We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utopia!”
other travelers have booked this property
Monkey Beach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monkey Beach House
View from level 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Monkey Beach House
View from level 1
Master bedroom 1
travelers photo
Master bathroom
2nd master bedroom
travelers photo
another view to terrace from 2nd master bedroom
View from 2nd master bedroom to terrace
private terrace on top floor
1st floor - bedroom 3
travelers photo
part of 1st floor living room
Dining table on terrace
Monkey Beach House
travelers photo
1 of 3 sofa couches at the front
Ground floor- bedroom 5
Ground floor Bedroom 4 (looks to beach)
travelers photo
stairs leading up from ground floor
Front of house - the big balconies face directly to the beach & sea
Monkey Beach House
beach house garden walking path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kentchl0e
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Utopia!”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Monkey beach house and the house next door for two weeks, for no reason other than we all work far too hard in London and all desperately needed a very special break. All 16 of us (8 adults, 8 kids) turned up after our exciting journey of bus, tube, planes, more buses, ferry and a mini van ......and then stepped into paradise. Within minutes, the kids had put their swimming costumes on and jumped in the pool where they stayed for pretty much 10 days solid playing with the lovely children from the other rental apartments. In the meantime, Monkey Beach House and Diani gradually worked its magic on us. We swam to the mini reef every morning (200m out from the tree in the front), ate Hussains fabulous food, walked along the breathtaking beach, and got stuck in on the road side making friends with everyone in every establishment up to Nakumat. Hugh the owner is fabulous as are the staff, and the place is absolutely magic - the beach, the people, the area, the sea, the road side....Thank you Monkey Beach House & team - we had such a fabulous time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole f
1 review
“Fantastic family holiday on the beach”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We visited Monkey Beach House for 4 nights with three families, including several small children - and can't say enough about this amazing property. The house, pool and beach are all as stunning as the photos, and the entire area is incredibly safe and peaceful. Everything you need is just a tuk-tuk ride away, including groceries. The pool has a separated toddler section making swimming very easy for everyone. The chef took such great care of us, making excellent Swahili food for the adults and additional kid-friendly options for our children. Our only regret was not staying longer; we'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrideyLou...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I spent 4 nights at Monkey Beach House with my family - 4 adults and 3 kids - and had an absolutely wonderful experience! The house is just gorgeous and has 5 rooms each with a separate ensuite, so plenty of time and space for everyone. The living / lounging areas are divine, with large Swahili style day beds to hang out and doze on, a deck with views of the ocean and swimming pool for meals, and a master bedroom on the rooftop with views of the ocean and palm tree tops. The place is stunning - pictures cannot do it justice!

The staff (a big shout out to our cook Hussein and cleaner Anne) were friendly and welcoming, making us feel instantly at home and straight into 'holiday mode'. Each night we ate delicious fresh seafood, Swahili fish curries, pizza - Hussein was open to cooking just about anything and very accommodating with our requests! Hugh was a gracious host and a friendly and helpful presence - giving advice on a snorkelling trip with local fishermen and also local culture and customs.

We couldn't have asked for more, or imagined a more beautiful space to spend our holiday. We felt happy, safe and well looked after the whole time (not to mention relaxed, having a lovely pool to swim in, but also being a stones throw from the beach!). Also helpful to be less than 100 metres from Sails restaurant and a couple of other great eating spots.

This place is a real treat and I could not recommend it more highly! Thank you Hugh, Hussein and Anne for a beautiful time - we will most certainly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daviddQ54...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great house but crap showers”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We are two families who stayed there for a few days and really enjoyed it, the house is nice, spacious, nicely decorated, and very close to the beach. The only issue is the showers were not working in almost all the rooms...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
We are sorry you had a problem with the showers. This was not reported to us until you left...but we immediately had a plumber come to check all bathrooms and he rectified the low pressure he found in 3 of the 5 bathrooms in the house. They are now working well again and we apologise for the inconvenience.
We have great staff and we all take pride in ensuring the beach house is always presented in first class condition for our guests. If we are advised of any problem we will always try our best to rectify it in the shortest possible time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natnan201...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Perfect Diani Rental”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We rented Monkey Beach House for our honeymoon with family and friends. It turned out to be the perfect find. We loved the Swahili architecture of the house which was very spacious & comfortable and had plenty of places to have some alone time or gather with the group.

We were very well looked after by Hugh and his friendly and attentive staff. No request was too great - all we had to do was ask. We were especially well taken care of by the chef, Hussein, who cooked us delicious meals throughout.

The pool area was lovely. Even though it was shared with the other houses on the property, it felt very secluded and it was a friendly environment. We especially loved being so close to the beach and took advantage of it with long walks and morning swims in the ocean.

We'll definitely be back to Monkey Beach House and would recommend it to friends without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2017
Thanks for the review . We're glad you enjoyed your stay . We're all looking forward to your next visit and wish you and family a pleasant 2017. Rgds, MBH team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 5 nights here with the extended family. It is a fantastic spot - right on the beach. Our 2 cooks were amazing. The sea water is warm and the beach pristine. I will be back

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Monkey Beach House is astonishingly beautiful. Rooms are very well furnished and beds impossibly comfortable! Bathrooms were gorgeous, with nice hot showers. The pool is lovely and well maintained, and though shared, this was never an issue and neighbouring guests were very friendly. We were very lucky to be taken care of by a great team, especially Hussein , who is one of the best chefs i have had the good fortune to come across. I still have dreams about his seafood barbecue! The beach was lovely and mercifully clear of hawkers, just the occasional one or two, and they were polite and friendly. If you want to experience the next best thing to paradise, i suggest you head to the Monkey beach House as soon as possible. Thank you Monkey Beach House for a 50th birthday weekend that has taken permanent residence in our memories!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing