We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak I have had in a long time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner - CLOSED

Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner is the only place in Diani to watch sport in a specially designed venue. With 11 TV screens ( including 1 in the gents bathroom ) you wont miss a second of the match. Two decoders enable us to show 2 events simultaniously.We have a great " Diner " menu and our steaks are becoming famous throughout the coast region.Our seperate restaurant serves Steak & Seafood at reasonable prices. all cooked on our unique BBQ in the restaurant itself. Look out for the " Outback at Yibba Yabba Steak & Seafood Restaurant "In short, Atmospheric, great service, large wine list, great food.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best steak I have had in a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

One of the few places that you feel like you are at home. Food was excellent and the owner makes everyone comfortable

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mfpillart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovoYY, Owner at Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thanks Merron, pleasure to meet you on Saturday. Glad you enjoyed the steak and I look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Diani

Cheers
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent sports bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just home from a 3 week holiday in Diani beach area. Had the pleasure of visiting The Yibba Yabba on numerous occasions and was more than impressed, Peter the owner, bar manager Ernest and his staff really do make you feel welcome, and its service with a smile. Prices for both food and drink are value for money, with specials most days. More TV screens than Currys!! for your sports viewing, with all the top games including the 6 nations rugby. Peter, many thanks, will be back next year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chelswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovoYY, Owner at Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Glad to be of service. Great that you took the time to come out of your hotel. So many don't and their holiday is the worse for it. Thanks for taking the time to review us and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit
Cheers
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was here twice. Once with my mother enjoying beer battered fish, which was really good and let me decide to go here for my birthday as well.
The second visit started badly; It took about 15 minutes for the waitress to notice us (after my boyfriend went inside ...). The Pizzas (veggie Pizza to 600, all the others about 850) were delicious and the drinks were served with a lot of barafu / ice. The Cosmopolitan Cocktail costs 500, which was a little disappointment for me, since I read on Facebook about a 250,- Offer. I guess, this was only for some special day or something ... Anyway, I can not agree on the people here complaining about to high prices. Okay, maybe the salad is a little bit so small for 350 ksh, but hey: the prices include free WiFi, clean toilets and TV screens showing some weird sports games.
For people like us, who don't have the urge to watch this stuff, the terrace offers a nice view to a pretty silent parking place. But who cares, when enjoying the tasty Pizzas! The ones from Aniello can not keep up ... ;-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Styria666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovoYY, Owner at Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your review, sorry about the delay in the service. We will try and improve. Glad you enjoyed the pizza. The cocktail was a special offer for a short period but we will do it again. Check out our Facebook page to keep up to date with whats going on.
Thanks again
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sports bar ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Before flying to Kenya we were concerned wether we would be able to watch the rugby 6 nations and premier league football. After some research on trip advisor we found yibba yabba!! We emailed Peter the owner to book a table for 11 of us to watch Liverpool v arsenal, wales v Ireland followed by swansea v Cardiff!!

The bar was a 10 minute walk from our hotel, the diani sea resort. It's located in the diani shopping centre and very easy to find.

Our table was reserved ready for us on our arrival. There are different bars showing different sports on over 12 tvs including 1 in the mens toilets!! Our waitress give us the drinks menu (that was very reasonably priced) then took our orders. A pint bottle of tusker beer was 260ksh, vodka 200ksh and bottles of soft drinks (coke etc) 100ksh. Our waitress was excellent throughout the day/evening.

We wanted a meal later in the evening and asked if they sold crisps for us to snack on during the day. Our waitress informed us they don't sell crisps but after a visit to the chef said they could make some!! They were the best crisps we have ever tasted!! Warm with loads of flavour served with some chilli powder on the side!! Half way through the rugby each table was given a large bowl of salted popcorn. Again home made and delicious!!

We ordered our food at the end of the rugby. Between us we had steaks, burgers, sandwiches and a mac & cheese. Every single meal was amazing!! Portions were huge, all cooked as ordered and excellent value for money.

We also made use if the free wifi within the bar to contact family home in the uk. We spoke to Peter the owner throughout our visit and completed him at the end on our fantastic experience and his excellent staff. If your on holiday in diani beach and looking for somewhere to watch sports or grab some reasonably priced drinks and excellent meal this is the place for you!!

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovoYY, Owner at Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you all again in Kenya. Glad you enjoyed the experience

Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“Fantastic sports bar for food & drink!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Before flying to Kenya we were concerned wether we would be able to watch the rugby 6 nations and premier league football. After some research on trip advisor we found yibba yabba!! We emailed Peter the owner to book a table for 11 of us to watch Liverpool v arsenal, wales v Ireland followed by swansea v Cardiff!!

The bar was a 10 minute walk from our hotel, the diani sea resort. It's located in the diani shopping centre and very easy to find.

Our table was reserved ready for us on our arrival. There are different bars showing different sports on over 12 tvs including 1 in the mens toilets!! Our waitress give us the drinks menu (that was very reasonably priced) then took our orders. A pint bottle of tusker beer was 260ksh, vodka 200ksh and bottles of soft drinks (coke etc) 100ksh. Our waitress was excellent throughout the day/evening.

We wanted a meal later in the evening and asked if they sold crisps for us to snack on during the day. Our waitress informed us they don't sell crisps but after a visit to the chef said they could make some!! They were the best crisps we have ever tasted!! Warm with loads of flavour served with some chilli powder on the side!! Half way through the rugby each table was given a large bowl of salted popcorn. Again home made and delicious!!

We ordered our food at the end of the rugby. Between us we had steaks, burgers, sandwiches and a mac & cheese. Every single meal was amazing!! Portions were huge, all cooked as ordered and excellent value for money.

We also made use if the free wifi within the bar to contact family home in the uk. We spoke to Peter the owner throughout our visit and completed him at the end on our fantastic experience and his excellent staff. If your on holiday in diani beach and looking for somewhere to watch sports or grab some reasonably priced drinks and excellent meal this is the place for you!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovoYY, Owner at Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
So happy you had such a great meal and a good time. We do our best to give everyone what they want and it makes it all worthwhile when we get reviews like this. Thank you for taking the time to write

Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yibba Yabba Sports Bar & Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing