We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$200
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$73
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$130
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$174
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$232
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$344
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
$625
$560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveler rating
389
206
73
40
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
206
73
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolsswahili architecturespice routebeach barbeautiful hotelsouth coastrain showerbreakfast and dinnersuperior roomrooms are spaciousindian cuisinesamosashalf boardguest relationsspecial thanksmain restaurantlarge pool
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 736 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Structurally, the hotel is without a doubt extremely stunning! The breakfast is also quite delicious 

However, and quite objectively, the customer services is absolutely deplorable. In light of hotel’s attitude upon check in, lack of any sense of responsibility/accountability for the initial booking mishap on their end, and the nature of their response to the fire in our room, Swahili is a big NO for me. Most importantly, we will be ensuring our organization is aware of the hazards associated and the potential threat to guest’s lives at the hotel. Detailed account of my experience below.

We booked a two-bedroom hotel for 4 guests, and due to work commitments of one of our colleagues, we were inclined to cancelled one room. So we called, and cancelled one room. The Front Desk noted that the price of the one room would of course change, and that having three people in the room was not a problem. We confirmed that was suitable for us and we’d proceed as such. The Front Desk indicated they would call back to confirm the revised price; they didn’t. We arrive at the airport, and the hotel had forgotten to send an appropriate sized vehicle to pick up all the guests heading to the hotel. We wait for a vehicle. Upon arrival at the hotel, we waited for over 30minutes to be checked in, only to be notified that there was no such agreement for 3 people to stay in the room, adamant that it was against policy. Fair enough—however we inquired why the hotel gave the verbal agreement, or follow up via email to notify us in advance. Without a resolve, we request to speak to the manager. Without an apology or any remorse for the mishap on the hotel’s part, the manager insists we must get an additional single room. We explain repeatedly that we had gotten a confirmation from the hotel re 3 persons staying a superior room and therefore did not make any financial arrangements for another room. After an extensive back and forth, they agree to allow three in the room, with an agreement that they would bring in an extra bed, for which we would pay.

Later in the afternoon, we are in the room, and BOOOM! An exploding sound from the bed! It’s an electrical fire. We rush outside and inform two staff outside and request that they call the front desks, as the explosion occurred next to the phone in the room. We sit outside for about 10 Minutes without a response, at which point my sister goes to the front desk to raise the issue. Fortunately, a few minutes later, an electrician is sent in.

Good on their part, they note that should we be uncomfortable in staying in the same room, they’d be happy to move us. So we agree to move. No bed 3rd bed is brought in the room. At this point, we are trying to make the best of our short 2-day vacation, instead of dealing with administrative nonsense.

We go to dinner, and it literally takes 15 minutes to get our utensils to eat at the buffet.

The next day, the manager comes by our breakfast table to discuss our stay thus far. We express our concerns, noting that beyond everything, it is the lack of concern for the guests, and no sense of accountability on the hotel’s that was frustrating. We requested that consideration be given to a compensation for the issues and unpleasant experience thus far. We see the manager later in the day, and inform that given we were not provided the 3rd bed per the initial agreement noting that there was no need to bring in a bed considering we had managed to sleep comfortably the night previous without one, noting we wouldn’t pay an extra fee for a bed we did not receive.

We go to check out the night before we leave, we are issued our bill, which we pay, noticing a reduce price—so we assumed we were being compensated for the hassle and poor experience the hotel has put us through. NO; the next day as we walk to get our shuttle for the airport, we are called back with another bill—charged the full price for both days, with the additional cost of a bed for both days. Frustrated, we note to the manager this was not the agreement. He is adamant and unapologetic about it all and insists we pay. We are livid. And after 15-20 minutes after, he says we can have a 10% discount. We note that the discount is not the point but rather that we pay what we had jointly agreed to. Afraid we would miss our flight, we pay the bill and head outside for the shuttle. Of course, there is no shuttle  despite having informed the night before of our flight time. We wait about 10 minutes, still no shuttle. So we pay for a private taxi and head to the airport. Oh, what a vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peaceloveflowerssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us at Swahili Beach Resort.

I am pleased you found the aesthetics of the hotel and the breakfast to your liking.
It is however, very disappointing to read the account of your experience at various levels of your interaction with the team.
Our Front Office Manager John Gitau, who met and dealt with you during your stay, has briefed me on the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
I assure you that the failures in resolving your complaints fast and efficiently have been addressed.
The electrical fault that occurred in your room has been diagnosed and rectified.

We take guest feedback very seriously as it helps us to improve our guest's experience.
It is my hope that, despite the less than exceptional service, you will give us another chance to showcase the 5-star service that we are known for.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

Best regards,

Jeff Mukolwe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, buffet restaurant for evening meal was average but everything else outweighed this. The A la carte restaurants and bar on the beach were absolutely superb.
We booked a safari to salt lack through Andrew at the hotel and he was extremely helpful and provided a fantastic service.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, particularly if you like wildlife. The monkey around the hotel were extremely funny and provided a lot of amusement and entertainment which just added to the whole experience. We were upgrade to a suite towards the end of our holidays as we had problems in our bathroom.
I am hoping to come back and would definitely come back and stay in one of the suites next time.
Thank you everyone at Swahili Beach for making our stay so unforgettable.
For everyone reading this review I would rather come back here than the Caribbean for future holidays particular in October, there is more to do outside the hotel and the weather was far better, it was just all-round excellent as value for money I hope that in the future Kenya becomes more stable for future holiday makers

Room Tip: Executive suites are the best and higher floors have great views and if you like monkeys you are bound to get visitors
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed 8 days at this amazing place after a week with friends and some days on Safari. A perfect place to just relax, swimming, snorkelling and visit Mombasa.
The architecture of the hotel reminds you to the fairytale thousand and one night: The rooms are very nice decorated, the style is Arabic and in its simplicity very modern with a touch of romance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. In the spa you get good treatments and the view from there to the sea is stunning! In the restaurant you find a mix of African, Indian and continental cuisine and all the time life cooking. Two times a week you can enjoy dinner in the garden with life music. Thanks for the perfect holiday feeling! We would love to come back!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeannette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Swahili Beach on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the top marks.

We are especially pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
The entire team works hard to ensure our guests have a great stay.
We are also glad that you took time to visit our Spa for a treatment and went out snorkeling in the Marine Park and even had time for a visit to Mombasa.

We hope to have the opportunity t o host you again soon.

best regards,

Jeff Mukolwe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

Please improve your WiFi, its the best Hotel in Diani but the WiFi my god! Its non existent. Do something about it. The beach is good by the corals and the high tides makes it almost impossible for bare feet stroll along the water, otherwise Thumps up :)

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Mohamed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you rate us as the best hotel in Diani, but disappointed that the quality of our WiFi was a big let down.
This is a challenge we accept exists and are urgently working on a solution.
The beach is constantly evolving and we have put in a lot of effort to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy it.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Jeff Mukolwe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

We had very good stay at this hotel. This was a week of rest after safari trip. Rooms are very nice, especially those faced to swimming pool. The only thing to improve are bathroom, Im not a fun of traditional swahili bath place.
Staff was very helpfull, I would recomend restaurant at the beach.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite with ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobertKli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for branding us 'The Best Choice At Diani Beach'.

We are glad you had a great stay with us and found our staff very helpful.
Our Barharini Beach Restaurant is a favourite of both hotel guests and Diani residents and your thumbs up is confirmation of this.

We hope to host you again soon.

Best regards,

Jeff Mukolwe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews