We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“quiet, peaceful cottage with great staff”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
our team Christmas 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Yvonne M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quiet, peaceful cottage with great staff”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This was my fourth visit to Diani this year and the third cottage I have rented. Stayed for one week in Villa Mwangi. We were welcomed by Robert with an interesting tipple! I cant fault the garden and the staff were lovely. The villa was clean and the fan and air conditioning was very welcome! I have also received an email from Robert on my return home! The booking process was easy and it is very good value for money, I don't think you could find anything similar for the price. Galu beach is huge and very clean, and we enjoyed a couple of meals at the Fishermans Restaurant there which I can highly recommend, the staff there are very friendly and the beach has fewer beach boys than Diani. It is an easy 10 minute walk from the cottage and there is a local shop on the main road for every day essentials, water, veg, milk and a lot cheaper than the nakumartt! Overall very good value, clean and comfortable cottage. Yvonne and Juma send our thanks to Robert, Edith and Geoffrey for their attention and friendliness

A couple of things that could improve the cottage would be a kettle and if possible, spraying outside the kitchen window for ants. I found the cooker a bit scary with only two burners that would work, some general updating would make a lovely cottage fantastic but I appreciate it is a good price

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting and staff
Liked least: cooker and lack of a kettle
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeKites...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage in lovely gardens”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for just over a week and it was ideal for what I wanted.

The house itself has good kitchen facilities, a bathroom with a good shower and well provided bedrooms. The best part for me was the outdoor seating and dining areas which provided a very pleasant place to relax and eat. The garden area is secure and padlocked and also served by night time security on the road to the house.

The staff were very pleasant and interesting to talk you, being very knowledgable regarding the plants and also very keen to help.

Robert who lived in one of the 3 villas in the group was really helpful with getting some essentials for the house and also personally drove me down to the kitesurf school and introduced me as I was looking for a good place to kitesurf.

He was also very flexible when I wanted to arrange additional days and the whole process was very relaxed.I nearly forgot that Robert was also contactable by Skype and directed me to the house from Diani beach. As the turn off to the house was not going to be clear he had walked down to the main road and met me. Great personal service which was really appreciated.

Overall this is a great place to stay with a kitesurf school and many of the local hotels fairly handy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere in a stunning garden surround
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NYC
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome - Italy
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Copenhagen
Reviewed December 8, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed December 7, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing