We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSTEL IN KENYA!”
Review of Diani Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diani Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Gilgil, Rift Valley, Kenya
1 review
“BEST HOSTEL IN KENYA!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've travelled all over Kenya and stayed in many, many different hostels, hotels, guest houses and apartments but never, in all my time in Kenya, have I ever been anywhere as welcoming, fun, exciting and friendly as South Coast Backpackers in Diani. Whether it's the lovely (and gorgeous) managers Louis, Kevin and Justin, the incredible pool and gardens (complete with wandering tortoises, picture-perfect coconut trees and newly constructed volley ball pitch), the amazing outdoor 24/7 bar or simply the wonderful atmosphere I don't know, but there's something about this place that makes it so hard to leave. The accommodation ranges from basic camping to lovely private en suite rooms so Backpackers is suitable for people traveling on any budget and the fresh cooked food is available from early morning to late at night, featuring daily specials of freshly caught seafood and local produce at amazingly low prices. Backpackers is the kind of place where people come to party - staying up until the early hours isn't tolerated, it's pretty much compulsory! The majority of guests tend to be in their twenties/ early thirties but really as long as you're up for a good time, anyone would enjoy staying here. The staff are lovely, the picturesque palm tree-clad beach just a few minutes walk away and a myriad of unbelievable bars and restaurants waiting just down the road. This is my second visit here and Backpackers is just as good as it was my first time - full of a varied mix of travelers from all over the world and home to a truly unique atmosphere. I genuinely believe I will be in contact with people I've met here for years to come and am already planning my return as soon as possible! For an affordable, exemplary, friendly and exciting stay in Diani South Coast Backpackers is really the only option!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    28
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
28
88
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Southcoast backpackers is super layed back and is the best place to be if you just want to relax and have a great time! The food is awesome and is very reasonable prices as are the drinks and rooms. Everything is very clean and makes you feel at home. The hostel is walking distance from the amazing white sand beach and has a great pool as well. Overall great environment and I would recommend to anyone to stay here! Always something to do and people to hang out with. One of the best hostels I've stayed at hands down!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Diani Beach is a GREAT GREAT place and then south coast backpackers is more BETTER. The beach is very close, they have a swimming pool and awsome staff. I've been there for 10 days in April and now I was coming back to the same place, because I liked it so much. They have good rooms, prices, food and party's. Not only that everything is just good and nice. Just do it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteGELUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

By far the most fun hostel I've stayed in. The environment is great and makes meeting people a breeze. The owners are always willing to put something special together or go a bit out of their way to make sure people are enjoying their time in Diani. With a beautiful pool area and an outdoor, 24hour bar, this place is a great place for large groups as well as solo travelers looking for a place to hang out and relax or meet other travelers. Never a dull moment, South Coast Backpackers is the place to stay if you're looking for a less expensive place with high entertainment value. The beach is also just a short walk away, but you may just end up staying within the compound, as it basically has everything you need. The only downside is most people end up staying longer than planned. You may get sucked in too, so you might want to buy an open return ticket.

Room Tip: The larger dorm (20beds?) is really spacious and better than you'd expect for the number of beds...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Amazing price (meals, bar, and food), great times, five minute walk to the beach, and not to mention all the staff make you feel at home! It is an easy trip into Mombasa for travelers, but Diani beach has enough to keep you happy and busy. Everything is well kept and for those volunteering in Africa I'm sure you will appreciate the toilet and running water!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel7191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilifi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

South Coast Backpackers is an awesome place! I live further up the coast and whenever we hear of people heading to the south coast, we send them there and they always have a great time! Louis and Kevin create a fantastic atmosphere and there's always a bunch of sweet people around to hang out with. Sweet people and good vibes! Congratulations guys, keep it up! Will come back visit soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DistantRelatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My stay in South Coast Backpackers was unforgettable! First, the hostel is one of the best I’ve ever seen (and I went to so many backpackers..) : the villa is really nice, as the rooms, common areas, swimming pool etc... The place has a lot of personality. Then the staff is so nice and helpful : Louis and Kevin are doing everything to make you feel at home, comfortable and they know the region pretty well so they’re providing precious advices. Finally, the chef is cooking delicious meals all day long and the bar of the hostel is selling beers at reasonable prices!
South Coast Backpackers is a big house full of happy people, a charming place with charming people, and I’ll definitely go back there if I’m around!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahd448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
5.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Backpackers

Property: Diani Backpackers
Address: 1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya (Formerly South Coast Backpackers)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Diani Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More stylish and security conscious than the average backpackers, Diani Backpackers has dorms and privates in a lovely house. Come to party at the 24-hour bar and pool, chill out in the lush garden, or catch up on sleep in the baobab dorm, where beds wrap around the trunk of a tree. There's a volleyball court, great daily menu and lockers. Turn right after KFI supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Diani Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing