We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations don't count here.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diani Campsite and Cottages
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reservations don't count here.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I called the morning before arriving in Diani and sent an e-mail asking if any rooms were available. Originally I wanted to stay at the campsite, but when I learned there was no hot water, my friend and I decided to stay in a cottage for 1,000pp. The next morning we arrived in Diani from Nairobi. Andrew had told me the previous day we won't be able to check in until around 10am. At 8am I spoke with the manager who said a room will be available as soon as someone checks out, probably around 9am, I also asked if there were rooms available the following night and he said there should be. Instead of waiting around, my friend and I decided to explore the town for a little while. When we came back, the manager said to us that honestly they had no rooms available because the people who were suppose to check out didn't, and he couldn't kick them out. So he suggested that we go next door to Diani Banda, which is the same price. When we arrived at Diani Banda, we found the price was not the same it was twice as expensive. So the manager at Diani Campsite lied to us.

So basically we wasted our morning waiting around, only to find there were no rooms available and we had to go somewhere more expensive. Despite being more expensive, Diani Banda is worth it, the owner and staff are much nicer and would never overbook their rooms. I would highly recommend Diani Banda, after we told the owner Diani Campsite told us the prices were the same, she was nice enough to lower her price a little bit :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Star C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

i stayed here for a week with three friends last year. we had the two bedroom with a kitchen, and loved it! it was nice to get some groceries and cook in a few nights, rather than having to eat out all the time. there were basic amenities to cook and store food, which was great.

the location was awesome- only about a 3 min walk to the beach. although there aren't seaview rooms or anything like that, you're literally only a few steps from the white sand. the pathway leading to the beach is always dotted with hawkers, but they're friendly. we were in a group of 4 girls, and never felt unsafe or worried in this location. also- there's a salon and massage place right there along the path, we got $5/1 hour massages every day...which is a must! one of my friends also got her hair braided there, too, and it turned out great (make sure you bargain, though, they always start ridiculously high)

no real complaints with the rooms. everything was clean and spacious, easily big enough for all four of us. there's a nice living room area in addition to the kitchen and two rooms, making the whole thing nice and open. all of the rooms, regardless of size, are placed around the pool, which is nice and convenient for everyone. some people i know said it was a problem because everyone would be partying by the pool late into the night, but we never had anything close to that during our quiet stay there. i know there's also a problem with monkey theft at this property, so just keep an eye on all your shiny valuables....and money.

the staff was super friendly. the owner let us keep all of our things in his office, and use it as a room to change and get cleaned up until our bus left late that night (we couldn't stay in our room for an extra fee because it was already booked). he didn't charge us to hold our bags, nor to use his office as our own domain, which was nice. also, i lost my debit card in transit, so it took us a few days to get him all the cash to pay for the room. he was completely understanding, and not pushy about the situation, which was another nice surprise.

i know a lot of people stay at Diani Backpackers, and i've had a lot of friends love their experience there. but, for the trip we did, we found Campsite to be much more up our alley- less partying, closer to the beach, but at a higher price. split between all of us, it wasn't bad, and personally, i'd rather spend more to be near the water than save a few bucks and be half a mile away.

i will definitely be back there!!

Room Tip: get a room with the kitchen if you're staying for longer than just a day or two! it definitely o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and felt at home in our en suite double with kitchen. There was a problem with the ceiling fan in living room which we reported but nothing was done before we left so it was pretty hot during the day. Also, the mosquito net in the bedroom blocked the air coming from the ceiling fan in there so during hot nights it is not very pleasant. We woke a couple of times during the night to take a shower (cold water only). It was nice to be able to cook and the staff were friendly for the most part. The location is about 200 meters from the beach so there is a lot of foot traffic and some hawkers even harass you while you're in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the reception for more privacy and internet access from veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here with a large group. Plumbing doesn't work and toilets don't flush. No hot water and the water trickles out of the shower at best. The Management would say they fixed the issues when you reported them but they never did. Towels and sheets are filthy. They overbooked and kicked us out of our room the last day. Staff is unfriendly. If none of these are a problem for you then enjoy. Location is about 75 yards to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Guest Relations Manager at Diani Campsite and Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We would like to first clarify some matters as depicted here,we do understand the plight of hot water was there at the time but that was in relation to a specific cottage and furthermore was due to a technical fault and given that equipment such as heaters are sourced from Nairobi it may have taken a day or two to fix same applying for the pressure pump but that matter was resolved and all cottages have hot water presently and enough water flowing through.Your remarks about the sheets strikes me as not true as clients sometime demand sheets changed daily and the policy is after every two days.We apologise though for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diani Beach hotels

London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Shocked to read other peoples reviews about this campsite as we had a great time! It was very quiet when we were there only us and one other tent, we stayed 4 nights and had no problems. Good location 2 minutes from the beach, the campsite has fridges to use which is always a bonus, and seating areas which is nice, showers are fine, a basic campsite really. The guys helped us put out tents up when we arrived and lent us mattresses and pillows. There is not the highest level of security on the site, fences and gate aren't that high but the security guard at nighttime was so friendly and nice we never felt unsafe, and there is a safe to keep any valuables in. The bar does good food, shows the football and there is a fruit shop 5 minutes walk up the road. We had a great few days laying on the beach!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Portal, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had to stay here for ten days. Due to a severe skin-burn I couldn't drive to another place for more than a week. On arrival the place seemed nice. It looked safe, showers (cold water only) and toilets were simple but ok, there was a cooking area with power and a fridge (!). Campsite is 5 minutes walk from the beach. They are growing trees but those are still small so little shade to put your tent. Price is 1000 KSh (10 euro) per person, regardless of being a Kenyan, EA-resident or foreigner. If everything would have been perfect I would have found the price on the higher side but acceptable.

Unfortunately things were not perfect. The staff makes sure only guests and staff are allowed on the campsite which is good, but when things still get stolen it means that the staff themselves are stealing. On top of that there are very annoying velvet monkeys around that grab food from your tent or even plate. At night a 'watch'dog is running around your tent because he (or she) is still a puppy. The guard likes to go through the fridge at night. One night we were the only guests on the campsite and in the morning we found a big bite out of our cheese, gross!! Another guard told us in the morning that we should keep our one year old son quiet at night, where did he get the guts to tell this to us!

When talking to the manager about all of this he couldn't believe it and just said that we were just making this up so we didn't have to pay the bill. We hadn't even mentioned anything about payments!
The owner finally came in and paid for our losses and apologized for the behavior of his 'manager'. As soon as I was able to drive we went to another campsite nearby in Tiwi beach. I have put a review about that one too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primatetoursuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Guest Relations Manager at Diani Campsite and Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
It is truely unfortunate that you chose to put up this review but all the same,your case i remember vividly.First off about the price,charges have always been 400 per person and half price for children and if i am not wrong there was two adult and a child.some complaints here even make no sense at all such as the monkey issue because monkeys are all over diani and clients in the camp are always fore warned to be careful especially food stuff,we also have a disclaimer on personal effects that unless a client gives us belongings to keep in the safe he/she should take care of it himself.There has never been a time the watchman on duty went through the fridge and your cheese was obviously biten by a monkey because they nibble on everything they find lying around and if they dont like it they leave it there.Our guard dog is always restrained and is only opened when doing laps with the watchman therefore that complaint is invalid. The watchman your are speaking about didnt say anything of malice to you except he was concerned that other campers and neighbours were agreived with the noise and no report was brought forth that morning.
I recall you raised a complaint about a phone missing and it ended up being mixed up with your belongings and when found it was evident no theft occured you had just misplaced and again on the day of departure you claimed theft of your phone which later turned up to be with your wife who had just forgot where she kept it, so really the theft issue..invalid.
The owner never paid for your losses and it really did turn out you didnt want to pay and only paid after realising your accusations were untrue and that your phone was with your wife she just forgot where she put it.it would just seem all your have written in your review is untrue,except the cold water,but due to public demand that was adjusted.
such a shame you would give such a misleading review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We came here by chance - called the Stilts, they were full and gave us the details for Diani Campsite. And we really thank them for that!
We were welcomed by Andrew, the manager's son, and our cottage was perfect: nice bed, big room, good shower and an amazing terrace with a sofa and couches. And tonnes of sweet cats, the friendliest ones we've seen in Kenya. Which, in our opinion, says something about the people running the place.
The staff is helpful and smiley, and Andrew helped us with everything we asked for, including chasing the monkeys that were interested in our food... The swimming pool is clean and nice and the beach is practically outside the place.
The restaurant is affordable (relatively, Diani is ridiculously expensive in comparison with the rest of Kenya), try the Nyama Choma. There is also a supermarket nearby, which is nice in case you have a cottage with a kitchen.
We will definitely come back next time we come to Diani, already miss the place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SONJA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
0.8 mi away
Kaskazi Beach Hotel
Kaskazi Beach Hotel
#31 of 32 in Ukunda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diani House
Hotel Diani House
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
#33 of 64 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
#15 of 64 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galawa Beach Apartments
Galawa Beach Apartments
#40 of 64 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shambani Cottages
Shambani Cottages
#4 of 20 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Campsite and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Campsite and Cottages

Property: Diani Campsite and Cottages
Address: Opposite Diani Beach Post Office | Kenya, Coast, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Diani’s Best Kept secret and beauty," a quote we cherish here at Diani Campsite, Winds Bar & Restaurant. Located in Diani Beach. Near The Post office, On your way to the Beach, Diani campsite Winds Bar & restaurant has its kept secret of beach location with ease in accessibility and nearness to the main Shopping Centres in Diani. The Campsite has both Three Bedroom Cottages, Two bedroom cottages, One room Suites and tents for Camping. There is an active bar and restaurant that will offer the extra entertainment communication and Relaxation. Availability of a Broadband wireless internet connection at a fee of kshs 5 per our Clients The very best connectivity for work and home communication. The New Campsite with great capacity and modern camping equipment. Bahari Conference : Good for Meetings and hosting of functions, Kaya Beauty Parlour & Massage, Winds Bar & Restaurant – and The Health Bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing