We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$200
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$130
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$233
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$344
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
$625
$560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
45
17
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
17
2
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 66 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I visited out of season. And we'd do it all over again in a heartbeat.

The place was immaculate. We were given a free upgrade without asking.

As the restaurant was closed, we were offered a personal chef... Zuhura. She was wonderful. The food was divine and nothing was too much trouble.

Juma was super amazing and helpful too. Great guy... a real fixer and a gentleman.

Cannot rate this resort too highly.

Maybe even honeymoon material.

Thank you so so much for everything. The memories will last a lifetime!

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed at Forest Dream Resort for 5 days in April 2015, it was a truly fantastic experience. We arrived directly from a safari, and Juma the receptionist showed us to our room. It was a beautiful cottage, very clean and spacious. Because of the low season we had the whole place to ourselves for most of the stay. For some that might seem strange, but we really enjoyed it, it was exactly what we needed to finish up our holiday.
Juma and the rest of the staff (sorry I forgot the names of everyone!) were warm and welcoming, polite and kind, and very helpful with everything. Juma helped me out when my luggage was lost, and was very friendly and helpful all the way.
The security guards were such nice guys, they even gave us some Swahili lessons! The pool man was always there for us, to chase away the cheeky monkeys out to steal our coconuts, or to teach us about the different kinds of primates. The gardeners were sweet and polite, and even climbed up the palm trees to serve us fresh coconuts!
Our driver was very nice and helpful when we had to drive around for a while, and he also drove us and picked us up at different places than the standard drop off/pic up spots.
Since we were there all alone we had our own private chef, a very nice man. He was helpful and gave us some advice, and the freshly squeezed juices for breakfast are highly recommended! He was an amazing cook and he seemed to really enjoy cooking Swahili dishes for us – if you ever go there and meet him, try the garlic grilled prawns! Since Amisi was such an amazing cook we had several more meals at the resort than originally planned.

The grounds around the cabins are beautifully taken care of, and the monkeys are a lot of fun!
No complaints what so ever! I would warmly recommend Forest Dream to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheaB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Eigenaar at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2015

Dear sir/madam
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am sorry I was not around to welkom you but I see that the staff have given you all the care you deserve at Forest dream.
Thanks Again
Kees van Velzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2015

The whole process from booking to checking out was so easy and the staff couldn't have been more helpful!

We booked directly through the hotel who explained clearly the prices of everything and helped us organise very reasonable transfers (4500Ksh) from Mombasa Airport in our own private vehicle.

When we got to Mombasa, our driver, Patrick, picked us up at 8:40pm and drove us the 2 hour journey to the hotel in Diani. Though beware, most of this journey is spent in a massive queue for the ferry crossing over the river in Mombasa so if it's at all possible, try to book flights with the airline Safarilink from Nairobi Wilson airport to Ukunda Airstrip (5-10 minutes drive from the hotel).

We arrived at about 10:30pm and although we couldn't check in, we had pre-arranged a meal to be cooked for us when we arrived. We were dropped off at the hotel, dumped out bags in the room and were served a really wonderful meal straight away by very welcoming chefs.

The next morning we woke up for breakfast once again lovingly served by an employed chef, the service they give makes you feel very welcome and very special. We later checked in at reception where we discovered that because we were the only guests at the hotel for the rest of the week they had upgraded our room to a luxury room! Checking in was very easy and effortless, all paper work is prepared so you can quickly get on with the day's proceedings.

The free shuttle the hotel runs at various intervals during the day is very useful to get to the beach, it drops you at a perfect area on the beach with seating and a bar/restaurant so is also good for dinners in the evening. If you need a taxi when the shuttle is not operating the hotel are more than happy to organise a taxi for you, saving you a lot of effort which is amazing.

Even though the hotel facilities were not available to us, the hotel made sure our stay was as good at high season. The staff allowed us to use the private villa pool and were more than happy to organise a dinner last minute if needed.

The Monkeys around the hotel provide excellent entertainment and are fascinating to watch when your relaxing. They can be a bit micheviois, we had a few pieces of toast stolen at breakfast and a few more attempts, but you can only laugh.

The staff cleaned our room everyday to a very high standard, fresh towels and a cleaned bed everyday, the cleanliness cannot be faulted!

Room Tip: The Bed and Breakfst option is a must, you can wake up and have breakfast served directly outside your room no need for an early morning drive to a restaurant!
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights middle of august and really enjoyed the nice jungle athmosphere around us. We were the only guests as Kenia was completely empty because of the terrorist attacks. We were lucky and received an upgrade to a nice villa with own swimming pool. Also we had an own cook, Humphrey, who cooked us very delicious meals.
We enjoyed our stay a lot, but be aware that this is not a typical hotel like all the other big coast-hotels at Diani beach. Even in high season (when fully booked) this hotel is different. There is no animation, the cooking is more a la carte and the whole service is more personal. But for us it was perfect...
Every day there is a free ride to the Sands of Nomad beachbar included (there you pay 600 for a sunbed / day), which is very nice. We also went to the 40 Thieves beach bar, which was also really great.
All in all we can recommend this resort for people, who don't like the typical hotel vacation so much and want to discover something else, more personal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiigeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Owner at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Tiigeri

Thank you so much for your review!
I wish I could thank you in person for your review. It seems that there are only very few people left over who want to go to the coast aria because of the securety situation at this moment. However we have not experienced any problem at our resort and so have our clients.
As you must have noticed we have only 20% of the staff we normally have.
We try to give you and other tourist all the extra services possible to keep them happy and in your case we go an extra mile to do so. We are so happy that you appreciate that extra service and realize that on this moment we do what we can to survive this difficult times.
It is great for us to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and understand the situation we are in fully. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Kees van velzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Let's say that it was a strange moment for the coast. For the several attacks in the north of Kenya during the weeks before, nobody was around, even if it was high season. We were the only guests of the resort and there weren't facilities for us. The resturant was close,as the bar. We booked the bed and breakfast solution with the idea to decide day by day if we wanted eat for lunch, dinner or go out, but when we arrived of course this wasn't possible. Fortunately for us there was someone,Mario that helped us to find solutions in this weird situations. We had a private chef, Humphrey,that cooked for as great meals. Of course this was amazing, even if it was strange been in a place that is called resort but does not have the services that you expect. On six days, three times happend that we dind't have warm water, so even in this situation, late in the evening, Mario helped us, giving the possibility to use another bathroom. The day after we complained with the recepionist,but it seemed that it was enough the service that we obtained in low season case (it was as a camping situation taking your things to have a shower in another place). As room we decided to book the makuti, first floor. For some points of view it was amazing for the style and for the effort, but not very confortable. It's very easy find gecos and millipede ( I'm not a fun of insects in rooms). Of course it's up to you, maybe someone prefers wild athomsfere inside and outside, but if you're scared of insects the ground floor is better. The place in general is amazing and has big potencials but we expected to have all the services even with few guests. Anyway, very happy to find Mario there, that tried to do the best for us, and suggested two amazing day out trip, Pilli Pipa and Charlie Claw's.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Owner at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Alma

Thank you for your honest review. As you have seen for your self Diani beach and other favorite destinations at the Kenya coast are deserted this year because of the securety problems in the aria and the government of Kenya is not willing to do anything to improve this issue. We have seen this many times before, mostly during the elections. This seems to be a different issue now the government is blaming the opposition for all the trouble here at the coast.
We normally have 35 people working in the resort but because of so many cancelations we had to sack many of them otherwise we would have gone totally broke.
So we trying our very best to deal with this situation and hope there will be improvement in securety so the tourist are coming back to enjoy the beauty of the coast. Than we shall get all of the staff back on there post and we can guarantee to our clients that they will have the very best service we can offer. Until then we have to deal with the situation as it is right now.
We are very sorry that we could not give you the full resort service because of this and hope the day will come very soon to invite you back to our beloved dream and pearl in the hart of the Diani forest where we would like to invite you back here to see for yourself that we can make your dreams come thru. For now I can only say that this problem at the coast can only be over if the government is serious about providing securety for the coast people and there tourist.
Best regards
Kees van velzen
owner of Forest Dream (since 24 years)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews