We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening buffer and good food good pool service could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great evening buffer and good food good pool service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Was at South Beach for three weeks but not at Swahill but used all the facilities a lot during that time. Would suggest to any one from outside to go there for the evening buffer great value at 2k and great choice of food best value I had in Kenya. Ate at the fish restaurant and that was great value had a five course fish meal for 2,700k when twice for that.
Pool area great as every one said but service really needs to improve and they need to treat out side guests better as other person has noted.
Would go back again no issue and hope that the service improves but sorry to say in Africa not sure how you do that.
Had breakfast and again that was great value at 1,200 which includes coffee juices and normal booked etc all that you want. Sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrthomaslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    159
    63
    29
    16
See reviews for
153
199
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

terrible management. Rude managers. We had someone in the party who required a wheel chair once and they wanted to charge us to use one!!! We had booked half board and only had the option of having dinner and could not choose between lunch and dinner as they did not do a buffet lunch. this is supposed to be a 5 star facility. The pool menu had about 6 items on it out of which one was vegetarian. The cocktails were appalling. Junior staff were very good but they did not have powers to make decisions and management did not care. We were in a group of 19 and it seemed that everything that we requested was too hard and when they did oblige it was as if they were doing us a favour even though we had paid for it. And check your bill very carefully as we were charged for more than the double amount of beers once and to get that bill sorted was a mammoth task. We had to pay new year eve's supplement and the band stopped playing at 11.45. Would never return to this hotel and would not recommend it either. Beach was full of weeds and there was coral everywhere so we could not use the beach. Wi-fi did not work anywhere in the hotel. Food was good and the rooms were clean. That was the only positive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perth08Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel in it self is very beautiful and luxurious, but the service is terrible. The staff is very friendly, but if you expect 5-star standard you will get disappointed. The wi-fi was not working inside the rooms. The took the dirty towels, but forgot to give us new. Very good food in all the restaurants, but expect to wait for at least 50 minutes for you food. At the buffet, we got our wine glasses by the time we were finished with the main course and the wine wasn´t served until during dessert. A couple in our group got engaged, and it took the staff 40 minutes to find a bottle of champagne. The bartenders cound´t mix other drinks than standard GT, and had a limited selection of spirits.

All in all: Exterior - 5 stars, service - 2 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jørgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent New Year here with our 2 children. It is fantastic. The staff are so attentive and made us feel so welcome. The pools are lovely. The rooms are beautiful. The food is fantastic. All we want to do is go back again as soon as possible! I also made use of the spa which is great, with open verandahs overlooking the Indian Ocean. The food was excellent - such a huge choice and something for everyone. We will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent food and best beach, great swimming pool, lovely spa and good choice of restaurants. Enjoyed my 4 days stay and hope to visit it again some time. Disappointed with the internet and communication facilities but it is a newish hotel, so understand the teething problems

Room Tip: You won't spend much time in the room. Not my favorite decor but they were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Baharini (beachside bar) had fast become our favourite place to hang out in the evenings sipping on cocktails. We'd never had a problem until last night. We showed up as had become the norm, the 3rd night in a row, 2 girls in a rental and were rudely denied access! But it didn't stop there. The guards at the gate rudely demanded to know our names & have our passports. Obviously confused by the rough demand of such documentation at the gate (which had never been required previously) we declined & asked to speak to the Duty Manager. We were kept waiting at the gate (between the main gate & the barrier) for about half an hour before he showed up with additional security!! We explained our predicament & were disappointed when it became obvious he was more interested in sweeping the matter under the rug. He was not in the least bit concerned about losing us as regulars. Nor did he ask his rude staff to apologise for their terrible behavior. Having wasted an hour at the gate, being treated like second class citizens we declined his offer to get in but requested to enter and turn our car around. To our amazement, rather than allow us entry to enable us turn the car, the main gate (behind us at the time) was opened for us to reverse onto a busy road. There was no apology, no promise of a change in behavior. Needless to say this experience has put a sour taste in our mouths & ruined what was once our favorite beach bar. That terrible customer service ruins what would otherwise be a great place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Impressive, impeccable, amazing set up. One just thinks of paradise on earth. This is by the the best beach hotel i have seen in Kenya..

Did not get a chance to sample the cuisine as i was a visitor, but the appearance and idea of so many small pools for privacy is great.
Just ordered tea with snacks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.6 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Property: Swahili Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road | Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing