We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of Diani Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diani Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

for a guy living in rural kenya, diani back packers is THE escape. a comfortable hang out, great food, and a pool perfect for a sunny weekend; i always get my batteries recharged. the management, super friendly and extend the service where needed. i appreciate the warm welcome each and every time...especially the new guests and friends we meet along the way.

-m

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 270 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

I' ve been here about a week longer than I expected and I don't reget any second of it. We had a bouncy castle party for one of the resident's birthday. It got out of control. The staff is great, so it the food and prices. Place gets addicting. Always something going on no matter what you want to do. Come here, seriously.

-DaMon Mosley

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaMon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was my first time staying in a backpackers.... And boy did they put the expectations high for the next place I stay in. Tucked into the beautiful resort town of diani, I couldn't have asked for a better place. The owners and staff are so friendly and welcoming, always doing everything In their power to make you feel comfortable and happy. The house itself was beautiful, decorated as if it came out of MTV cribs, yet still kept it's African influence with wooden carved bunk beds and zebra print curtains. Wether you want a relaxing poolside trip or a drink ....(or several) at the bar.. The property is carefully planned out (and large enough) to fit whatever holiday you want!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at South Coast Backpackers for 4 days and had a great experience. It has the atmosphere of a hostel with lots of great people but its like staying a resort...the pool was gorgeous, the food delicious, the staff friendly and everything was very clean! We stayed in a dorm style room with a great bathroom and hot shower! It was a 5 minute walk to the beach and the people that run the place are super helpful and personable. It was cheap and we got more than our money's worth! I recommend it to anyone going to Diani Beach!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived at the hostel for the first time, I thought my driver must have brought me to the wrong place. It doesn't look like a hostel, it's more like a 4 star resort which I could normally never afford. This place is very good value for the money! The rooms look great, have good beds and are thoroughly cleaned everyday. They also have HOT showers, something you won't find very often in Kenya. There is a nice common room with a large screen you can watch movies on and a kitchen where you can order amazing food. Then there is a big backgarden with a swimming pool and a bar. The bar is a really nice place to hang out at night and have some drinks, which are cheap compared to other places in Diani. But one of the main reasons you're going to have a great time is because of the two owners, who are some of the nicest guys you'll ever meet and are always in for a party. I planned on staying for only one night, but ended up staying the whole weekend. So far I've been there three weekends in a row and I have a feeling there will be more! I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

In one word : unforgettable. Beautiful garden, helpful owners. What a pleasure to have a drink near the swimming pool...I really enjoyed the atmosphere (wich is very chill by the way :p) ! It was the perfect end of my trip ! The food was delicious, beds were comfortable.. Definitely my little piece of heaven. Best choice I had of my trip ! Hope you'll do the same :) !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed at South Coast Backpackers for a week and it was awesome. The food made by the chefs was really good. The buffalo chicken sandwich was delicious and it seemed like years since I ate food like that. Nice facilities with pool, beautiful compound with large tortoises, clean dorms, nice beds, cheap, hot showers, and fun atmosphere. The owners are always around to socialize with the guests and make sure everything is up to par. People are always down to have a good time too and show you around the area. There is a lot of wildlife around which was really cool as well. Definitely recommend for backpackers, volunteers, and travelers in general!

Room Tip: Be happy! Talk to people around and explore the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nshendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,372 reviews
0 mi away
Lotfa Resort
Lotfa Resort
#25 of 29 in Diani Beach
20 reviews
5.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#19 of 29 in Diani Beach
123 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Diani House
Hotel Diani House
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Backpackers

Address: 14 KFI Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly South Coast Backpackers)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: $18 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diani Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More stylish and security conscious than the average backpackers, Diani Backpackers has dorms and privates in a lovely house. Come to party at the 24-hour bar and pool, chill out in the lush garden, or catch up on sleep in the baobab dorm, where beds wrap around the trunk of a tree. There's a volleyball court, great daily menu and lockers. Turn right after KFI supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Diani Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing