We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully decorated, gorgeous views and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Monkey Beach House- main dining area-pool, garden & beach view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monkey Beach House- main dining area-pool, garden & beach view
Monkey Beach House- exterior view Monkey Beach House- View of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Monkey Beach House- main dining area-pool, garden & beach view
Monkey Beach House- exterior view
Monkey Beach House- View of the house
Monkey Beach house -View from level 1
Monkey Beach House- main dining area -level 1 -view 3
Monkey Beach House- main living room-level 1 -view 1
Monkey Beach House-Main kitchen level 1
Monkey Beach House-Night time
Monkey Beach House-Kitchen ground flr
Monkey Beach House- ground flr living room & bar area
Monkey Beach House-Ground flr living room
Monkey Beach House-shared swimming pool
Monkey Beach House- Top flr terrace -view 1
Monkey Beach House-Main living room -level1
Monkey Beach House- ground flr -exterior lounge area
Monkey Beach House- ground flr- back bedroom
Monkey Beach House-top flr terrace view 2
Monkey Beach House- master-bedroom 2 bathroom
Monkey Beach House- Ground flr bathroom
Monkey Beach House- Bathroom 3 -level 1
beach house garden walking path
Monkey Beach House
stairs leading up from ground floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

PSTNairob...
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated, gorgeous views and absolutely relaxing!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Monkey House was just perfect. The house is luxurious, spacious, nicely laid out, and decorated beautifully with a well-equipped kitchen and nice house staff. It is set on a property with 3 other houses facing the wide, white sandy beach and 6-8 apartments in the garden behind sharing one very nice pool. It is great for groups. We had 12 in our group, our family and another family sharing Monkey House with the 3rd family in an apt. The owner is extremely nice and helpful. We had a great trip. It was so relaxing!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: gorgeous view, beach, pool, and house and friendly owner
Liked least: extra charge for wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlaguardi...
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise found: Exceeded the Highest Expectations”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The Monkey House was spectacular. Set right on the gorgeous Galu Beach (Few people and more beautiful than Diani a couple kilometers to the north), this property was luxurious, comfortable, fun and just right for our group of adults and kids. The decor was great and every room was outfitted with stylish fittings. The pool was large, with a shallow pool adjoining the deeper one--both a very good size. The staff was excellent. It was totally safe, with attentive guards who also kept an eye on our kids as they ran between the beach and the sea. And the sea! Wow! White, soft sand, blue (although a bit cloudy given the season), with fun waves during the tides. The very cool kits school is just down the beach and various restaurants are nearby. Go!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything! Surprisingly luxurious but with a cool-beach attitude.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NAIROBI
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 30, 2013
Thank you Steve, We look forward to welcome you and your family again soon.
Best regards.
Magdalena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Netherlands
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
100steffa...
Krefeld, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2019
Hey Steffanie and Andreas,
Thank you for leaving us such a humble and delightful review of Monkey Beach House! We're very happy that you loved your stay with us. Hussein and Anna will be thrilled with your feedback. They both told me that you were all friendly and very accommodating. So we're also very grateful for the warmth you extended to our staff.
We shall look forward to hosting you once again soon!
Vielen Dank!

Magdalena and the MBH team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisarV936...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2019 for a stay in March 2019
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2019
Dear Lisa,
Thank you for sending us a review of your recent stay at Monkey Beach House. It is unfortunate that your stay with us did not go as planned. We do regret the negative experience and are sorry that our service did not satisfy your expectations. We value your feedback and hope that we could welcome you once again at Monkey Beach House in the near future.
However, I would like to address your review. Apologies in advance as I would need to respond in English for our larger audience to understand the issue at hand. It is very rare for us to cancel our client bookings whenever we experience any misunderstandings. We usually try our best to look after our guests whenever we make a mistake. Unfortunately, the experience we had with you breached our rental values.
The client and family received our terms of rental (when she made her booking and a reminder of the same copied in her email 3 days before she arrived). She was aware that she was renting a self- catering beach house with a cook and housekeeper provided. As per our terms the client was aware of the following:
Staff (Cook and House Keeping Services): Although the beach house is rented on a self-catering basis (meaning you have to bring your own food and drinks), the house comes with a cook who can prepare the meals as you wish so that you can have a relaxing holiday without having to spend hours in the kitchen each day. But please note that our cook is employed as a cook, not as a drink’s waiter and not as a gofer – he will assist in getting seafood from the local fishermen and fish vendors, but other food shopping and getting your own drinks are your responsibility.
Housekeeping services are also provided, and both these services are included in the
rate quoted. Again, the housekeeper will make beds in the morning and sweep or mop the floors. Other tidying up through the day up – especially cleaning up after children have made a mess - is the responsibility of guests. We write the above paragraphs about the staff because some guests have made unreasonable demands on them, perhaps forgetting that the house is rented on a self-catering basis. Please respect our wonderful team because it is, they who help make your stay at Monkey Beach House enjoyable. If you have any questions requiring local knowledge of the area, they will be ready to assist you. If our staff complain of any mistreatment of any form, we have the right to terminate your stay without refund.
Despite reading the terms and agreeing to them, the client sent me numerous unpleasant emails complaining about the above conditions, including, staff working hours, laundry service, false marketing of the property amongst other things. After responding to her complaints through the HomeAway dashboard and via the phone, the client continued being rude and made condescending rants about the "poor service" at Monkey Beach House. She threatened to write a negative review of the property online, pursue a legal suit, report me to the local tourist authorities and have the property blacklisted on HomeAway listing (her booking agent).
Please note that the client and I exchanged plenty of emails since August last year. The prevailing trend boiled down to bargaining and haggling over the rates to save on her holiday costs. This became even more alarming when she tried to undercut HomeAway by opting to pay us in cash for part of her stay hopefully to save agent fees. There are more examples but do not wish to discuss them here.
The bottom line is that the client expected more than what we offered which included a generously discounted rate to stay in the most sort after beautiful 5-bedroom beach front property in Diani Beach. As you may not be aware, there were only four guests staying in a house that accommodates 10 with staff included.
The client was asked to leave the property after trying three times to settle the issue with her and her husband amicably over the phone. She and her husband were very rude, offhandish and difficult to deal with throughout. I called HomeAway to inform them of the situation and was advised to cancel the booking and organise a refund. This was done but the client and her husband refused to leave and later on demanded a full refund including the booking fees she paid HomeAway.
Based on our terms of rental the client was not entitled to a refund. To appease her, I offered a partial refund to end that unpleasant, torturous and traumatizing experience. However, she refused that offer and insisted on a full refund. HomeAway intervened to have the issue settled but that did not work either. When asked to furnish me with her banking details, she sent incomplete information. I pursued that with her but only received the full details a day before her departure causing me to close her case with HomeAway rentals.

Due to delays experienced in the course of trying to resolve the issue, the clients did not leave and had a full stay at Monkey Beach House. HomeAway rental is fully aware of our communications and has since apologised for the inconveniences that came about as a result of that booking at Monkey Beach House.

Regards,
Magdalena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.