We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
$419
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
$93
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$139
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
PrideInn Express Diani(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$50
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$125
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$102
$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diani Sea Resort(Diani Beach)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$217
$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
173
112
40
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
112
40
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontindian oceandhow barbeach boysanimation teamother hotelsour honeymoonenjoyed my staynight entertainmentfantastic locationtwo weekslow seasonbeautiful resorttable tennisa wonderful holidaylovely beachprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 354 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The reception, rooms, staff, meals, entertainment, conference rooms.... the hotel deserves five stars!!!!! about the rooms, the room attendats should be flexible in their work in terms of bringing soaps n other stuff. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBRAHIM021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

It has been three years since we visited our favourite hotel. This is the place we used to dream about during the cold winter months in th UK. We have stayed in other hotels in different countries but can never find anywhere as beautiful and tranquil as this hotel. From the moment you arrive at the reception area, which is very impressive, you are aware that you are somewhere special. The receptionist remembered us which was very pleasant. The rooms have changed slightly in that they now have a tv and have upgraded the basins in the bathroom. Quite honestly we didn't find any problem with the way the rooms were before. The balcony was large enough to hold a party and the view of the indian ocean was sublime.

The food was the same as we remembered (if not even better)and I had beef wellington which was very good. The service excellent. The staff are very friendly and attentive as they always were when we stayed before .

If you want total relaxation in a beautiful situation with good food and friendly staff, then this is place. The only drawback was that we did not want to leave

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank havasafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

It is with regret that we have been privy to the slow decline of this hotel from a 5 plus hotel to at best 3.5 over the last 6 years. We have always enjoyed going there and appreciated the friendliness and willingness of the staff to go the extra mile at all times. As well as the unique setting and dispersed rooms that this hotel enjoys.
The rooms, even those with updated bathrooms, are now showing their age and need an urgent update - the bathroom update for the north side has been promised for years but never materialised.
The major problem though is the food. They can do it superbly, Valentines night was an excellent example, but all to often they don't. Fish is not fresh, meat defies description and is often cooked to death, and butchery, of for instance chicken, defies description and certainly is not from the front end.
In the good old days most of the fish was bought locally and the head chef went into the Mombasa market at 0400 to do his shopping for the day. Now they use purchasing agents and whilst we where there there were so many complaints about the meat that they changed the agent but that did not materially affect much. What makes this worse is that we all know that the quality of meat, fish and fruit and vegetables in Kenya is excellent so there is no real excuse.
We talked to the general manager last year and this year to the new food and beverages manager. Both were aware of the issues and agreed things had gone down hill and maybe, just maybe, this new maager will sort things out. Meantime we will miss out on our annual month in the sum for early next year, though if there are enough encouraging reports on this and other sites we will go back in 2013.
To the management, over to you, if nothing else the staff deserve it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thollandsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Just had a great week on my own at the Indian Ocean Resort. Fantastic time of year to go....not overcrowded, hot, not humid, lovely sea breeze and NO mosquitos. Found the hotel beautifully located, good amenities (though might be overstretched when fully occupied) lots to do if I wanted.....amazingly friendly and helpful staff who chatted away in at least five languages. Lovely small bungalows set in superb mature grounds. Public beach right in front of the hotel, but no hassle from traders. Good swimming in the Indian Ocean and a hardly used pool. Probably not like that in the school holidays. My only grouse, and that of others I spoke to, was that the evening buffet was very limitied.... you could go and eat at the posher Fish Restaurant , but the inclusive dinner could be better. The table d'hotel was curate's eggy....good in parts!! Definitely would go back there......

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fleuriex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The last reviewer seemed very angry - must have been the pressure of getting married!
I've just returned from 2 weeks at Jacaranda - my 7th. visit. Please ignore the ranting of the last poster! It remains an excellent, well run hotel with superb staff who are out to please at every opportunity.
The rooms are lovely and have an African feel; the restaurant has a 7 course meal which waiters always explain to guests; there is an alternative carvery and buffet every night.
He seems to have been too impatient for Africa - if you want snap service then try USA!
At least twice a week all tables are moved outside to eat under the huge Baobab trees strung with lights - quite magical
Some people just have to show off when dealing with locals - a bit of colonialism I think!
The Reception area is beautiful - open to the sea and furnished with antiques and the staff are always lovely and helpful.
Please don't let this ranting put you off! if you want a beautiful, laid back beach, mostly free from beachboys and a sea which can be accessed over sand at all times of the tide then you will love it here!
My only niggle this year was the introduction of 2 jet-skis which are totally at odds with the whole concept of this hotel. Fortunately there were very few takers and hopefully they will soon be gone!
A great traditional hotel with the best staff I have met anywhere!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
8  Thank JUDITH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews