We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's a wonderful world and this is a fantastic...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
our team Christmas 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
franksJ20...
2 reviews
“It's a wonderful world and this is a fantastic place to be. We loved it!”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Since my wife is originally from Mombasa we came to Diani Beach to have a wonderful time with family and to enjoy a beautiful home away from home. And this is exactly what we found at Villa Monique. If you look for a romantic, cozy, beautiful, well serviced and yet very private place to stay, this is the choice you wanna make. You will find great people like Robert, Joffrey and Miriam who will ensure your comfort and be at your service and yet you have total privacy in a well equipped, charming and very comfortable villa with just a five minutes walk to the most beautiful and empty beach. You can have delicious fish delivered from the local fisherman right to the villa and cook fantastic meals in the well equipped kitchen or you have Miriam cook for you. Supermarkets and other shopping facilities are close by and also a huge variety of restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Sitting at the huge patio of the villa and having dinner or just to relax with the surrounding of the amazing garden is simply stunning. Even family and guests we invited were overwhelmed by the beauty and charme of this place. We will always come back and highly recommend Villa Monique for people and couples how are looking for something truly unique and beautiful. And all that for a great value and a very affordable price. Thank you very much to Robert, Miriam and Joffrey and also the owner Karl. BRAVO!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful atmosphere and the staff
Liked least: nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
thank you ! Karl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willabu
St. Lucia
2 reviews
“Great vacation rental for peace of find or mental retreat”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you are on vacation and want a retreat from the hassles of your job, or a place to be at peace with your self or with your partner, Villa Monique is the excellent choice. You can have breakfast, dinner and lunch on a porch surrounded by a flower garden if you are into cooking simple meals for yourself from the reasonable kitchen as I did. And there is an upstairs room that you can use for meditation or even a small party! Expect small power outages which will sober you up that we are not in paradise but close to! You can also rent a small car for about 2000 Shillings per day to make your personal travel time to the beach or supermarket, or nite club easier. The beach is a five minute drive from the property or a 15 min walk. Its another great place to relax or take a walk on soft golden sands but for the locals its a market where you are expected to buy coconuts or sea-shells or boat trips!! I have said it all so you can decide

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: I liked everything cause I am just a simple individual
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaCutmo...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My second home to chill out and recharge my batteries”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have rented villa Monique twice a year for the past three years. It is a beautiful peaceful place to unwind and relax away lifes stresses and strains. The house is clean and the garden is is very well kept by Geoffrey. The house is cleaned daily by the beautiful Miriam. This is my favourite place in the world. The beach is a 10 minute walk from the house and has a kite/surfing centre that I have learned to wind sail at on my last visit. The supermarket is a short 10 minute drive away. You can hop on a local bus which run along the main beach road. Robert the manager is always on hand to help out and will endeavour to sort anything out for you. Cannot wait to get back to my seond home in the sunshine soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful gardens and easy reach to the beach
Liked least: Power cuts but this is very common in Diani area!!!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe0...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet, quiet villa, can't wait to come back.”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First time in Diani beach for us, I suppose we've been lucky. Villa Monique is a very nice "duplex". Big rooms, nice beds, huge bathroom, full working kitchen, dreamy patio. 10/15 minutes by walk to a beautiful, almost empty, beach. Perfect for kite surf.
Quality/price ratio is ridiculously convenient.
And, there's Geoffrey and Robert. man I wish I could take them back home with me.
We got a lift to the shop, they had the fish monger come by with fresh lobster and fishes that we cooked in-house(so good) and shared all kind of precious infos and suggestions.
The place and people that made a long weekend in Kenya very hard to forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soulandea...
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serenity redefined”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were in Diani for a few days and while looking for a cottage to stay in stumbled upon this property here on Trip Advisor. We have always preferred cortages to hotels because of the homely feeling and privacy this option offers. We were awed by the extreme serenity and beauty of this place. The garden is just marvellous and the cottage in itself embodied the coast feeling while offering comfort at the same time. We stayed at Villa Monique and it was so lovely that we did not leave the cottage except for a few hours during the evenings to explore the surroundings. A small mini jacuzzi type pool is centred between the villas for cooling off as Diani can get very humid which we enjoyed very much. The villas come fully equipped with a functional kitchen which was very convenient. Robert who manages the property has good knowledge of the area and had some good pointers for us. Thanks to him we visited the beach directly near the property as well as other lovely beach restaurants further up the diani beach and attractions.we especially liked the infamous forty thieves beach bar and restaurant, breath taking view and decent prices.
Thank you Robert for the warm welcome you accorded us, for your splendid dry humor and impeccable proffesionality. Thank you Geoffrey and Miriam for ensuring we had all we needed. We will definately be back again and again! We hope to see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exquisite garden gives the property a very homely flair
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie317
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best villa”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thanks for really wonderful and relaxing stay, I've been to a few villas in diani.. But this one won my heart! Will definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone. Firstly I would like to thank Robert for your welcoming heart and making us feel at home ....Geoffrey keep up the good and thanks for letting us enjoy the lovely garden, Miriam thanks as well for checking if we're comfortable every morning. Last but not least is to Karl who we did not meet, thanks for letting the world enjoy the fruits of your sweat at an affordable price, Jackie & Jime

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BR_Idaho
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing & Secure”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wonderful relaxing stay in a lush tropical garden setting. Nice cottage, with fully equipped kitchen. All staff goes out of there way to ensure comfort. A bit of a distance to a full service market, but local cheap transportation is readily available, the beach is a 10 min. walk.
Management can arrange local or distant safaris. Wonderful staff ! if in the area I will stay at Mwangi again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: The linen and towels need replacing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing