We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coolest eco experience ever.”
Review of Stilts Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stilts Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Coolest eco experience ever.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If you want a camping type experience in Africa but some of the services of a hotel? This is your place. Although its hard to find, its is quiet and secluded. You experience the wildlife up close. We had regular monkey raids at night that were far more entertaining than scary.

The beach is a ten minute walk across the street. There is a good and locally famous bar and restaurant there. The lodge also has good food and the staff is helpful. Just understand what an Eco lodge is before booking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    28
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
52
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place it just wonderful! I can highly recommend to make your reservation here if you want to enjoy your holiday, experience wildlife and with a low budget. At two minutes from the beach, here is the place where you want to be. Great service and nice food.

Room Tip: Don't leave your food inside your room. Monkeys will break the wall, come inside and eat it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at Stilts for three nights and had a great time staying in a treehouse. Staff were friendly and helpful, the treehuts were cute and comfortable and the main hang out area was very chilled and relaxing. A few things we especially liked were:

* the directions on their website on how to get there by Matatu and ferry were spot on and easy to follow. It cost two of us under 250 shillings to get there from Mombasa as opposed to 2000-3000 by taxi!
* there are guards posted outside who will walk you up the driveway (if you are getting off a matatu) or back from 40 Thieves at night - this made us feel much safer as we had read a couple of negative reviews. We had no problems with security at all staying at Stilts.
* there is now wifi there! 300 shillings for use throughout your stay.
* we asked and were able to have a bonfire one night - we loved cooking our own sausages and roasting marshmallows over the fire.
* the wildlife you can see around is really cool - monkeys and bush babies and lizards etc....

We would definitely stay here again (although would perhaps pick a different time of year - June wasn't quite as hot and sunny as we would have liked!)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank K18281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place was a highlight of our trip. We were just popping up for a long weekend from Uganda and wanted some place cheap to stay that wasnt far from the beach, but that had some character. Stilts fit the bill - a fraction of the price of other places in Diani, and treehouse accommodation that felt very secure and friendly. Its just a short walk to the beach, and if you move at night they will lend you their askari to walk over the road so that you feel safe.

It was really fun sleeping up in the trees, with the monkeys peering in the windows. The only thing that might have improved it was to have a double bed - all the treehouses were twin set up.

Also - excellent showers! A rarity in budget accommodation.

Andy the owner wasnt around when we visited, but the rest of the staff took great care of us. They sorted out day trips and reservations at the exceptionally good cave restaurant across the road. They really went above and beyond when I stupidly left my Ugandan cash in the safe - they managed to send it by mobile money to a friend of mine who was coming back to Uganda later and could bring it to me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMayersohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miltown Malbay, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I can highly recommend this place if you are planning an awesome beach holidays with a low budget. Stilts Backpackers is an unique backpackers, I have never seen a hostel like this before. The tree houses make you feel as if you were living in the middle of the jungle, the monkeys are very easy to spot all around, so the sunis, tiny antelopes, the beautiful sunbirds, the blue butterflies....

The breakfast time was one of my favourites, the food is really good and Ray,the cook, is excellent. And all the staff there: Tim, Jane, Shek...were very helpful and friendly.

Also one of my favourites moments was the sunset time, when we used to feed the bush babies with bananas in the pub while enjoying a cold drink with some starters before dinner time.

The beaches are neverending, white sands and turquoise and aqua marine waters, palm trees, coconut trees, crabs, coral reef, colorful fishes, starfishes, octopus, moreys, sea anemones.... palm roofed cottages, camels strolling the beach, wonderful weather, friendly people everywhere, locals always happy to see tourists....

The highlights are go sailing and snorkeling with the locals in the typical boat, the dhow, made with a local mango tree, and of course visit Wasini Island and Kisite Marine Park, absolutely amazing!!

It was very easy to make new friends there, and all the guests who stay in Stilts use to be very interesting travellers, with amazing adventures and stories to share, very friendly and open minded people, no matter the age or the country where they are from.

I really had a very nice time and felt very comfortable, thanks everybody!!

Room Tip: The tree houses don't have a bathroom ensuite, but the share facilities, toilets and showers, ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stiltsdiani, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello Carmen,
It was great to have you staying. Thanks for the many ideas and the excellent paper you wrote on "Things to do in Diani". We have posted it on our site. We now also have free wifi, you were right, it certainly helps!!
Hopefully we will see you in the near furure.

Take Care and happy travels.

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemont, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Although I did not stay at Stilts, I contacted Andy by email (I'm from Canada) and requested if he would please send a bottle of wine for my daughter, partner and friend as a gift from me and charge my credit card.

Andy was quick to reply and said that he would be very pleased to respond to my request...even though he did not have the debit/credit card facility to accept payment. He was very generous and kind enough to provide the bottle of wine, free of charge, on the house for them! What a wonderful gesture and wonderful service!

I appreciated his kindness and customer service...THANK YOU ANDY! Cheers!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EvelynS442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stilts was SUCH an amazing experience. Sleeping in tree huts with playful monkeys outside was a fun and exciting experience, not to mention the serene beach atmosphere. The main area was SO laid-back, lots of couches, seating, books, a community guitar, and free coffee and tea in the morning! You also HAVE to try their curry dishes-incredible! It's a 5min walk to the beach and the employees or so kind and accommodating. I also must mention, the owner. Andy George has gone to such great lengths to make sure that I receive my journal that I had left in my hut when I left back to Canada. After numerous efforts to send it, he eventually had sent it back with a couple from Canada to be sure I got it back. I don't know anyone who would put so much time to helping one little Canadian girl get her journal back. This man is now dear to my heart and I won't forget him. Have a blasy!!!

Room Tip: Get one of the tree huts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KELLIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 65 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilts Backpackers

Property: Stilts Backpackers
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*****SEE RATES BELOW***** Our accommodation consists of 5 Tree Houses and 3 cottages and a camping area. As well as a Restaurant/Bar and Lounge area where we have Bush Babies visit us every night at 7:00pm. The Tree Houses are built out of native materials off the ground in the tree canopies, they do not have their own bathrooms. The rate for the Tree houses are: Single Ksh 1,800 per night, Double Ksh 1,400 per person per night and Triple Ksh 1,000 per person per night.Camping is Ksh 600 per night with your own gear or 1000 with our tent mattress and bedding included. The cottages have their own bathrooms and Fans, still basic but part of our surroundings. The cottages are Single Ksh 3,000 per night, Double Ksh 1,800 per person per night, Triple Ksh 1,400 per person per night and 4 people Ksh 1,000 per person per night. Cheers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Stilts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stilts Backpackers Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing