We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed with my family (parents, brother and fiance') for four days in August. We found the hotel to be beautiful and well equipped. The staff were helpful and accommodating.

Upon arrival, Julius K was efficient in checking us in and giving us a brief overview of the hotel and facilities. We were offered cocktails and shown to our rooms.

The rooms were large and comfortable with AC, fans and mosquito nets. The bathroom was spacious and unlike other reviews had no issues with cold showers!

We were informed of afternoon tea between 4-5 pm which was free of charge to all residents. Three members of our group don't eat eggs and the chef was kind enough to offer eggless alternatives to the snacks already provided.

We also found the pools and pool bar to be lovely!

Overall, the service was very good and they went beyond their means to ensure that our stay was pleasant as well as ensuring our special requests were met and exceeded.

We look forward to visiting in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla2point1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    126
    60
    25
    16
See reviews for
131
161
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is just fantastic! The architecture is very swahili and the entire hotel is just absolutely beautiful...quite scenic. The staff are friendly and helpful.

We stayed at this hotel for four days with some of my colleagues and we all loved it.

We were well received with a yummy cocktail and a cold towel, they had some tea and pastries ready for us, and the check in process was pretty smooth.

The rooms are just beautifully done and so spacious. No one complained of any noise outside their rooms.

The food was amazing, we especially loved the pizzas at the beach bar and the main restaurant also had good food.

The pools are beautiful and the poolside service was pretty good, towels were availed and the waiters were always on hand to refresh our cocktails..:-)

The spa was just perfect, I had the best massage.

The hotel is very conveniently located near quite a number of restaurants, beach bars, supermarkets, banks.

Check out was also pretty fast and no complaints on the bills.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, it may be a bit pricy but well worth it.

I had an amazingly fantastic stay. I will be back for another stay soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriamwende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a company event at this place and I must say we were very pleasantly surprised. We were very impressed by the scenic beauty of this property and were even more impressed by the quality of service and friendliness the staff provided to our group.
The food was amazing, especially the seafood choices at dinner. At the breakfast buffet, the indian delicacies like chana bathura, potato wada, etc were so yum and well prepared, with a very friendly chef at the live kitchen.
They have a few options for team building activities. We tried the pool volleyball and darts. The staff member responsible for the activities was very friendly and was very helpful in setting up the events.
I tried the Spa and the Gym and was happy with the service I received at both these places.
The beach was a bit of a disappointment with the seaweeds covering most of the area.
I am definitely visiting this place very soon with my family. Don't want them to miss a place like this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in November 2012. The resort had only just opened and as the owner said, "we are finding our way". The hotel is stunning, with a great beach bar and a brilliant swimming pool. We had a 'Suite' that just sheer luxury; needed a map to negotiate it! The facilities and staff were excellent. At the time of our stay, the restaurant had a lot to improve upon. In fairness, it was early days for the hotel. We are very familiar with Kenya as our Son lives in Mombasa.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the suites are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice as well all the hotel staff. The food was excellent and rich in varieties. I would advice it for a week maximum. The only negative point was the presence of see weds but unfortunately April is not the lucky season. If u are resident you get a better price!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadiatumaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I will start by saying that the Swahili beach hotel looks amazing and the infinity pool is very nice.

I visited this establishment with a couple of my friends earlier this year to check out the pool as a friend had recommended it. We got to reception and asked the lady there how much it would cost to use their pool facilities for the day. She didn't seem to know how much it would cost and left us standing there will she consulted somebody else (or perhaps to find out from the manager if it would be okay to let us through?) A few minutes later she returns with the figure which I thought was quite steep considering you can pay half that at any of the neighbouring facilities. However, since we were already there we thought why not.

We got to the pool closest to the beach with receipts it hand and went to the 'kibanda' to get towels where we were told they would be brought to us shortly. 15 minutes and 2 visits back to the kibanda and we still had not gotten towels. We literally had to stand there and wait while to found some for us.

The pool is very nice and we had quite a bit of fun sampling all the different sections. However, there was a guest there swimming with her baby in diapers (eeewwwwwwwwwww!) and when we mentioned this to one of they staff they simply ignored our concerns.

We ordered lunch and it took forever to get to us. I hate to go there but it seems that the hotel staff are more anxious to serve the tourists than they are to serve locals. All in all it was one of our less enjoyable visits to the hotels in the South Coast which my friends and I are fond of sampling.

I am giving this hotel a 'poor' rating simply because I haven't had the opportunity of sampling the rooms, even though my first instinct is to give it a 'terrible'.

I actually was checking Trip Advisor for reviews on this hotel as one of my friends from the UK asked me to check it out for them and give my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelicdisgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is fairly new so is in immaculate condition and very boutique in style.
Bedrooms and bathrooms are large, selection at buffet was great and changed daily.
This is defiantly 5 stars and doesn't charge for its gym unlike Leopard beach.
The only downside is it only has a very small beach but to be honest the swimming pool compensated for this as it is massive but stylish too with the top pool being an infinity pool.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandajanex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
1.6 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Property: Swahili Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provides its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing