We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful outstanding place for your vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful outstanding place for your vacation”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When my daughter and I arrived at Kitu Kidogo Cottages we were amazed. It was even better than the photographs on the website. We received a warm welcome from Edith the Housekeeper who continued to be extremely helpful and kept the cottage in immaculate condition.

The decor is beautiful and the cottage very well kitted out. We found that it was so restful on the outside patio that we weren't rushing to the nearby beach, bar or restaurant.

An excellent experience, so much so that I will be returning with my partner at Easter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Gladwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was a good stay, Comfy bed and a fresh water showers. Some places near by used Filtered saline water, thats a real bore.ly sticky and even the sheets were washed in salt so having fresh sheets and pure water was a big plus. Hey and we drank the water too,

Edith who managers the place was a real sweetheart. She able to do your washing and pressing as well.

Just a short walk to the beach down the lane to 40 Thieves Bar. You need sandals for this as there are a few stones. Internet is difficult to get and not cheap if you need it.

if you want surf its a little way away. The beach there is good . Lots of good restaurants $5 by cab away.

A nice private place. Also if you wanted a bigger place or a second group there's a larger house in the same compound.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayalShah, Manager at Kitu Kidogo Cottages, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of Kitu Kidogo. I am glad that you enjoyed the luxury of fresh water which indeed is such a rarity on the Kenyan Coast. Nothing like feeling fresh after a shower or sleeping on fresh sheets.

I would like to mention that we now provide free high speed (Wi - Fi) Internet. You will now be able to access internet from anywhere on our property.

We look forward to hosting you again

Kindest regards

Payal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place was amazing. It's a beautiful cottage right by the beach maybe a 2 minute walk to the ocean. It's location is great as it is tucked in giving more privacy. Security is also good here and an important factor. Beautiful outside patio to BBQ and relax. Very clean, cleaning staff is extremely helpful, and it's located next two places that you must visit; Forty Thieves Beach Bar and The Cave Restaurant. I would highly recommend this place, I had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nshendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed there for a week with some friends, its such a beautiful home and so close to the beach and has almost everything you would,a a great kitchen, two beautiful rooms and a great sitting place outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A beautiful and lovely house to stay in near to the beach and the famous Forty Thieves Beach Bar and Ali Babour Cave Restaurant. Nice housekeeper and cook available for an additional cost which is well worth it. We were slightly disappointed upon arrival because the housekeeper was not there (due to a death in her family) and the house had not been thoroughly cleaned w. cobwebs and lizard poop clearly visible despite the efforts of the cook, Monica. However, Edith, the housekeeper, came the next morning and thoroughly cleaned the place and attended to our needs. She makes everyone feel welcome and actively maintains the place. We lost water each morning around 8am but she took care of the problem and even had the plumbers out our second day looking into it. Just watch out for the bush baby who came into the small house at night and ate our bananas and mango!! A lovely secluded getaway perfect for a single or a couple.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayalShah, Manager at Kitu Kidogo Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sahani Cottage (1 BR) and liked its close proximity to the beach and the Forty Thieves beach bar and the Cave restaurant. I would like to apologise for our housekeeper Ediths absence on the first day due to her sisters death. We normally do advise our guests to put everything in cabinets or the fridge when going to bed due to the resident bush baby. I will put a sign up for future guests ! I am extremely happy to hear that you found the spot secluded as our main aim is to provide guests with privacy and exclusivity. With regards to the geckos (lizards) we clean up as much as we can (daily basis) but living in the bush does not make it easy. They are part of the environment and will come into the cottage occassionally.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I Stayed at Kitu kidogo with a few friends and must say that I have never lived in a more beautiful house. It is absolutely stunning and the coastal forest it is in just makes it even more perfect. In terms of comfort the beds had good quality mattresses so we slept very well. The kitchen was fully equipped and very clean. Edith the housekeeper was great too. It was only a few minutes from forty thieves and the beach so the location was very convenient. I would advise anyone that is going to diani to relax to check themselves into Kitu kidogo cottages

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha32122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Beautiful cottage near the beach, forty thieves bar, the cave,.. The outside lounge area is great to relax, have dinner,..just wonderful!
The cottage is beautifully decorated, very comfortable beds, the shower is amazing (with fresh hot water!)
Edith, the cook and housekeeper does a wonderful job, she makes the guests feel at home and cooks great meals!
Conclusion: if you go to diani beach, stay at Kitu Kidogo!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophie_vdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#9 of 63 in Diani Beach
60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Club
Ocean Village Club
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitu Kidogo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitu Kidogo Cottages

Property: Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitu Kidogo is an exclusive holiday retreat tucked away in a coastal indigenous forest that has been around for centuries. It comprises of two beautiful cottages made out of coral, sandstone and wood showing off the various textures of the ancient Swahili coastline. Each cottage is dressed with intricately hand carved Lamu furniture, Rajhastani and South African soft furnishings and Afghani and Ethiopian wool Rugs. The walls reflect our travels around the globe. Each wall piece has been carefully selected to fit in with the theme of the cottage giving the spaces an exotic but at the same time a harmonious look. The palm lamp shades highlight the beauty of each piece with its soft glow. What the cottage evokes is memories of the old Africa influenced by the spice trade route! Kitu Kidogo is ideal for families, groups and couples. If you are looking for comfort, style, privacy and personalized service then this is the perfect holiday home for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kitu Kidogo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing