We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a nice stay we had at Monkey Beach House...”
other travelers have booked this property
Monkey Beach House- main dining area-pool, garden & beach view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monkey Beach House- main dining area-pool, garden & beach view
Monkey Beach House- exterior view Monkey Beach House- View of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Monkey Beach House- main dining area-pool, garden & beach view
Monkey Beach House- exterior view
Monkey Beach House- View of the house
Monkey Beach house -View from level 1
Monkey Beach House- main dining area -level 1 -view 3
Monkey Beach House- main living room-level 1 -view 1
Monkey Beach House-Main kitchen level 1
Monkey Beach House-Night time
Monkey Beach House-Kitchen ground flr
Monkey Beach House- ground flr living room & bar area
Monkey Beach House-Ground flr living room
Monkey Beach House-shared swimming pool
Monkey Beach House- Top flr terrace -view 1
Monkey Beach House-Main living room -level1
Monkey Beach House- ground flr -exterior lounge area
Monkey Beach House- ground flr- back bedroom
Monkey Beach House- ground flr -front bedroom
Monkey Beach House- level 1-bedroom 1 -view 2
Monkey Beach House- level 1 -bedroom1
Monkey Beach House-level 1 landing
Monkey Beach House-Master bedroom view 3-(top flr)
Monkey Beach House- terrace -top flr- beach view
Monkey Beach House-top flr terrace view 2
Monkey Beach House-master bedroom bathroom
Monkey Beach House- master-bedroom 2 bathroom
Monkey Beach House- Ground flr bathroom
Monkey Beach House- Bathroom 3 -level 1
beach house garden walking path
Monkey Beach House
stairs leading up from ground floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Prafulla...
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a nice stay we had at Monkey Beach House, Galu, Diani”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled with mine and 3 other families to Monkey Beach House and spent the last 4 days unwinding, swimming and walking up and down the beach. Splendid. We were a group of total 13 persons (8 adults and 5 kids) and though we were a bit nervous whether the place will be crowded, it was not. The house has 5 bedrooms and many sitting areas. We just enjoyed hanging around the place. We had barbecue one night outside. Kids loved the pool and adults found the excuse of 'lets help them swim' to also spend enormous amounts of time in the water. The beach in front was excellent- no debris, loads of beach bums etc. Housekeeper was good and the cooks did a fairly ok job for our Indian palettes (we had to make sure the instructions were precise and clear). Some friends from the group also helped out a bit in the cooking as well. Parking for vehicles could be a better organised- we had one of the long term tenants in a nearby property complaining (not so nicely). There is space for parking, it just needs some organising and clear instructing by the management. There are other properties within the same compound and we had 3-4 other small groups also around. Nice place and we look forward to going back.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D
Monaco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had an incredible 2 week stay at Monkey beach house with our two young boys. Everything from the accommodation and the location through to the friendliness of the staff was exceptional and will certainly be remembered as on of the best holidays we have ever been on.
If you are thinking about going to Kenya but are frightened of the reports of 'Africa' generally in the media, please reconsider. We have never felt safer and the people are the friendliest and most helpful that we have ever come across in many years of travelling and we cant wait to go back. (the gardeners even managed to track down a monkey that had stolen our older son's favorite teddy bear and get it back!)
However, bear in mind that it is Africa and do not expect to have high speed internet 24 hours a day, see the occasional power cut as a romantic interlude and for the feint hearted, consider flying directly to Diani Beach from Nairobi rather that braving the cab ride through Mombassa which though very interesting and a great way to see how Africa works, can be a little off putting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommdation, the staff and the location
Liked least: the beach boys who were a bit of a pest
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughd022
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location, excellent staff!”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Monkey Beach for four days with 9 people and one toddler over the New Year. It was truly an amazing experience and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the villa. First, all of the rooms were spotless, airy and beautifully decorated. The chef Hussain, prepared wonderful fresh meals every day. Anne, the housekeeper doubled as a nanny for an extra fee, and was both professional and kind with my toddler.
The location is truly spectacular with only steps to the beach, which was not crowded, and lovely pool in front of the villa. Truly paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the staff
Liked least: Loved everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiggy R
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Great house, perfect beach”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Wonderful, large airy house. Very comfortable and nicely decorated. Plenty of space for 2 or 3 families. Lovely cook and housekeeper. Great view of ocean. Shared pool right in front of house.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jusanderi
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A thoroughly fantastic experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were fortunate enough to spend five days in September at Monkey Beach House, and we have to say it was absolutely brilliant place to be. Situated just a few meters from the ocean,and complete with a cook (who made great food and also went shopping for us) and a housekeeper, the whole package really made us feel like we were in a paradise. The house was absolutely massive (we could have slept in a different room every night) and comfortable (pictures are not lying).

And because of the amount of tourists being really low at the moment due to terrorism threat (we spent a total of around 10 days in Kenya and did not feel unsafe for a second, besides the area security is very good) you really could get a bargain of a lifetime. And I do not think you can very often have a beautiful ocean beach almost for yourself. On busier times, the place should also be ideal for people looking for a party. We cannot recommend this place enough.

- Jussi & Maria from Finland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No complaints whatsoever (Internet was not free, but did not matter to us)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njnj123
Mombasa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house, fantastic location-highly recommend”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic week in this beautiful house right on the breathtaking beach. House was clean, beds were super comfy. We had our 7month old baby with us and this house was perfect. Lovely food cooked daily for us. We were wanting to kitesurf and the house was in a great location as 5 min walk down the beach to kenyaways kitesurfing school. Much of diani beach is full of hotels and hawkers but this place was just out of the way enough not to get hassle ever time you walk down the beach. Would highly recommend this house. Hope we will have the chance to visit again.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P
Holland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“Peaceful rest, family fun and luxury accommodations”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

After our Safari, we came to stay at the Monkey House for some beach time. The powder sand beaches were amazing. We had 5 children with us ages 13 and under who loved swimming in the pool and riding the waves. Our daughter loved walking the shore at low tide finding shells and other creatures. We went to the nearby reef twice to go snorkeling. ($35 US glass bottom boat ride for our whole crew) We saw Lion fish, many tropical fish, sea urchins, starfish, and more. Our kids did the tourist trap of riding camels on the beach and we bought some great souvenirs from the beach boys. Bartering a price is not my thing. I bought some keychains with our kids named carved on them in ebony wood. The boy was very nice and would run up to us to just say hi if he saw us on the beach. We also bought some kikoy towels - quick drying woven towels as gifts for friends back home. The last day we walked the beach to watch the beautiful morning sunrise.

The house is just like in the pictures - amazing and so many places to sit and read, socialize, play games or just relax. Many rooms had ocean views. Our chef Usain was awesome. He prepared anything from pizza and spaghetti to chapati, roasted fish with a tomato coconut sauce. We had a big breakfast every morning and enjoyed leftovers for lunch. The fruit trays were amazing. You can go to the store and pick groceries, but we opted to let our chef do the shopping. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

It is a shame that tourism is down in the area since it is such a beautiful place. We did charter a flight from Ukunda to Mombasa to avoid more driving and busy areas. The charter flight was not that expensive and it was a great way to see the shoreline and surrounding areas. The pilot even let my husband drive for a bit.

The house maid had to remind us a few times about closing up our rooms to keep the monkeys out. They are cute, but not afraid of people. The house is great for accommodating large groups and families. There are other houses on the grounds so many groups can stay together. The owner Hugh arranged Taxi pick up from Ukunda and it's only a 15 minute drive to Galu Lodges. I wish it were closer to our home because we would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spending time with family in an amazing spot and not having to cook or do dishes!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing