We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning Hotel, Abysmal Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel, Abysmal Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Overview

Aesthetically beautiful hotel, stunning pool, very good food but unfortunately appalling management.

Stayed in december 2013:

Wifi did not work

Air conditioning in rooms was ineffective

Nothing in minibars!

No toiletries in rooms, you would expect these with the rates being charged

Very impractical shower gel/shampoo/soap bottles throughout hotel

Struggled for hot water in the showers each morning

No bath towels in rooms once the room had been serviced, had to beg for these

No cupboards in certain rooms, just open closets where dust gathers easily

Shocking top level management where we had to beg for good/normal service.

Only 1 room key per 2 persons permitted, where in the world have you experienced this?? Mr. Amani sort this out asap

No shorts allowed in dining room in the evenings yet the owner can ignore this rule at his behest
Nobody ever in the pool hut when requring towels, complete mess

Table tennis/pool/darts area – completely run-down, darts snapped, ping pong bats broken

Cocktails: do not order at this hotel, ordered a ‘purple rain’ at the xmas dinner which tasted like chemicals and then a day later to give the barstaff a chance ordered a ‘strawberry daquiri’ which even according to food and beverage manager Griffin tasted off

We were on half board status yet seemed a huge issue to swap lunch for dinner or vice versa
Two sittings for dinner on occasion from 7-8.30pm and 8.30pm onwards – mis-judged, too little time for first sitting and when hotel is not full no need for this policy

Swahili ‘beach’ hotel: where is the beach????? they need to clean up the beach/sea, other hotels do it, why can’t this one, no wonder none of the guests ever ventured beyond the beach restaurant baharini

Inaccurate claims: our group had 8/9 beers by the pool and were asked to sign for 17!! shocking

On a positive note certain staff deserve a mention:

Mwapara: excellent especially during breakfast however he had too many duties and was expected to cook, clean, go to the kitchen to get more supplies etc.

Diego: great service also, thanks

Summary:

this could be such an amazing hotel, it has all the infrastructure to be so but considering it is only 2 years old and the management/poor training given to staff is this low already currently i only see this hotel closing down in a few years if not less unless there are some serious lessons learned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray_London_U_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    124
    58
    24
    16
See reviews for
131
155
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Having stayed away during the Christmas holiday season, we treated ourselves to a weekend break at the Swahili Beach Resort. From our initial greeting to our check-out the whole experience was just perfect.
There is a stunning entrance area with fantastic coconut tree furniture, check-in was hassle free and we were shown to our upgraded rooms which was a 2nd floor suite. This sure has the WOW factor, we were amazed at the size of the bed and the unusual bathroom which was the biggest I have ever seen.
On the first night we ate in the Majilis Restaurant, food was very good but nothing in comparison with our meal the following evening in The Spice Route which is Indian cuisine of the highest standard. It was amazing. Breakfast also was very good and the lunch during the day at the Beach Bar was pretty tasty as well.
The Spa again is superb and well worth booking in for one of their 60 minute massages, direct access onto a white sandy beach with very little beach boys around.
Would make this my No1 hotel on The South Coast for sure, will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marym062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I had sent my parents there for their 32nd anniversary for one night. They had a fantastic time. The hotel is beautiful with plush interiors and architecture! Surrounded by water - yes, huge pools. a sign of peace and tranquility. One of the best! And the service was too good! Special kudos goes to the front desk team managed by Mr. Julius Kariuki, Salma and Caroline. Everything went according to plan, and my parents had a well spent anniversary - one of their bests! Highly recommended! Not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mevarvany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

New hotel with amazing service and views, food was also very good especially if you decided to go for the specialist restaurants. Watersports really well organised and most important they had a really good kids club. I plan to go again next christmas. Donot eat the food from the main restaurant and pick a room facing the sea.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view on the ground floor. Use the spa. Donot eat from main restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanjiru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

spent 2013 Christmas and New Year at this hotel for our family reunion, which we have every 2yrs. we were 18 of us. some came from Australia, some from Nairobi and rest of us from London. had been looking forward to this holiday as had heard and read good reviews about it. to allocate our rooms, it took them 1hr! we were only 11 that day as the rest of the party arrived the day after. were so tired, after a long flight and just wanted to go to our rooms, freshen up and sit by the pool. that was day one and were looking forward to a hassle free holiday, but NO, not a single day went without any problems. when people say white sandy beach, wonder where that beach disappeared, as we only saw coral and lots and lots of seaweed, not white sand! when you go for half board option, it does not mean that you can only have dinner and not opt out for lunch some days! the rooms were nice, but the bathrooms are not designed for elderly guests. the concept of a slanting bath, is quite dangerous and slippery. another thing, the guests were not allowed to wear shorts in the dinning area, but the OWNER of the HOTEL WAS!! how ridiculous is that. the owner and his son would be loitering around in the hotel but when you'd go and tell them about some issue, the owner would say, that just enjoy now, come and tell me later. WHEN LATER, WHEN IT'S TOO LATE! he did not want to know anything. would suggest that they change some people at the top in their management team! would not recommend to anyone. they made us feel like beggars.

Room Tip: would not advise anyone to go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sumarria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

great place with white sand and beautiful beaches and pools. However, there does seem to be an issue with management and the pricing of food is quite expensive for similar stuff you can eat outside the hotel.

i would suggest that management takes a closer look at the quality of service?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuks555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This as stated in a previous revue is a stunning place but in short it is selling itself short Some say the food id good but to anyone who has eatern in a good restaurant in Europe it is fair to middling It is fast becoming just another South Coast hotel in Kenya Such a shame So with that thier is little more I can say

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beltanefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
1.6 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Property: Swahili Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provides its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing