We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment. Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A disappointment. Never again!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel in April 2014 with our two young children for a holiday and our experience was such a disappointment especially with all the good reviews here.
1. On arrival we received no help with our bags at all.
2. The fridge in the room was not working
3. The breakfast was cold and repetitive
4. No induction on services and restaurants in the hotel
5. Very few activities for the children and adults.
6. Complaints took forever to be addressed with no apology for the delay

I could go on and on really. By day 2 we decided to take the kids to Baobab Resort for the day and what a difference in customer care at the reception, friendly staff, kids and adult activities and variety of food! Unfortunately it was fully booked so we could not move!

All in all the hotel was a waste of money and an experience we never want to have again especially because of the children.
Really wish we had booked at the Boabab Resort instead! Now we know better!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Rachel,

We are taken aback by your review following your recent stay with us and are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations.

We recall very clearly all the issues you had that were addressed to the letter by the team. For example, our records show that your fridge was switched on as soon as you alerted us. On arrival, you were warmly received by our Resident Manager Francis who assisted you to warm your baby’s food since the child was hungry and crying at the time. We know this can be very stressful and our 24 hour porter service may have gone unnoticed.

We standardly provide a welcome session for each guest upon arrival to acquaint them with our services, however in your case you asked to have the children fed first. The person who finally took you to your room was also not given the opportunity to explain the hotel and its services to you. It is regrettable that you were therefore not aware of the various activities on offer. This year we have been nominated for the title of Africa’s Leading Family Resort specifically because we do have so much to offer children; besides bountiful nature filled with delightful secrets and natural wonders for children to discover, the Little Leopards Club is open from 9:00 – 21:00 each day. We recall that on the second day you requested for someone dedicated to your baby so that you could swim and relax; as we had not received advance notice we regret that the Little Leopards Club was all we could offer at the time as we also had other children in the hotel requiring our attention. We are more than willing to develop tailor-made programmes to suit the needs of our individual guests and we are able to provide responsible baby-sitting services for a fee; we regret that you declined this service and felt that this was something the hotel should provide for. We are able to provide free-of-charge group child minding services, however given our popularity with families it would be impossible for us to provide individual carers for each child.

We have a cyclical breakfast menu with a cold counter which includes a variety of seasonal, tropical fruits. However a chef is on-hand to prepare eggs to your liking while other hot dishes are also served.

We value each of our guests’ feedback and the reviews you read here are a true reflection of what our guests experience with us; we are truly sorry that your experience with us was a one off not so good and respect your perception as such.

We have a 24 hour Duty Management Roster and our records show clearly how many managers spoke to you and how all the issue you brought up were resolved, we are therefore disappointed to hear we did not meet our objective of ensuring satisfaction with our service. We felt that you were happy with what we did, which included organising special movies in the room for your children.

On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    197
    71
    34
    32
See reviews for
242
247
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at this resort, what a fantastic place. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food variety and abundance was excellent. The beaches were clean and absolutely beautiful. Tranquil and the right place to recharge your batteries.

Just be aware of the local wildlife as the monkeys are very keen on opening your beach bags looking for bananas.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the Ocean were amazing with had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lids329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Lids329,

Thank you for taking your time to review us!

We are delighted to know that your 6 nights at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa were memorable. Thank you for the compliments on the food, the breath-taking beaches and our staff who remain the biggest asset we have. Tranquillity is what we strive to offer our guests coupled with absolute value for money; it gives us so much joy and pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations.

As you might have seen we have signage all over the Resort warning guests not to feed or tease the monkeys; they are a natural and harmless part of our environment but sadly can become a bit of a nuisance if our requests are not heeded by all guests.

We sure look forward to host you again soon!
On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had planned one night only but the beauty of the hotel, it's gardens and splendid clean beach, the tranquillity was just fabulous we had to spend another night, we were upgraded to room 408 which had ocean view making the extra night more special . The food Was quality and varied with lots of seafood exactly what with the sea next to us!! Left very reluctantly.....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Janebai,
Its guests like you who keep us motivated to do what we do best……..thank you so much for taking time to share with the world the beauty and the tranquility you experienced in our Resort. What a joy to know that you decided to stay an extra night ! We are very pleased to know that the upgrade to a Superior Sea Facing room made a world of a difference to you. Quality is what we strive to offer our guests through a dynamic dining experiences and we are indeed fulfilled that this was evident during your stay.
We value your reluctance at check out knowing its guaranteed repeat business and we truly look forward to host you again soon
Thank you so much!
On Behalf of Chui Management’
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Leopard Beach is by far one of the best beach properties on the Kenyan Coast. The new Villas which are tastefully furnished with a private pool and a 5 minute walking access to the beach.The service is impeccable with the assortment of restaurants offers choice on food, ambience and variety. The staff go out of their way to make one's experience - THE experience!!

Room Tip: Villas are worth the extra spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tazim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Tazim,
Thank you for your review! Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has been voted for 4 years consecutively as Kenya’s Leading Resort and 2013 gave us a further unique award as Africa’s’ Leading Spa Resort. We are glad that our guests continue to concur with this reality and we will always strive to stay at the top by improving our product and the services we offer.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at THE RESIDENCES, our new, distinctly up-market resort within a resort and more so taking time to share with others who we truly are! This new development sets new yardsticks for Kenya’s coast tourism for others to follow. We have shared your compliments with the staff who remain our greatest asset in creating unique experiences for our guests everyday.

Come again and we will make it even better for you!
Asante sana!

On Behalf of Chui Management’
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My family and I visited on this site after rave reviews on this site.

The food, the rooms and staff were simply wonderful. There is also excellent entertainment each day for the family such as a Live Band, Karaoke etc. The only issues I had was with the welcome on arrival. I had two small issues though:
i) no valet to receive us at the reception on arrival;
ii) no hot towel to wipe off the sweat on arrival; and
iii) we were only served with juice after the manager intervened.

If the above can be improved, I will say it is a perfect place!!

James

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear James
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with others, we note with concern areas where we didn’t measure up to your expectations on arrival.
We have 24hrs porter service and it’s unfortunate that you missed this on arrival, chilled towel and a welcome drink is a standard and is given to all our guests. We have taken corrective measures to ensure this does not happen to anyone in future.
We are glad you appreciated the rooms, food and that our staff being the biggest asset that we pride in were simply wonderful.
We look forward to host you again in the very near future.

On Behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Second stay at this wonderful place.

We stayed at the Leopard Beach Resort & Spa from 12th to 16th March 2014, in the new private villa: Pambazuka Villa A29/B29, which has been so tastefully decorated, with its own private pool. Although the private villas are a distance from the main hotel and the beach, they have golf carts to take guests back and forth (multiple times daily, day and night, the staff never seem to tire! call them and they are there, kudos!) Absolutely loved it!!!!!

The hotel has everything set up so well. Throughout the property there has been a lot of attention to detail; from the gardens to the furniture. Several bars and restaurants at site cater for a wide taste. They have created such a good ambience.

During our stay we experienced the best hospitality, the staff were so friendly and always happy to provide assistance, always asking if everything is ok, went out of their way to meet any special requirements (we requested for changes in meal plans, special meals - all very well catered for... with a smile). Probably the best staff I have come across in the hotels within Kenya.

Also worthy of mention is the excellent service provided at the pools and on the beach by the attendants/waiters. We got our drinks/food/ice-cream brought to us on the beach. The beach is clean, soft white sand, with clear water. We also utilised the spa which has been setup so well, with professional staff. The pool by the spa (over 16yrs only) is very peaceful, a good place to relax.

The food was good, decent variety during breakfast. They had themes during diner, with good choice of food. Personally, I was very satisfied with what they had to offer during the meals.

Oh, and they have free Wi-Fi throughout the resort!! So convenient!

There is one thing that I would like the resort to have: a bar on/near the beach. That would be perfect given the current setup they have.

Only problem is, the holiday ended too quick!!

Had such a wonderful time that I am already looking forward to being there again for the third time!!

Dipen Chudasama

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipenChudasama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Dipen Chudasama,

Wow! What a great review! More so that you are already looking forward to being here for the third time, Asante Sana!
The Residences; “Newest kid on the Block” at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa were aimed at creating a holiday home away from home.They not only give you space, but also highly promote privacy and tranquillity for each Villa has its own swimming pool. Pambazuka (which is a Swahili word meaning dawn) brings new tidings every morning with a whole new experience with the Chui’s. The Golf carts are meant to enhance comfort of our guests and proximity to all the hotel facilities in the shortest time possible; our dedicated staff will be at your door step as soon as you need them.

Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has for the last four years been voted by the World Travel Awards as Kenya’s Leading Resort and we take great pride in our staff who has consistently offered excellent service to our guests. We are delighted that you experience this refreshing Chui hospitality.
We have a 14 days cyclical menu to ensure a dynamic meal experience throughout your stay since we have a huge percentage of long staying clients, we are happy to know you found this evident during your stay and more so enjoyed it. The Uzuri Spa that gave us the award of Africa’s Leading Spa Resort in 2013 has is the quiet zone with a pool strictly utilized by adults over 16years. This is to further enhance tranquillity for those seeking a quiet holiday and need absolute privacy.
WIFI is provided at the Residences, rooms and at the Kalani coffee Lounge to enable our guests stay in touch with their loved ones and also for those on a working holiday to stay connected with their office anytime they wish.
At the moment the pool bar serves all our guests on the beach and we have waiters at your service throughout the day, however we have noted your recommendation.
It will be a joy to host you again soon!

On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have just returned from Leopard Beach Resort where we stayed for 6 days after a weeks safari. We arrived in the late evening and were very tired after a long journey. We were met by a relaxed, friendly and charming receptionist who had up-graded us to a honeymoon cottage - we have been married for 40 years this year, so not what we expected! The cottage was out of this world as is the rest of the hotel. The staff are amazing, always smiling and helpful. The hotel has, without a shadow of a doubt, the Best position along the beach and is in a class of it's own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Janet K,
We are thrilled to read such a positive review from you! Thank you very much.
The first impression is always the lasting impression! We are glad we were able to welcome you warmly and show you true Kenyan hospitality. We take delight in sharing the special memories with our guests and are thrilled to know your 40th Anniversary was made special by an upgrade to a honeymoon Suite. We have since highly appreciated our receptionist who did us proud by making your stay with us special.
We for sure enjoy the best location on the Diani coast and concur with you that we strive to be best in everything we do having been voted Kenya’s Leading Resort for four years in a row by the World Travel Awards!
Welcome again to this paradise and we can assure you of a memorable stay with us!
On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing