We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveler rating
687
504
159
60
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
504
159
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillmain restaurantbeach boyshalf boardall inclusive packagenyama chomaanimation teamwater aerobicsf b managerday safarievening entertainmentmasai dancerschoice of restaurantsbeach volleyballroom attendantindian foodfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Thank goodness for this superb resort.Having moved to this hotel after being let down at the Leopard Beach Hotel on the same beach, the comparison was amazing. I feel it necessary to thank certain members of staff individually. A big thank you to Esther and Peter who both provided an excellent service for the duration of the stay at the resort and made us feel most welcome.The Management are constantly aware of attending to their guests in a welcoming and friendly manner and all the staff are always very helpful. The choice of food is out standing, be it local cuisine or international. And the alternative restaurants within the complex spoil any guest for choice of dining.The facilities such as the pool, with its whirl pools and special features at the centre of the complex are quite spectacular.The entertainment in the evening is quite traditional and unique, ranging from acrobats, local dance bands, belly dancers and visiting Masai warriors.The serenading at dinner by the local musicians is also an extra treat. For the adventurous check out the Dive Centre based at the hotel 'Diving the Crab'.. A Five Star diving facility which offers expert diving instruction and day trips. The beach attached to the hotel has the most fabulous setting and sugar cane sands. The beach sellers are quite amusing and will try to stop you for a little conversation.. while attempting to sell you 'something'. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay despite the rainy days.

Room Tip: A corner room will offer you more space than a conventional one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterSquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Very nice resort to stay in.

The pool was nice and clean. It was very large so you never felt there was a crowd and you was plenty of space to splash around with out bothering other guests. The beach just outside the resort was great but would have preferred if the turist tad sellers was kept more at bay and also if they could take their “clothes lines” with scarves down so you could actually enjoy the view along the beach.

The staff was incredible attentive, sometimes a bit too much. They wanted to do everything and would not take a hint (or a direct request) to leave us alone. I appreciate it was out of a desire to make our stay as good as possible but it would be good if they became a bit better at reading guests needs.

One big criticism though: Towels………..there was never enough towels by the pool (none if you were not up at dawn) and this problem extended to the rooms. Southern Palm have to sort this out. We returned from safari dusty and sweaty at 13.15 and after 3 requests finally got towels for a shower at 18.30 that is not good enough for a hotel of this standard.

This does however not detract from the fact that southern palm is a lovely resort which I will not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

we came to herealmost by accident and found that in comparison to the 4-5 star hotel we had left the activities and quality of service (particularly in relation to the management) were so much better.
The food was more than acceptable and the rooms were clean and beds comfortable but the things that really made this hotel stand out were the beach, the pool and the staff who were informative, helpful and interesting to talk to.
In particular I would like to than Esther in F&B and Peter an F&B manager.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunty121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

A nice,well maintained hotel with beautiful and mature gardens. Staff are friendly and helpful.
There are several restaurants with different themes; Italian, Lebanese and a traditional Kenyan
grill in addition to the main restaurant which serves buffet meals.It served dishes from different countries each night; Mexican, Indian, Moroccan.. etc. there were vegetarian varsities every night. The food was freshly prepared and served,The ambience was relaxed with no queues and regular traditional entertainment while dining. I noticed major improvement in the quality and presentation of food recently. Any observation to the restaurant staff/managers was attended to promptly. This is in contrast to the quality of towels and bed linen in bedroom. The towels were worn out, smelly and disgusting. We reported this twice but nothing was done. The hotel needs a major investment in its bed linen and towels. Other areas of concern : poor telephone service, my family tried to contact me many times but switchboard didn't answer, later reception staff gave me another number to ring but this didn't help as the room telephone was faulty during our stay as was the TV set.
There were no warning signs on the beach as in low tide the coral is very sharp and easy to cut yourself whilst walking on it accidently. In high tide the ocean can be quite dangerous but there are no signs or lifeguards. The beach sellers are a real nuisance and tend to pester you when you go on a walk on the beach or even outside the hotel. Take the beach walk arranged by the hotel as you will be escorted by staff and security guard. Hotel taxis are very expensive. There are much cheaper mini van or taxis outside the hotel. The exchange rate in the hotel is poor plus 1% commission. It is better to use ATM or Barclay's Bank nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms opposite the Italian restaurant where the night entertainment is held till 11pm.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Just had two fantastic weeks from 27th Sep, the staff treated us like kings, so happy, so helpful they couldn't have done anymore, our anniversary was special flowers on our door step, bouquet on the table at lunch with a card and all the staff in the restaurant singing around our table and a really tasty cake, thank you. Special thanks to Lucy who looked after my 11 year daughter when she was sick and to the animation team who work so hard for very little money,Philip, Christina ,Asif, king Solomon and William were the pick of the bunch, both my girls aged 11 and 14 had a fabulous time joining in with all the team had to offer. Our room boy George kept our 2 rooms clean with fresh towels on demand, Robert and Jimmy the guys who sorted out our sun beds and pool towels deserve a mention and a big 'asante' from all of us. During our stay we had a four day, 3 night safari arranged with JT safari's to TSAVO east and west, 2 nights in the Ashnil Aruba in the east, fabulous accommodation, great surroundings and friendly staff, we all thought this place couldn't be bettered, then we went to the Kaliguni Serena in Tsavo west, WOW what a place, the rooms, the food, the staff but best of all was the views, a water hole right outside our balcony with too many animals to mention, no fencing, mountains in the distance with Kilimanjaro visible on a clear day, absolutely mind blowing, my wife was in tears, she couldn't believe we were actually there.I would recommend this lodge to any one, special mention to our safari guide Bonniface who did his best to get us up close to the animals, i will be going back and will definitely book with JT again, great service and advice, thanks Julius.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews