We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Backpackers Ever!”
Review of Diani Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diani Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Vail
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Backpackers Ever!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had a great time at SCB! As a volunteer in Kenya it was a great place to get away for a weekend. The prices are extremely reasonable. It was also awesome to have the option to either go out and grab food or simply get food there. The food was awesome and the staff was very nice and accommodating. We booked last minute and we got a tent which was awesome. The bar was super fun to hang out at and everyone was really nice. All the suggestions of places to go we were given were awesome. Next time I go back I will definitely stay for longer!

Room Tip: Get the Chapati and Nutella for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smstearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    27
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
27
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uddevalla, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a great backpacker place. Easy to meet new friends whenever you travel alone like me, you wont feel alone at all! Nice compound with a great pool and many choices when it comes to if you want to sleep in a dorm, private or tent. Not to expensive and the staff and managers are lovely. I liked this place so much when I was here in 2013 that I came back 2014 and stayed for a long time!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinneaMariaLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I must admit I stayed here a few years ago, tripadvisor only lets me go back 1 year. I found all the staff incredibly helpful, constantly suggesting places.to go and stuff to do! I stayed in the dorm room but was put in the private at no extra cost! What backpacker would complain?! The food was good, there was an order book where you write what you want and the chef will make it happen! Next time I am in Diani I will be coming back! Glad to see this place with so many positive reviews!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Clean and comfortable dorms and facilities (could use a few additional bathrooms/showers), cheap and good quality kitchen and bar, nice swimming pool, close enough to the local attractions while still remaining quiet and relatively secluded, friendly and helpful staff and always other travelers hanging about!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great hostel with a cool community vibe. You will not be alone for long in this place. Louis serves free shots at night and everyone will start partying and eventually end up going to 40s afterwards. The private room with shared bath was a little cramped, but had a comfortable bed and a good moskito net. The food served was cheap, slow and unfortunately below average. But who cares, if you have lovely people around you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vomkiezumdiewelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

South Coast Backpackers are responsible for popping my backpackers cherry and I consider myself an incredibly lucky ducky for having chosen them as my firsts (Its kinda like sleeping with Angelina Jolie/Brad Pitt as your first i think... imagine how you'd feel after right??!)

This is also being said by someone who has called Kenya home for the last 20 years and is regularly really disappointed by his choice of accommodation when it comes time to clear the bill..

In addition to the great value for money and the extras you get all over the place, the whole experience is really just topped off by the Staff and Managers who ensure that whoever you are you feel so warm & welcomed and instantly a part of the SCB family.

Thanks for the memories guys! 5 stars is all I could give you in return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Make sure you make it to this fab hostel. Everything about it is great. The place is amazing, just like a resort for the price of a hostel and just a quick walk to Diani Beach. The atmosphere is great because the staff are fantastic and there is a great range of people there from all over the world. It is perfect for a a fun night out, the bar is fantastic, open 24/7 and also for relaxing days by the pool or beach. Also the food is great, a big range and really reasonable prices. Make sure that you try a nutella chapati. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie9464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
5.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
104 reviews
2.7 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#11 of 65 in Diani Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Backpackers

Property: Diani Backpackers
Address: 1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya (Formerly South Coast Backpackers)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Diani Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More stylish and security conscious than the average backpackers, Diani Backpackers has dorms and privates in a lovely house. Come to party at the 24-hour bar and pool, chill out in the lush garden, or catch up on sleep in the baobab dorm, where beds wrap around the trunk of a tree. There's a volleyball court, great daily menu and lockers. Turn right after KFI supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Diani Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing