We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor management and safety”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diani Campsite and Cottages
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had to stay here for ten days. Due to a severe skin-burn I couldn't drive to another place for more than a week. On arrival the place seemed nice. It looked safe, showers (cold water only) and toilets were simple but ok, there was a cooking area with power and a fridge (!). Campsite is 5 minutes walk from the beach. They are growing trees but those are still small so little shade to put your tent. Price is 1000 KSh (10 euro) per person, regardless of being a Kenyan, EA-resident or foreigner. If everything would have been perfect I would have found the price on the higher side but acceptable.

Unfortunately things were not perfect. The staff makes sure only guests and staff are allowed on the campsite which is good, but when things still get stolen it means that the staff themselves are stealing. On top of that there are very annoying velvet monkeys around that grab food from your tent or even plate. At night a 'watch'dog is running around your tent because he (or she) is still a puppy. The guard likes to go through the fridge at night. One night we were the only guests on the campsite and in the morning we found a big bite out of our cheese, gross!! Another guard told us in the morning that we should keep our one year old son quiet at night, where did he get the guts to tell this to us!

When talking to the manager about all of this he couldn't believe it and just said that we were just making this up so we didn't have to pay the bill. We hadn't even mentioned anything about payments!
The owner finally came in and paid for our losses and apologized for the behavior of his 'manager'. As soon as I was able to drive we went to another campsite nearby in Tiwi beach. I have put a review about that one too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primatetoursuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Guest Relations Manager at Diani Campsite and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

It is truely unfortunate that you chose to put up this review but all the same,your case i remember vividly.First off about the price,charges have always been 400 per person and half price for children and if i am not wrong there was two adult and a child.some complaints here even make no sense at all such as the monkey issue because monkeys are all over diani and clients in the camp are always fore warned to be careful especially food stuff,we also have a disclaimer on personal effects that unless a client gives us belongings to keep in the safe he/she should take care of it himself.There has never been a time the watchman on duty went through the fridge and your cheese was obviously biten by a monkey because they nibble on everything they find lying around and if they dont like it they leave it there.Our guard dog is always restrained and is only opened when doing laps with the watchman therefore that complaint is invalid. The watchman your are speaking about didnt say anything of malice to you except he was concerned that other campers and neighbours were agreived with the noise and no report was brought forth that morning.
I recall you raised a complaint about a phone missing and it ended up being mixed up with your belongings and when found it was evident no theft occured you had just misplaced and again on the day of departure you claimed theft of your phone which later turned up to be with your wife who had just forgot where she kept it, so really the theft issue..invalid.
The owner never paid for your losses and it really did turn out you didnt want to pay and only paid after realising your accusations were untrue and that your phone was with your wife she just forgot where she put it.it would just seem all your have written in your review is untrue,except the cold water,but due to public demand that was adjusted.
such a shame you would give such a misleading review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We came here by chance - called the Stilts, they were full and gave us the details for Diani Campsite. And we really thank them for that!
We were welcomed by Andrew, the manager's son, and our cottage was perfect: nice bed, big room, good shower and an amazing terrace with a sofa and couches. And tonnes of sweet cats, the friendliest ones we've seen in Kenya. Which, in our opinion, says something about the people running the place.
The staff is helpful and smiley, and Andrew helped us with everything we asked for, including chasing the monkeys that were interested in our food... The swimming pool is clean and nice and the beach is practically outside the place.
The restaurant is affordable (relatively, Diani is ridiculously expensive in comparison with the rest of Kenya), try the Nyama Choma. There is also a supermarket nearby, which is nice in case you have a cottage with a kitchen.
We will definitely come back next time we come to Diani, already miss the place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SONJA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Great place for a beach holiday with children, or just for two. No seaview, but the beach just steps away. Twelve simple cottages, and space for a few tents. The place is clean, the beds good with mosquito nets and fans (no AC). Cold showers only, but who needs a hot shower on a tropical beach. Most cottage have a fridge and a kitchen that is better equipped for breakfast than preparing a gourmet meal. Supermarket at walking distance (even in the heat) and the bar and restaurant onsite provide decent meals and drinks at very reasonable prices.
The staff is great, especially for kids.
Google their website for the latest prices, and expect very good value for money. Fully booked for Christmas years ahead.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaktariMzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Por el precio que pagamos nos cambiamos al lado en otros cattages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseksurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackurfaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivitaycoleando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diani House
Hotel Diani House
#19 of 29 in Diani Beach
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
#36 of 69 in Diani Beach
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diani Blue
Diani Blue
#3 of 69 in Diani Beach
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diani Pearl
Diani Pearl
#32 of 69 in Diani Beach
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diani Beachalets
Diani Beachalets
#7 of 69 in Diani Beach
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
#12 of 69 in Diani Beach
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Campsite and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Campsite and Cottages

Address: Opposite Diani Beach Post Office | Kenya, Coast, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: $20 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Diani’s Best Kept secret and beauty," a quote we cherish here at Diani Campsite, Winds Bar & Restaurant. Located in Diani Beach. Near The Post office, On your way to the Beach, Diani campsite Winds Bar & restaurant has its kept secret of beach location with ease in accessibility and nearness to the main Shopping Centres in Diani. The Campsite has both Three Bedroom Cottages, Two bedroom cottages, One room Suites and tents for Camping. There is an active bar and restaurant that will offer the extra entertainment communication and Relaxation. Availability of a Broadband wireless internet connection at a fee of kshs 5 per our Clients The very best connectivity for work and home communication. The New Campsite with great capacity and modern camping equipment. Bahari Conference : Good for Meetings and hosting of functions, Kaya Beauty Parlour & Massage, Winds Bar & Restaurant – and The Health Bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing