We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small Paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
our team Christmas 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Steve K
1 review
“Small Paradise!”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This spot is 5 minutes from the beach and has the most beautiful and well kept gardens. The ambience is great and the staff most helpful and friendly. You will love your stay here. The price too is pocket friendly. The rooms are spacious and well furnished.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Ḩ
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Amazing, Relaxing, and Safe.”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We went in January, there are three villas in the compound so the atmosphere is very quaint, quiet, and private. The garden is stunning, the staff is great,Jeffrey is the grounds keeper and greeted us each day with a smile on his face and also got a friend to bring us fresh crab (still alive) and fresh fruits at reasonable prices. Miriam is the villa maid/cleaner and will cook you a wonderful fresh meal at your request (try her tafi fish stew with coconut rice and sakuma wiki), Robert is the man that oversees the villas and is also a great guy. He drove all the way to Mombasa Airport to pick us up and drop us back off.

It is a very short walk to the beach and totally safe. It is located closer to Galu Beach but not that far from Diani Beach, Forty Thieves Bar and other shopping centres.

Overall a very excellent experience! Would instantly go here again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmileyTun...
Tunbridge Wells
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This place is not for people with a disability or who are unfit. You are 10 minute walk from the main road where you can catch a Tuk Tuk ( 3 wheeled vehicle ) to wherever you want to go but haggle the price and do not use after 6pm as not safe in the dark. If you want to walk to the beach then it is 15 minutes, beautiful white sandy beach and very clean, only problem is the beach boys who will bother you as you are walking along, some of them do not take no for an answer so can get annoying, also they will offer you items but always haggle the price, start less than half what they start at and do not listen to their poor me and feed the kids stories, do not pay up front either as we had a couple of them not turn up with goods, small deposit is enough.
Now the accommodation, it is very basic, lovely front part where you can sit and chill out, sometimes seeing the monkeys at certain times, the bedroom is a decent size with a big king size bed which has a fan above the bed and a mosquito net round it.
There is another bedroom which is the same but we did not use that.
The kitchen is in need of refurbishment, shelves falling apart in places, fridge has rust along the bottom of it and the oven is also in need of replacing, the kettle and toaster were ok but the utensils and pans need replacing.
The bathroom is big with a toilet, shower which needs a new shower head and sink, it needed work done on it as it looked worn.
the upstairs part is huge with a bed, some chairs and a table but did not have a mosquito grid across window so good chance of getting bitten to death.
Over all this accommodation is ok if you want real basic place to stay for £30 a night, the staff which is Goffrey the gardener and Miriam the cleaner do their best to keep things ticking over, we met some lovely people while staying there including Robert who is very helpful for advice if you need any, in the evening you will need to get a taxi to restaurants and bars which cost 500 shillings a time which equates to about £4 each way so that can add up if you want to go out every night.
You get what you pay for and do not expect great accommodation for such a small price.
If you can take things with a pinch of salt then you will be ok here, after a while we got use to it, but if you want to be closer to shopping centre and nearer the beach then this is not for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack...
1 review
“Breathtaking, home away from home”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I was very keen to visit Diani with my family and by sheer luck I stumbled upon Villa Monique on Trip Advisor. Going by the reviews, I decided to make a booking for 3 nights. That was the best decision I've ever made regarding where to stay while on holiday. Everything was as advertised, the Villa is conveniently located within walking distance to the white sandy beaches of Diani. As a family we really enjoyed breakfast and evening meals on the lovely patio. The gardens are well manicured and offer privacy, thanks to the small cooling off pool which my kids enjoyed whenever it got too hot. The supermarkets are just 10 minutes drive, quite ideal for shopping especially for those with families. The Villa was quite clean and spacious with a well equipped kitchen which made it a truly home away from home. Robert who takes care of the villas was an absolute delight to talk to, his local knowledge was quite impressive and his sense of humour, he ensured that nothing went wrong during our stay, even gave us a lift to Mombasa. Not forgetting Geoffrey and Miriam who both made our stay very comfortable.
As a family we will definately be visiting again and again. Thanks for everything folks.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect get-away location”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We came to villa monique looking for serenity and quiet,to unwind away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi and that's exactly what we got. The villa is a few minutes walk from the white sandy almost empty beach and the environment is very relaxing. Robert & Miriam were very kind and helpful during our stay at the villa, they din't mind the pick-ups and drop offs to ukunda. I highly recommend this villa to anyone who is looking for tranquility and comfort. We loved it and we'll be back sometime

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona J
1 review
“beautiful home away from home”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in the Villa. It is a nice spacious house with a kitchen and a big comfortable veranda. The Villa is located near Galu beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches along Diani Beach Road. The house personnel were very kind and helpful in every possible way. We recommend this place a100%.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S
1 review
“It's a wonderful world and this is a fantastic place to be. We loved it!”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Since my wife is originally from Mombasa we came to Diani Beach to have a wonderful time with family and to enjoy a beautiful home away from home. And this is exactly what we found at Villa Monique. If you look for a romantic, cozy, beautiful, well serviced and yet very private place to stay, this is the choice you wanna make. You will find great people like Robert, Joffrey and Miriam who will ensure your comfort and be at your service and yet you have total privacy in a well equipped, charming and very comfortable villa with just a five minutes walk to the most beautiful and empty beach. You can have delicious fish delivered from the local fisherman right to the villa and cook fantastic meals in the well equipped kitchen or you have Miriam cook for you. Supermarkets and other shopping facilities are close by and also a huge variety of restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Sitting at the huge patio of the villa and having dinner or just to relax with the surrounding of the amazing garden is simply stunning. Even family and guests we invited were overwhelmed by the beauty and charme of this place. We will always come back and highly recommend Villa Monique for people and couples how are looking for something truly unique and beautiful. And all that for a great value and a very affordable price. Thank you very much to Robert, Miriam and Joffrey and also the owner Karl. BRAVO!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful atmosphere and the staff
Liked least: nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
thank you ! Karl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing