We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great resort for a peaceful and relaxed holiday great food great location and the most amazing pool streches from the reception all the way to the beach with white smooth sand .Rooms were amazing and spacious with the most amazing sunken bath and rain shower with mellow swahili accents the TV channels were not working and service needs a silight attention but nevertheless this is my location of choice everytime I am in mombasa and hours flight from nairobi and 5 mims drive to the hotel from the ukunda airstrip with every thing close to the hotel supermarket pharmacy shopping etc

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Al-Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 634 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our last stop on our Kenyan safari/beach vacation. If you are planning this type of trip, do the safari first!!!! You will have lots of early mornings and riding around in the bust gets your dirty and wears you out. Having the beach at the end is the perfect way to unwind.

Swahili Beach resort is beautiful! The cascading infinity pools is so unique and nice. It almost affords each guest to have their own private pool if they like which we really enjoyed. The main pool is huge and has a swim up bar which every resort should have in my opinion. The beach area is fantastic and allows you to lie under the shade of the palm trees if you like or out in the sun. There is a restaurant/bar down there which even gives you service while you lay there.

Our room was huge!!! The bathroom and shower was just unbelievable. I know want to remodel my bathroom into something like this. I cannot say enough great things about our room. We enjoyed having the outdoor patio along with the sitting area. We were on the second floor facing the pool and could see it along with the water. It wasn't the best of views of either due to all the trees and vegetation but I am not going to complain because walking around I appreciated them for the beauty and shade.
The only real negative I can write about this place was the drink prices. They were very inflated in my opinion. It was not abnormal for our bar bill to be twice the price of our food during meals from me and my girlfriend and that was just from having 2 bottles of the cheapest wine they offered. The mixed drinks averaged about $10 a piece and I often wondered if it even had alcohol in them. This is why I marked down the value a point. Also, we never really figured out why they did the billing the way they do also. After every round you ordered they brought you another receipt to sign and bill to your room. Why they didn't just run a tab and sign at the end, we never figured out. We would sit out on the beach all day (in the same chair), order a few rounds of drinks along with food and end up signing 6-7 receipts instead of one at the end. It seemed to put more stress on the servers and very inefficient going back and forth bringing receipts as opposed to taking and bringing out orders. The last thing I will mention are the beach boys. They exist everywhere but I just get so annoyed by them. The second you start heading from the safety of the resort to the water, they come after you. They can be pretty relentless and will sometimes even follow you out into the water. You have to be extremely direct and then resort to ignoring them for them to finally leave. This will seem impolite, especially for folks from the U.S. who are not used to this type of thing.
Even with those small issues, I would highly recommend this place and would go back again in a second.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yehonatan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

They make it worth it for every penny you spend. everything about this place is awesome.From location to staff everything is perfect. the food is lovely and wow their swimming pool is amazing. it is the best holiday location both with family or solo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have just read several reviews that mention the owner and his attitude towards guests and rules Some suggest changing the management as if it is all thier fault I can speak from personal experience about this hotel and management But to avoid any possible legal action will simply say sometimes managers in hotels are hindered by owners intervening/interfering The hotel opened December 2012 and in those first years is now on its 5th manager So little wonder the staff are poorly trained with the inconsistency of ever changing regimes Ihasten to add Mr Keli the owner in himself is a very nice chap but at times too laid back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank TREVxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a real mixed bag so let's start with the positives.

Great pool
Lots on offer for foodies

However the cons
Any holiday is made with good we'll trained staff this is where they are struggling.
The pool bar opens around 11am ish! Bit late when people at the pool from 8am. Staff at the bar look bemused when ordering more than a coke, order a cocktail and they are completely lost and clearly don't want to make it and will not have the ingredients to do so!
This hotel also has 2 further restaurants on the beach serving tappeniaki/Italian/chinease and bar food. Most of this food comes out of the same kitchen as restaurants are over two floors but staff do not know the menus/opening times/what's on I.e. Bbq's etc. all staff desperately need training, when you place an order you get the feeling it's not right..and sure enough another member of staff will appear to re take it, this happens at every meal time, very frustrating but ultimately amusing. Also items on the menu that they do not do which amused the staff, if you don't do it take it off.
The rooms are ok, the air on units liked to relive itself of water every now and again, no-one came to look at it, the bathrooms have soap,shampoo dispensers which look dirty and rusty and don't really dispense! You get 2 robes which only fit size 8 people, lamps don't work and there are nice coloured glass candle holder dotted around the bathroom but only used t lights in them so why bother having them.

Trying to find your room in the dark as there aren't any lights on the paths or by the signs for the room numbers.

I suppose this is the problem, if this is 5 star then all the little things like good toiletries, efficient and well trained staff and everything should work. We came off Safari from bushtops which is 5 star to swahili beach which was a pretty much empty hotel so staff should be attentive and they missed an opportunity to showcase themselves, at best 4 star but performing as a 3. I have read other reviews and all point to managements need to put these issues right but obviously do not care to read reviews. Shame could be a good hotel

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is one of the finest resorts I have stayed in.

Pros:
- the exterior is an architectural beauty
- very nice swimming pool
- great breakfast with varied choices everyday
- the complimentary tea was delicious
- they were very kind to give us a complimentary late checkout till 2pm which enabled us to enjoy our last day
- staff was very friendly

Could improve:
- rooms felt average when compared to the exteriors of the hotel. We stayed in the standard room which did not have a sofa or wardrobe. The shower cubicle did not have a soap stand and the bottom had turned black
- hot water was not consistent, in the middle of the shower water would become cold then extremely hot
- dinner we felt lacked variety especially for vegetarians. The desserts were very nice though.

Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We just got back from the most amazing trip! We stayed here for 4 days after our 6 day safari. The hotel was absolutely stunning, the rooms were large and extremely comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The pool side was the highlight.. the views were amazing and we really did get to relax after a busy 6 days with the early morning starts and game drives. The manager, Amani, he was most helpful. We saw him on a daily basis around the hotel talking to guests and making an all round effort to make sure everyone was happy and on our last day, he kindly extended our stay for a late check out due to our late evening flight. we did really appriciate this greatly as we did not have to worry about packing early and leaving our luggage. We got to use the room and its facilities until 2 hours before we were due to leave and got to stay around the pool area/restaurant for the remaining time. I will no doubt chose this hotel again when visiting Kenya. Very memorable stay, so much so that I had to write a review. Thank you again Amani and all the other staff at Swahili beach for making our stay so comfortable! And also breakfast is amazing!!!! We also made use of the spa and booked some treatments, staff were very professional and my hour long massage was worth every penny! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
445 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,548 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range: $200 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing