a shower at 18.30 that is not good enough for a hotel of this standard.

This does however not detract from the fact that southern palm is a lovely resort which I will not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LulugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

we came to herealmost by accident and found that in comparison to the 4-5 star hotel we had left the activities and quality of service (particularly in relation to the management) were so much better.
The food was more than acceptable and the rooms were clean and beds comfortable but the things that really made this hotel stand out were the beach, the pool and the staff who were informative, helpful and interesting to talk to.
In particular I would like to than Esther in F&B and Peter an F&B manager.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunty121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

A nice,well maintained hotel with beautiful and mature gardens. Staff are friendly and helpful.
There are several restaurants with different themes; Italian, Lebanese and a traditional Kenyan
grill in addition to the main restaurant which serves buffet meals.It served dishes from different countries each night; Mexican, Indian, Moroccan.. etc. there were vegetarian varsities every night. The food was freshly prepared and served,The ambience was relaxed with no queues and regular traditional entertainment while dining. I noticed major improvement in the quality and presentation of food recently. Any observation to the restaurant staff/managers was attended to promptly. This is in contrast to the quality of towels and bed linen in bedroom. The towels were worn out, smelly and disgusting. We reported this twice but nothing was done. The hotel needs a major investment in its bed linen and towels. Other areas of concern : poor telephone service, my family tried to contact me many times but switchboard didn't answer, later reception staff gave me another number to ring but this didn't help as the room telephone was faulty during our stay as was the TV set.
There were no warning signs on the beach as in low tide the coral is very sharp and easy to cut yourself whilst walking on it accidently. In high tide the ocean can be quite dangerous but there are no signs or lifeguards. The beach sellers are a real nuisance and tend to pester you when you go on a walk on the beach or even outside the hotel. Take the beach walk arranged by the hotel as you will be escorted by staff and security guard. Hotel taxis are very expensive. There are much cheaper mini van or taxis outside the hotel. The exchange rate in the hotel is poor plus 1% commission. It is better to use ATM or Barclay's Bank nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms opposite the Italian restaurant where the night entertainment is held till 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Just had two fantastic weeks from 27th Sep, the staff treated us like kings, so happy, so helpful they couldn't have done anymore, our anniversary was special flowers on our door step, bouquet on the table at lunch with a card and all the staff in the restaurant singing around our table and a really tasty cake, thank you. Special thanks to Lucy who looked after my 11 year daughter when she was sick and to the animation team who work so hard for very little money,Philip, Christina ,Asif, king Solomon and William were the pick of the bunch, both my girls aged 11 and 14 had a fabulous time joining in with all the team had to offer. Our room boy George kept our 2 rooms clean with fresh towels on demand, Robert and Jimmy the guys who sorted out our sun beds and pool towels deserve a mention and a big 'asante' from all of us. During our stay we had a four day, 3 night safari arranged with JT safari's to TSAVO east and west, 2 nights in the Ashnil Aruba in the east, fabulous accommodation, great surroundings and friendly staff, we all thought this place couldn't be bettered, then we went to the Kaliguni Serena in Tsavo west, WOW what a place, the rooms, the food, the staff but best of all was the views, a water hole right outside our balcony with too many animals to mention, no fencing, mountains in the distance with Kilimanjaro visible on a clear day, absolutely mind blowing, my wife was in tears, she couldn't believe we were actually there.I would recommend this lodge to any one, special mention to our safari guide Bonniface who did his best to get us up close to the animals, i will be going back and will definitely book with JT again, great service and advice, thanks Julius.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Southern Palms resort. It was our first time in Kenya and we didn’t really know what to expect. I am happy to say that we were simply blown away by Kenya and by the wonderful resort we stayed at. Southern Palms is set in an ideal location along one of the best beaches we have ever seen. The greeting was warm and friendly and we were given a tour of the facilities. The lobby area is beautifully set out and there is an African feel to the resort throughout. The two swimming pools are massive, it was easy to feel like you had a section of the pool to yourself (be warned though the main pool did turn white clothes green because of the chlorine.) There was a great choice of restaurants and bars throughout. We would particularly recommend the rooftop Italian although we did not try the Lebanese. The main buffet restaurant was excellent with a different option available each night. We also really enjoyed the evening entertainment and were surprised by how varied the evening entertainment was. The staff were wonderful, their friendliness was always genuine and each staff member seemed to want to chat to you and ask how your holiday was going. The daily guarded walks along the beach were a great way to see a bit more of how beautiful the Diani beach area was although we did not find the beach boys a problem at all and no more persistent than sellers in Jamaica or the Dominican. The rooms were very clean, spacious, had a large balcony to sit and enjoy the last of the evening sun and there also seems to be a guard around every corner which really makes you feel safe. Remember this is a third world country and the rooms are likely to be a little more basic than back home but saying that I would still say the resort is much more like a 4 star than anything lower. Whilst we want to see much more of the world we’ll definitely go back to this resort and we haven’t said that about a resort before! I’d also highly recommend Julius Tact Safaris (JT Safari’s) we had a perfect safari with them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#14 of 29 in Diani Beach
599 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,518 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing