We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent New addition to Diani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leopard Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent New addition to Diani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at the new Residence Villas - i was really impressed with the quality of the room, lounge and private pool. They have everything you need for a very private and relaxing stay including your own butler and very close to their excellent new Thai restaurant. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauljw213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for taking your time to review the Residences at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa. This new addition continues to be our joy and pride and we are indeed delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The new trend in the travel market where families seek a home away from home has been highly complimented by the Residences that offer total peace and tranquility in your own Villa. We value guests like you who have sampled and gone out to tell the world what unmatched services we provide here.

We look forward to host you again soon as we strive to deliver excellent customer service to our esteemed guests.

On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari- Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    167
    58
    30
    24
See reviews for
206
222
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

After visiting many beautiful resorts in Diani, we settled on Leopard Beach Resort and Spa. It wasn't an easy pick, a few others looked just as good. We live in Australia and needed a dedicated team on the ground to help pull the day together. This is where the team at Chui come second to none! Ann Safari without a doubt runs a tight Ship. She ensured that the team on the ground understood our needs and offered our almost 100 guests impeccable service. She joked that hers was a calling and not a job, but her tireless dedication and commitment to making sure we were all comfortable suggests that hers is indeed a calling!
An extra special thank you to Salome who helped make the wedding day special! Large destination weddings are not without their last minute mayhem (well ours wasn't) and Salome literally stepped in and coordinated everything on the ground. She didn't have to, she chose to. Staying up late and making those calls! (Salome, thank you and I will be sure to visit when I am back!) Salome's warm and reassuring manner helped us relax and did she not disappoint! We would not have asked for more but the Chui team just kept on giving. Thank you for the lovely souvenirs and the little delightful surprises on our wedding day. A special mention too to Sally Gichohi from the Nairobi booking Office who handled the booking for all our guests from around the world .... I know that was no easy task :-)
The food was always fresh, offered a good selection and very tasty.
The rooms were very clean and if you can dig a little deeper and get a cottage or private villa, your experience is likely to be unforgettable.
We travelled a fair bit in the month following our wedding which may make us somewhat an authority in saying the service at Chui is unparalled!

Room Tip: The residences are in a class of their own. My parents stayed at Maskani for it's privacy and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPowell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Wow, what a fantastic review! We are thrilled that you took the time after your honeymoon to share your experience of getting married at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa. The Chui’s are happy that their efforts to make their wedding special did not go unnoticed and your very kind words for Ann, Salome and Sally have been high appreciated – it was truly our pleasure.

We note with pride that Leopard Beach Resort & Spa stood out from the other places you visited after you wedding – showing we deserve our title of Kenya’s Leading Resort for the fourth year running now as well as our new title of Africa’s Leading Spa Resort.

As you have described in your review, our dedicated team is able to support you in planning and holding your dream wedding; be it big or small! For larger weddings there is something to cater for every taste and budget, ranging from standard rooms to honeymoon suites, from garden delights to stunning sea views, from fully catered to self-contained! The latter refers to our latest development, the Residences, where your parents enjoyed their stay in one of our 28 fully serviced, brand new villas set in 15 acres of indigenous forest located within Leopard Beach Resort & Spa. The Residences offer four villa types boasting a modern and spacious design, privacy and security, and a host of facilities and amenities that set a new benchmark for the region. Guests at the Residences also benefit from the excellent facilities and services of the adjoining resort.

We wish you many, many happy years together and look forward to welcoming you back for your wedding anniversary!
On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari- Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went with wife and two kids (7 and 2) and another family. All very happy with it. Kids loved the pool and the beach. Staff always friendly and helpful. Grounds lush and monkeys fun. Only complaint is that on the TV there were no kids channels. This was a big surprise given that the hotel is geared towards families, and meant that early mornings were not as relaxing as they could have been for us adults. If they can add kids channels we will certainly be back again. Should be easy to do?

We would have liked to have stayed in one of the cliff-side cottages to have a proper view of the sea, but strangely in none of them can you add an extra bed. So only the superior and standard rooms suitable for families.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank StrahanSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Strahan Spencer,

Thank for choosing Leopard Beach Resort & Spa as your holiday destination and thank you for taking time to tell us where we did and did not meet your expectations – we are glad to note that you would like to return if these glitches can be fixed and can assure you we are working on it! This year we have been nominated as Africa’s Leading Family Resort as a result of the many positive comments we receive from parents and we want to make sure we deserve this title!

We have invested heavily in the Little Leopards Club (which is open on a daily basis from 9:00 – 21:00) to ensure children remain entertained in a safe environment should parents wish for some time alone. Age-appropriate films are regularly screened here with adult supervision. We have taken note that you would prefer these films to be screened in the guest room and will endeavour to enhance the children’s channels in the rooms in order to ensure you of a superb next stay with us.

Our Chui Class Cottages, Villas and Suites are a high end accommodation aimed at guaranteeing great sea view, privacy and tranquillity for all our guests; the set-up is such that each suite inter-connects to a Chui-Class Cottage thus enabling families to be in close proximity of each other, yet with assured privacy if desired.

In addition we now offer 2 and 3 bedroom villas, each with their own swimming pool, located within our new Residences. They are ideal for families and we would highly recommend this option for your next holiday with us.

All our Cottages and Residences are equipped with DVD Players which would also enable your children to watch films in their rooms – please note that we also offer child minding services on request to ensure your children are well looked after while you enjoy yourself elsewhere.

Thank you once more and we look forward to host you again soon.
On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel in April 2014 with our two young children for a holiday and our experience was such a disappointment especially with all the good reviews here.
1. On arrival we received no help with our bags at all.
2. The fridge in the room was not working
3. The breakfast was cold and repetitive
4. No induction on services and restaurants in the hotel
5. Very few activities for the children and adults.
6. Complaints took forever to be addressed with no apology for the delay

I could go on and on really. By day 2 we decided to take the kids to Baobab Resort for the day and what a difference in customer care at the reception, friendly staff, kids and adult activities and variety of food! Unfortunately it was fully booked so we could not move!

All in all the hotel was a waste of money and an experience we never want to have again especially because of the children.
Really wish we had booked at the Boabab Resort instead! Now we know better!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Rachel,

We are taken aback by your review following your recent stay with us and are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations.

We recall very clearly all the issues you had that were addressed to the letter by the team. For example, our records show that your fridge was switched on as soon as you alerted us. On arrival, you were warmly received by our Resident Manager Francis who assisted you to warm your baby’s food since the child was hungry and crying at the time. We know this can be very stressful and our 24 hour porter service may have gone unnoticed.

We standardly provide a welcome session for each guest upon arrival to acquaint them with our services, however in your case you asked to have the children fed first. The person who finally took you to your room was also not given the opportunity to explain the hotel and its services to you. It is regrettable that you were therefore not aware of the various activities on offer. This year we have been nominated for the title of Africa’s Leading Family Resort specifically because we do have so much to offer children; besides bountiful nature filled with delightful secrets and natural wonders for children to discover, the Little Leopards Club is open from 9:00 – 21:00 each day. We recall that on the second day you requested for someone dedicated to your baby so that you could swim and relax; as we had not received advance notice we regret that the Little Leopards Club was all we could offer at the time as we also had other children in the hotel requiring our attention. We are more than willing to develop tailor-made programmes to suit the needs of our individual guests and we are able to provide responsible baby-sitting services for a fee; we regret that you declined this service and felt that this was something the hotel should provide for. We are able to provide free-of-charge group child minding services, however given our popularity with families it would be impossible for us to provide individual carers for each child.

We have a cyclical breakfast menu with a cold counter which includes a variety of seasonal, tropical fruits. However a chef is on-hand to prepare eggs to your liking while other hot dishes are also served.

We value each of our guests’ feedback and the reviews you read here are a true reflection of what our guests experience with us; we are truly sorry that your experience with us was a one off not so good and respect your perception as such.

We have a 24 hour Duty Management Roster and our records show clearly how many managers spoke to you and how all the issue you brought up were resolved, we are therefore disappointed to hear we did not meet our objective of ensuring satisfaction with our service. We felt that you were happy with what we did, which included organising special movies in the room for your children.

On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at this resort, what a fantastic place. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food variety and abundance was excellent. The beaches were clean and absolutely beautiful. Tranquil and the right place to recharge your batteries.

Just be aware of the local wildlife as the monkeys are very keen on opening your beach bags looking for bananas.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the Ocean were amazing with had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lids329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Lids329,

Thank you for taking your time to review us!

We are delighted to know that your 6 nights at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa were memorable. Thank you for the compliments on the food, the breath-taking beaches and our staff who remain the biggest asset we have. Tranquillity is what we strive to offer our guests coupled with absolute value for money; it gives us so much joy and pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations.

As you might have seen we have signage all over the Resort warning guests not to feed or tease the monkeys; they are a natural and harmless part of our environment but sadly can become a bit of a nuisance if our requests are not heeded by all guests.

We sure look forward to host you again soon!
On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had planned one night only but the beauty of the hotel, it's gardens and splendid clean beach, the tranquillity was just fabulous we had to spend another night, we were upgraded to room 408 which had ocean view making the extra night more special . The food Was quality and varied with lots of seafood exactly what with the sea next to us!! Left very reluctantly.....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janebai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Janebai,
Its guests like you who keep us motivated to do what we do best……..thank you so much for taking time to share with the world the beauty and the tranquility you experienced in our Resort. What a joy to know that you decided to stay an extra night ! We are very pleased to know that the upgrade to a Superior Sea Facing room made a world of a difference to you. Quality is what we strive to offer our guests through a dynamic dining experiences and we are indeed fulfilled that this was evident during your stay.
We value your reluctance at check out knowing its guaranteed repeat business and we truly look forward to host you again soon
Thank you so much!
On Behalf of Chui Management’
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Leopard Beach is by far one of the best beach properties on the Kenyan Coast. The new Villas which are tastefully furnished with a private pool and a 5 minute walking access to the beach.The service is impeccable with the assortment of restaurants offers choice on food, ambience and variety. The staff go out of their way to make one's experience - THE experience!!

Room Tip: Villas are worth the extra spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tazim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Tazim,
Thank you for your review! Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has been voted for 4 years consecutively as Kenya’s Leading Resort and 2013 gave us a further unique award as Africa’s’ Leading Spa Resort. We are glad that our guests continue to concur with this reality and we will always strive to stay at the top by improving our product and the services we offer.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at THE RESIDENCES, our new, distinctly up-market resort within a resort and more so taking time to share with others who we truly are! This new development sets new yardsticks for Kenya’s coast tourism for others to follow. We have shared your compliments with the staff who remain our greatest asset in creating unique experiences for our guests everyday.

Come again and we will make it even better for you!
Asante sana!

On Behalf of Chui Management’
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
1.0 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing