We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”

Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Diani Beach
Attraction details
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
285 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Kaya Kinondo is an incredible place. It is an experience that should not be missed if you are in Diani. You have the opportunity to visit the sacred forest of the Digo tribe with a guide coming from the tribe which will explain to you all the hystory and the traditions of the forest. It is a great ecotourism project that deserves support and encouragment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife, grandson and I did a trip arranged with the rep at Southern Palms and it was a really enjoyable experience firstly visiting the village and meeting a lot of people including the medicine mand and then a tour of the scared forest which was both interesting and beautiful.
It is good to see the Digo tribe keeping in touch with their very intersting heritage.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pdjlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A better way to spend a morning in Diani”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A better way to spend a morning! We booked a tour to the sacred forest and the eco-tourism project through our hotel and were picked up by a car in the morning. The driver/guide was excellent, an educated young man, very knowledgeable. We were taken first through the villages off the main highway, then to the village school. Unfortunately, we did the tour on a Saturday, so the children were off, but we toured the school grounds, visited one of the class rooms and were given more information on what the eco-tourism project is all about. Following the tour of the school, we paid a visit to the medicin man and were allowed to interview him with our guide as interpreter. He let us smell all the secret remedies in his array of bottles and vials - a unique expereience! The morning ended with a tour of the sacred forest - a must for butterfly lovers and tree huggers! All in all, it was an unforgettable experience, and we were given insight to sides of life in Kenya we would never have seen otherwise. Recommended!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“And relax...”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very peaceful. Great guides. Old old trees. Difficult to get to, but well worth it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest also viewed

 
Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing