We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

While the setting is stunning, the service and food are really a big let down. My wife and I booked for 8 days but moved out after 2. A pity because our first impressions were good and the view was lovely. Then a comedy of errors all coming down to badly trained staff and an unwillingness to address our issues. Internet access a joke, Buffet food really poor. Guests treated as a problem. Getting a drink by the pool really difficult...go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwahiliBeach, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are a little stumped with this one!

In looking through our system for February we cannot find an eight night booking leaving after only two nights. We are certainly not being asked to make any kind of refund. We have looked at all the two night stays in February and cross referenced these against guest comments held by Guest Relations and drawn another blank.

Our research leaves us with the view this is a spurious review and we would like to hear more from Alex C so we can look into the service allegations made and respond more appropriately as well as take the necessary remedial action.

Please e-mail your dates in February to gm@swahilibeach.com.

Many thanks,


The Swahili Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 651 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to this beautiful property, however things have drastically changed since the last 8 months. We were very excited to go back to Swahili Beach resort and even booked it for 10 days, however the service level has down like how. First of all, even if you book the superior deluxe room, you would still not get the basic things like a body lotion, sewing kit, vanity kit or even the dental or shaving kit, which you get by default in all the other hotels across Kenya. There were no bathroom slippers provided in the room. When we asked for the same, we were told that only those who book the suit, get all these extras.
Since I had gone there for 10 days, I was expecting to work from the resort itself but the so called free WIFI was awful. Not even one day it worked properly. Except FOOD, which was FANTASTIC, everything else has gone down. Even the waiters at the Baharini restaurant were not very polite.
I have always maintained that the place is really superb but the service levels need to go really high, if they want to go for a long run.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwahiliBeach, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I sometimes worry about the motive behind a TripAdvisor review when hotel management is available around the clock to deal with guest issues as they arise. It seems the policy, these days, is to stay quiet and then try and discredit a facility from the comfort of home. In this particular case, the reviewer mentioned dental and shaving kits to the front office manager when the front office manager called around ten minutes or so after check in to see if all was well. The reviewer was told we do not supply these items.

As far as the other requirements there is no record of them being raised. We maintain a comprehensive log, with Guest Relations, of all guest comments, requirements and room maintenance requests. As a repeat guest he is aware of the amenities provided. In room 9, the one the reviewer and his family occupied, there is shampoo, conditioner and body lotion provided in the round glass jars adjacent to the rain shower.

The free WiFi is provided by a Diani Beach based ISP. As with all networks, just look at the Diani Beach service provided by the two major mobile telephone providers, the signal comes and goes. During the reviewer’s stay there was a period of two days where the network was slow, an issue we took up with the ISP.

If the reviewer would like to elaborate on any other issues he is welcome to e-mail gm@swahilibeach.com.

We have been judged harshly and unfairly on the complimentary issues, not the actual service standards and overall experience.


The Swahili Beach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

When you walk into Swahili Beach, you are wowed, but not with the service. The pools are amazing!!!!! There's nothing like it. The rooms are beautiful, clean and I absolutely loved the bathroom design. The light system in the room/bathroom cold have been a bit simplified :( It shouldn't take you minutes to figure out how to turn on a light.
Room did not have a room service menu or contact extensions on how to get to room service. I dialed the universal "0" and was rudely informed to dial a different extension. No kidding, we started our room service quest at 3:00pm and did not get through or responded to until around 5:20pm. At this point we had given up and decided to go eat downstairs at the restaurant. As we walked into the restaurant, we were greeted at by two employees at the hostess stand. We asked if we should seat ourselves and they said yes. We found a nice table on the outside terrace and sat down. 20 minutes later, nothing, no one. Finally we called on to a waiter who plainly stated that the restaurant was not open until 7:00pm. "Oh!" What else can you really say? Why didn't they tell us that when we walked in?
Swahili Beach seriously needs to step up their service game by a million notches. The friendliest staff, the only friendly staff that I encountered, were the ladies from the gift shops. These women have a gift in helping you spend money there. Very attentive and very willing to assist.

Room Tip: I would have loved to go check out the spa, but was so afraid of what the service would be. Maybe so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwigaNairobi, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. Clearly the issues highlighted raises a few concerns which need to be attended to as there appears to be a breach of our operating procedures relating to welcoming guests to their rooms.

I had a look at our guest comments log for February, maintained by Guest Relations, where all comments, good and bad, are recorded for follow up and remedial attention where required. Unfortunately, I could not find any reference to the comments raised regarding Room Service and The Majlis Restaurant.

All guests upon check in are escorted to their rooms by Guest Relations or Reception personnel who also provide a briefing as well as demonstrate light, air-conditioning and television controls. They are also encouraged to point out the Kenya Conciege magazine in the rooms which has a number of pages dedicated as a Hotel Directory; an inherited media which is being replaced with a more traditional information guide.

Each room is provided with a comprehensive welcome letter in which hotel information, including extensions, restaurants and their timings, evening restaurant dress codes, bars as well as conservation information relating to the primate visitors.

If we failed then we have developed a deficiency which needs to be corrected. I will be happy to receive further details - gm@swahilibeach.com.

The rest of your stay seems to have passed without further incident.

Best regards,

The Swahili Beach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived here after two days on safari in Tsavo. The journey was long bumpy and hot but as soon as we arrived we were greeted by lovely friendly staff given cold towels and cold drinks and checked in. We felt welcome from the second we arrived. The receptionist was lovely despite my husbands teasing and we were shown to our rooms.What beautiful rooms and so large. Polished concrete and lovely wood. Very large bed in a beautiful feature setting against the wall. Desk and seat, and more than ample electric points throughout. The bathroom was huge with sunken bath and seperate shower with large rain head, toilet, bidet and twin hand basins. Lovely twin seating area raised and cushioned beside the large opening doors to the balcony which was swathed in bouganvilla. Room had a fridge and kettle with coffee tea etc replenished daily. The gardens gently sloped towards the ocean with a total of 7 beautiful infinity pools. After the large top one the smaller pools were surrounded by bouganvilla, lehua and other tropical flowers. Great for my husband a non swimmer, private, warm and fantastic views over the infinity edge to the ocean. The beach was relatively private with loungers, towels and plenty of shade from palms and umbrella's. The ocean was lovely and warm but not that good for swimming, nice rock pools. The hotel had an Indian feel with domes and arches in that style. The main restaurant was of buffet style with huge choice for everyone. Supplemented with 'live stations' cooking fresh food to order. The food was fresh and of very good quality. The restaurant manager was very friendly and attentive and always willing to help.They even accepted our request for chocolate salami dessert on our last night. Ali cooked a great omelette at breakfast and various dishes by night. The afternoon tea was always very welcoming after a day round the pool. The hotel ran a small but interesting 'animation' department run by Rodgers and his assistant Peter, great fun ending in Boccia at 5. Great staff throughout and sorry can't mention them all by name. This is truly a wonderful 5* hotel in beautiful settings. Sunrise over the ocean and visits from the vervet and collubus monkeys in the boabab tree outside our door made it special. Sadly we were there just 5 days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from a Safari followed by a superb stay at this hotel, and what a Hotel it was ! The decor was tastefully stylish whilst retaining a very relaxing feel and the pools were fabulous. We could not have hoped for any better service, the staff were always smiling and their attention to every detail was outstanding.The restaurant manager chatted to us every day and was attentive to our every need. The rooms were simply gorgeous and the food exquisite! Rodgers was great at providing daytime entertainment if you wanted it but was never intrusive, the whole team were so lovely and our whole experience made even better by the lovely people we met too, tea at 4? you know who you are!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

An amazing relaxing place!!I would go back again and again! However i feel obliged to point out a very crucial thing about the bathrooms/shower which we found to be very slippery and potentially dangerous. Non skid mats should be placed in the showers to prevent falls ASAP!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IAfetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwahiliBeach, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

We have identified a product from Belgium which has a number of exciting properties one being anti slip but still retaining the 'Swahili' feel. We have used the product on a few rooms and are more than pleased with the look and feel. A supply will arrive towards mid-March and we will soon start to work on the bathroom areas, in particular the showers.

We look forward to seeing you back and showing you the shower floors!


The Swahili Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a family we had lunch under the palm trees right on the beach. The grounds are simply stunning and the views spectacular. The many infinity pools are lovely. The barbecued food was mediocre except the pizza which was delicious. We did not see the rooms but the entrance is lovely. The beach was also a disappointment with rocks and weed. Overall a beautiful well thought out layout in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CossyWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#14 of 29 in Diani Beach
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range: $176 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing