We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend Stilts to everyone!”
Review of Stilts Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stilts Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would recommend Stilts to everyone!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stilts was a great relaxing place to stay if you are travelling along the Kenyan coast and hit Diani. The treehouses were a fantastic experience, and our friends who stayed in the cottages also had a nice comfy stay. The staff, especially Jane, are always helpful and friendly. The kitchen staff are fab, the food is great (especially the money saver - good taste and great value for money). It's a 10 minute walk to the beach, which is amazing! As it is an eco place, there's lots of nature to see - monkeys, baboons, bush babies, ssssnakes, red squirrels.... was a really great place and encountered no problems!! Definitely would stay here again if I was back in Diani.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMFUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    29
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
53
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have stayed here twice before and would definitely go again. The staff are lovely, Jane is great fun and so welcoming. The tree houses are brilliant, such an experience. You can even sleep out on the balcony if you're feeling adventurous.There are daily visits from the bush babies. You can feed them, we got some great pictures. The food is also really good. 5 minute walk away from Diani beach, which is the closest I have been to paradise. Also the beach bar forty thieves is great for a night out.

Sad to see there have been past reviews about security problems, I have never epxerienced but just keep hold of your valuables I guess!

You should definitely stay here, it is incredible!

Room Tip: I recommend a tree house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

While many go to huge efforts to be seen in the right places in Diani, there are others who while away their time in a comfortable, accessible and secluded spot 5 minutes walk from the beautiful beach front. We were welcomed by Jane the Manager on arrival and immediately relaxed into the Stilts pace of life. Our hut came complete with balcony and greenery on all sides. In fact, our room was out of sight from all others and we didn't even spot the other rooms or huts in 8 days! The shower rooms and loos were always spotless and never busy. All staff are amazingly cheerful and friendly as are some of the longer term residents - the bar and restaurant is open on all sides and up high in the canopy so you can indulge your Tarzan and Jane fantasies while sipping ice cold drinks and trying the varied and great value menu. Bush Babies come for banana at sundown each evening to the unavoidable coos and aaahs from the humans - they are very cute... Below the bar is a locked room where everyone has their own secure box, bolted to the ground with huge padlocks on them - no security issues here. A security guard is actually posted in the room each night too.
We were truly sad to go and will be back very soon. Massive thanks to Jane, Andy, Maisha and team for a fantastic 8 nights. x

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humlebæk, Frederiksborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had a really nice time at Stilts - great people, fantastic and relaxing surroundings. You find everything you need at one place very close to the beach. Really good and CHEAP food at Stilts. And cute bush babies.. You can travel alone or with friends or as a couple.

Room Tip: Try the treehouses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have never in my life been a fan of roughing it so when my friend told me we'd be staying in an eco lodge in the middle of nowhere in houses on stilts, I was pretty nervous. But, what's Africa without a little roughing it, right? On we went...

Upon entrance, the scene was straight out of Hostel. A bunch of weird Dutch kids lounging around looking stoned and not talking to us because we weren't in the clique. A little sore, we went to our rooms, one of which was on stilts and the other on the ground. The stilts room was amazing; balcony with a bed and small table, two single beds with mosquito nets, thatched roof, no toilet/bathroom and a padlock on the door. The other room wasn't so nice....on the ground (lots of bugs), toilet, and very dark in comparison.

If your room doesn't have a toilet/shower, you have to use the communal ones in the rear. These are really dark but have great water pressure and the water is nice and warm. If you're going at night, I highly recommend bringing a flashlight if only to light your way there so you don't accidentally step on the wildlife. Speaking of which....

This place is filled with critters big and small. While there, I got to see one of the ugliest bugs in the world, millipedes, and also got to hand-feed a blue monkey that was near my room when I got back from the beach. My friends in the ground floor room had similar experiences - they'd left their food out only to find it eaten and nice big clumps of monkey poop.

Besides being in a really cool location itself, it's across the road from the beach where you can do all sorts of water sports, and also down the road from the famous cave restaurant, Ali Baba's (delicious, by the way. Get the crab).

I think it came to about $9/night for the both of us which is a steal anywhere, but particularly worth it here. The food is AMAZING (get the chapati and beans) and the location is incredible. But, there's nothing like getting the experience of being part of the land. Just try it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with stilts!!! not all of them have stilts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Please, don't put anything in the safety boxes!Everything got stolen via spare key - cash, credit cards, passport, driver's license, etc. The owner was very nonchalant about it and eventually I also found out that it happened already more than 8 times (!!!) over the last few months! Police just said: NOT ANOTHER INCIDENCE!!! So hence, only a poor rating from me even though the set-up is nice...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlexK581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haylyn
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I ended a almost 4 week trip in Kenya here at Stilts, and it was epic! Spent 3 nights in a tree house banda and met some amazing people for all over. Common among backpackers, this place is across the street from the beach with easy access to matatu transportation, and most all western amenities. Power was a little spotty during the day, but they do have battery powered lights. Common shower and bathroom facilities were cleaned daily and night security was comforting. 40 Thieves restaurant is across the way on the beach (a little pricey food and drink) but an easy congregating spot for the group. Stilts provide lock boxes with keys, but you can provided your own...like with a combo if you are unsure about the safety. I recommend using them because the monkeys CAN and WILL get into the tree houses and cottages if they so please. Do not leave food or really anything out that suits their fancy! Overall, a must in Diani!

Enjoy and tell Andy hi from Oregon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 67 in Diani Beach
252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilts Backpackers

Property: Stilts Backpackers
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*****SEE RATES BELOW***** Our accommodation consists of 5 Tree Houses and 3 cottages and a camping area. As well as a Restaurant/Bar and Lounge area where we have Bush Babies visit us every night at 7:00pm. The Tree Houses are built out of native materials off the ground in the tree canopies, they do not have their own bathrooms. The rate for the Tree houses are: Single Ksh 1,800 per night, Double Ksh 1,400 per person per night and Triple Ksh 1,000 per person per night.Camping is Ksh 600 per night with your own gear or 1000 with our tent mattress and bedding included. The cottages have their own bathrooms and Fans, still basic but part of our surroundings. The cottages are Single Ksh 3,000 per night, Double Ksh 1,800 per person per night, Triple Ksh 1,400 per person per night and 4 people Ksh 1,000 per person per night. Cheers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Stilts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stilts Backpackers Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing