We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect haven of peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort to your Saves list
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
isle of wight
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect haven of peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly as it is perfect for me. The rooms are spacious and clean, and have fabulous views. Very few are more than a few metres from the beach. There is one main pool and a number of plunge pools throughout the gardens. There is a small coral shelf in front of the hotel, but it is not hard to walk around it to get into the sea. When the tide is in it is of no consequence anyway, and when the tide is out, it traps a pool of water that many people like to sit and tan in.
On this occasion someone complained to me that all the beds were reserved. I explained that you tell the pool boy (Gabriel) where you want to sit and he will put bed and shade there for you and see that it is made up each morning for you. There is plenty of space.

The staff are attentive, without being cloying, and are very nice natured whether you tip or not. Sometimes they are busier than others, and on a couple of evenings this time the service was a bit slow. However this is Kenya and are you really in a rush? If so tell them at the outset - they will oblige.

The food this year was slightly better than last year, although virtually everyone i bumped into, regardless of hotel were not entirely happy with the evening meal although breakfast is fab. I think for what it is it is excellent. Also, if there is really nothing you fancy on the menu, you can ask for something else and as long as they know how to make it they will.

My main love about this hotel is the peace and quiet. No loud music all day and no forced entertainment or being pestered to play water polo, volleyball, football etc etc They do offer water aerobics at 11.00 and for that half an hour they play music but it is not very loud. This time there were no aerobics as nobody wanted them.

Evening entertainment is not spectacular, but is ok to chill out and have a drink. It only lasts usually from 9 until 10, 11 at the latest then all is peaceful again.

If you are the sort of person who likes plenty of entertainment, loud music, pristine surroundings and British Hilton standards then this hotel is not for you. If you want peace, relaxation and a chance to unwind in a stunning location with a chilled atmosphere and genuine Kenyan feel then this is for you. Kick off your shoes, have a G&T or a Tusker while watching the sun go down. Pure magic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hevcbsiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    76
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
43
99
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2.5weeks at the end of March 2012 into April.
Was my first experience of a exotic get away and the stay at the Jacaranda was fabulous.
Great rooms and buildings, excellent staff (especially mohammed by palm tree coconut collector) sea breeze which was needed as the humidity was through the roof. Thankfully with such a strong sea breeze it kept the mozzies away... didnt get bitten once the whole time I was away!
The reason I give 4 stars instead of 5 was not the hotels fault as such, but its location from the main airport.... a VERY long journey topped off with a ferry crossing in the scorching heat. A great experience but the ferry got a little dull having to cross it for excursions elsewhere etc.
On the whole, amazing place. Wouldn definitly go back if the opportunity came about.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevehicks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacarandaDiani, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Steve,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your holiday with us, I have talked to Mohammed and said big thanks and we are looking forward to welcoming back to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort possibly this year. Pass the great word to all there.
Be Blessed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place for relaxing. Very nice and friendly staff. Excellent massage with eucalyptus oil. Great seafood restaurant for lunch. Great ocean view sunset and sunrise!. I really enjoyed my very short vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marinaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacarandaDiani, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Marina
Thanks for the feedback on your holiday with us. we shall do our best to
maintain the same and wish to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

LOVED our little bungalow on the water !! Beach was beautiful,, just wish they could somehow control the beach boys better. We love to walk the beach everyday but found we only ventured out 2 times. Loved our gardener he brought me flowers, pool guy great too.
All staff was very friendly too. Food was standard buffet style, after almost 30 days of it, we got a little tired of it. Not too bad but pretty much the same everyday.
Very quiet, which was nice for us, but if we went back would need it to be a little liivlier. If you wanted to look at the Voyageur Resort we stayed there only 1 night but it was overflowing with people. They must be doing something right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k0sm056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was there recently and have been there on more than one occassion and its always romantic..
The staff... Excellent
Location....Beautiful with white sandy beach
Rooms.....cosy and romantic esp. 435 very close to the plunge pool
Food.... Can do better
WiFi... Available with good speeds

Overall i always enjoy when i am there.... Feel completely at ease :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zulfikar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you Zulfikar for your postive comments, we look forward to hosting you again.

kind regards

James Chege
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back from a holiday in the Jacaranda, brilliant location, very friendly staff, but the food was quite a let down, having come from the Masai Mara, where we had five star food, cooked in a tent. Rooms were clean and well maintained, with turn-down each night. Area around our house was spotless, cleaners at work there every morning at 7.0'clock. Breakfast was ok but dinner was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAEDHBHIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Better than average, less than very good...
Starting with the pros, the setting is gorgeous. Historical site, long white beach, beautifully built and designed rooms and buildings, all rooms ocean facing (ours opened right on to the beach!) it is a fabulous location. The service, too, is good quality - staff remember your names, remember orders, respond to queries/requests promptly and kindly. We arrived late evening, and one of the waiters in particular was very helpful (Dalmas). Similarly, at 7am the following morning we started talking with one of the groundsmen (Mohammed) who arranged our sunloungers, cushions etc in our chosen spot. We tipped the latter on the first day (instead of the last) and he ensured that our area was prepared at sunrise each morning.

Moving on to the cons: I hadn't read or heard anywhere of issues swimming, however when the tide was going out on the first day i cut myself twice on rocks. When the tide went out, we could see very large, jagged rocky plateaux. Once i saw those, I could identify a way out to sea without goign over them, but it was a huge disappointment (as I love swimming in the sea). Even after we arrived, reception should have mentioned this!
Secondly, and probably more important to some, is the food. It's just not good enough. I've been to the Swahili coast before, and enjoyed myriad seafood dishes. It's barely on the menu at Jacaranda. Lunch is either a buffet upstairs, or a menu order down by the pool (mediocre pastas; overly processed burgers) and neither is impressive. Food is the biggest point loser for Jacaranda where it would be generous to say it's worthty of a 3-star hotel. Constant disappointment.
Lastly, and this might not be a con for all - the 'Animation' each evening. Whilst it's nice to have a bit of entertainment and an opportunity to meet other residents, having pounding dance music reverberate throughout the grounds (we were at the far end) continuing past 11pm isn't my idea of a relaxing holiday. I could have gone to Ibiza for that. Other evenings were less intrusive with some talented dance troops, but again, why were the 'local' dances to a soundtrack of electronic and dance-pop music instead of swahili, masai or bantu? Most residents that we met were either from or going on safari, and most are interested in the general culture of east africa, kenya and the swahili coast. Opporunity massively lost by the Jacaranda. Music like Ladysmith Black Mombazo should be on the agenda instead.

However, rooms were lovely and comfortable, tv allowed us to glimpse some of the olympics; en-suite was lovely with powerful shower. Air-con is available for the warmer months, and of course a mosquito net hangs over the bed for your protection. he rooms, indeed the whole complex, is immaculately clean and clearly well cared for.

I would recommend staying here with the usual and interesting surroundings, and lovely staff team, but if I did it again it would be half board, not full. Take your meals elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senzaparole03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
3.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
5.9 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#15 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Property: Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort is located 40 km's from Mombasa town and situated along the white sandy beaches of south coast surrounded by swaying coconut palm trees and magnificent old stoic baobabs. Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort comprises of 100 deluxe rooms, tastefully crafted and beautifully furnished found in white washed, 'makuti' roofed structures. The rooms double or twin, are tastefully appointed with local hand carved furnishings and are filled with luxurious amenities; walk-in shower, separate toilet, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and have the convenience of both air-conditioning and a central ceiling fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club Hotel Diani
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Hotel
Indian Ocean Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing