We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”

Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the beach front within Almanara, this breathtaking piece of architecture is both stunning and unique. The sweeping sails and curving beams create an ambience unparalleled on the east coast of Africa. Executive Chef Luke Doig & his team are on hand for lunch and dinner to bring to you a variety of international flavours perfect for any mood. Fresh seafood is delivered daily by the local fishermen, allowing guests to sample all that the Indian Ocean has to offer.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The only disappointment was we could not make a dinner resevation as they were fully booked for the whole time we were in Diani, so lunch it was.
A super setting on the beach in a rather contemporary style and of course the sail sunshades that give the place it's name.
A near perfect experience!
Great food
Fantastic service
Knowledgable efficient staff
Perfect setting

It's no wonder the place is busy, the quality of the overall experience speaks for itself.
Will we be back? oh yes but next time we will book early.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swimmingwithfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Owner at Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you had a "near perfect experience" at Sails and we hope to see you back again soon.

Please do book in advance - especially during December - as we hate to turn people away!

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    34
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a classy setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've been to Sails twice, once for lunch about 6 months ago, and now very recently for a dinner, and were very impressed on both occasions. The food is excellent - every one of the seafood dishes we had was very tasty and fresh, without being too pretentious. The setting is stylish but at the same time quite relaxed, so it's a perfect spot for a romantic dinner right by the beach, or for a casual lunch with friends.

The service was good, and house wine very nice. The prices are reasonable, considering the high quality of the food, and I would say place is particularly good value for money. The only downside I can think of is that the menu is quite small, so it might get a bit boring for frequent visitors, unless they change it up regularly.

Sails has definitely become one of our favourite places to eat at on the South Coast, and we would warmly recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BushBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Owner at Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you had two great meals at Sails. We always love to welcome customers back.

Just so you know, we have a weekly menu - with the new one beginning each Wednesday. Most of the "favourite" dishes are always there, with a new dishes added each week.

We hope to you see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

this place is simply the best regarding the South Coast. We have been there three times in two weeks and were simply happy. Fantastic sitting, chief who really cooks to the outmost, didn't even bather to cook something that was not on the menue any more, had prawn tempura all over the world, but this one is simply the best ever
being a well experienced chieg myself, I know what I am talking about...this place deserves michelin, spoons and hats from everybody. looking forward to be back in may, Ulli & Joseph

Helpful?
Thank UlliWZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely setiing, good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Set almost right on the beach in a very interesting structure from which Sails gets its name I assume. The food was first class and the service was also very good. We were there with good friends for lunch and it was a most enjoyable hassle free meal at reasonable prices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CossyWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

After reading the reviews on here, thought it would be worth a try. Got off to a bad start with the security guard claiming the restaurant was full and refusing to open the gate. Hope it was the cheap rental car and not the colour of my face that caused this. A call to the chef sorted that out and we went in. Any decent restaurant should cater to vegetarians, but Sails only had one pasta, a soup and a salad. None of which were any good. On a positive side, the sea-views are great and the beach is nice. Would never recommend Sails to anyone though, you can get much better food at lower prices at many other places along Diani Beach.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SukhSingh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Owner at Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Sails. However please allow me to explain how we operate.

Sails works on a reservation basis, and on that day the gate had been advised that the restaurant was full. This is why they informed you of the same. Further to this, it is standard practice for all guests to be held at the gate while we confirm their reservation or indeed availability.

It is also necessary to hold and search each vehicle before they enter. This is an important security measure that we and all other hotels carry out.

When you called our Chef - he noticed that a table had left early and so advised you that you may come in. As we only have one seating at Sails, it's common that we can take walk ins even if we have been fully booked - providing guests have finished early.

Regarding the selection of food, we are advertised as and known to be - mostly - a seafood restaurant. However, we have a large number of vegetarians that ask if the Chef can prepare something off the menu and we always oblige.

After you finished the Chef came over and asked how your meal was - and you advised him that everything was okay.

I do hope you choose to visit us again soon and we will aim to provide you with a positive experience.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing