We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bucket list” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bucket list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

A must visit,beautiful cosy rooms,amazing architecture,very swahili arabic chic.
The restuarant could do with more work,service was very poor but overrall a must visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakew00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    126
    60
    25
    16
See reviews for
131
161
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Lovely hotel with great grounds n lovely rooms. Need to work on restaurant service n the meal variety. Otherwise a lovely paradise and would not hesitate to reccomend. Snn

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were a group of 15, who travelled in April 2012. This hotel has just opened around Christman 2011, so we thought to try it out. South Coast (Diani) is generally quieter compared to North coast, so good place to relax. Swahili Beach Hotel and Resort has breath taking views and architecture. The lounge and bedrooms are very well furnished and pleasant to stay at. The food (both veg and non-veg) options were good and the chefs were freindly. In case the buffet didnt suit you, they catered for you any meal that you would request which was helpful.
The service however, still needs improving. I felt the service was short of catering for large groups as the problems we faced included:
a. Our transfer to hotel from Ukunda airstrip was given to another group, so we arrived at the hotel all squashed in 1 car (7 people + 8 bags)
b. Only 2 bottles of water in TRIPLE rooms?? Surely if you're paying for a 3rd person in the room, they are entitled to the same service as first 2 guests
c. Pool assistant (Moses) was ignorant of us.

Other than these issues, we had a really good time.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very spacious and clean. However, some rooms may not offer the beautiful Sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mithul_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

In my opinion this is the grandest hotel on Diani in terms of the architecture:

Positives:
The most amazing swimming pool
a great Pizzeria by the Beach
Cold beers
Spacious Rooms
Chic Decor
The head chef ensured our veggie diets were well catered for

Negatives:
The hot & cold water mixing did not work well in our room
service was very slow, though once you planned with this in mind it was ok
the beach has a few coral outcrops so footwear recommended on the beach
not great value for money as the hotel was not fully operational when we went.

We had a really nice time besides a few hiccups, which at this stage I would write it down as opening snags (the place opened in Dec 2011) and will definately go back again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhagesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Some of the reviews I have read about Swahili Beach must have been written by the owners. For the price we paid we got very poor service. The hotel is only partly finished. The food at the main dining area is of poor quality, would not be served at a 2 star hotel and the quality leaves a lot to be desired. There were only two main dishes on offer, Few vegs no cold cuts. The staff need training as it it appears that most are on attachment. The hotel has many flaws. A/c very ineffective. Spa although advertized, non existent. Wifi no connection. Business centre no computers. I could carry on and on but I am sure one gets the idea of our frustration. The cost of rooms the most expensive and the hotel has been opened although it is not completely operational.

Room Tip: It may eventually turn out to be excellent but in its present state give it a miss as it is not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank liamtonyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Not many things are working in this new hotel. It looks great but service is as poor as it gets and the hotel really has a misleading / dishonest website which fails to mention it is still a work in progress.

We were booked for a week but left after 2 days of problems, poor service and endless delays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva2009
Level Contributor
497 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

having spent a week, i think i saw all possible child illnesses of a new resort / hotel.
staff uneducated, slow even for african countries. no wi fi despite many promisses, great pool, but spa not yet operational, toilets leaking, breakfast and diner buffet always something missing.
people are smiling but inefficient as you can be. General Manager (british) does not have yet a grip on things. currently 33 % occupancy rate, yet staff is stressed and can not provide service as promissed. wait a couple of years before you go there.
don t be cheated by local reviews done by employes and friends...

Room Tip: don t expect wi fi or any service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
1.6 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Property: Swahili Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provides its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing