We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$200
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$73
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$130
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$174
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$344
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
$625
$560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
45
17
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
17
2
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 66 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights middle of august and really enjoyed the nice jungle athmosphere around us. We were the only guests as Kenia was completely empty because of the terrorist attacks. We were lucky and received an upgrade to a nice villa with own swimming pool. Also we had an own cook, Humphrey, who cooked us very delicious meals.
We enjoyed our stay a lot, but be aware that this is not a typical hotel like all the other big coast-hotels at Diani beach. Even in high season (when fully booked) this hotel is different. There is no animation, the cooking is more a la carte and the whole service is more personal. But for us it was perfect...
Every day there is a free ride to the Sands of Nomad beachbar included (there you pay 600 for a sunbed / day), which is very nice. We also went to the 40 Thieves beach bar, which was also really great.
All in all we can recommend this resort for people, who don't like the typical hotel vacation so much and want to discover something else, more personal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiigeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Owner at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Tiigeri

Thank you so much for your review!
I wish I could thank you in person for your review. It seems that there are only very few people left over who want to go to the coast aria because of the securety situation at this moment. However we have not experienced any problem at our resort and so have our clients.
As you must have noticed we have only 20% of the staff we normally have.
We try to give you and other tourist all the extra services possible to keep them happy and in your case we go an extra mile to do so. We are so happy that you appreciate that extra service and realize that on this moment we do what we can to survive this difficult times.
It is great for us to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and understand the situation we are in fully. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Kees van velzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Let's say that it was a strange moment for the coast. For the several attacks in the north of Kenya during the weeks before, nobody was around, even if it was high season. We were the only guests of the resort and there weren't facilities for us. The resturant was close,as the bar. We booked the bed and breakfast solution with the idea to decide day by day if we wanted eat for lunch, dinner or go out, but when we arrived of course this wasn't possible. Fortunately for us there was someone,Mario that helped us to find solutions in this weird situations. We had a private chef, Humphrey,that cooked for as great meals. Of course this was amazing, even if it was strange been in a place that is called resort but does not have the services that you expect. On six days, three times happend that we dind't have warm water, so even in this situation, late in the evening, Mario helped us, giving the possibility to use another bathroom. The day after we complained with the recepionist,but it seemed that it was enough the service that we obtained in low season case (it was as a camping situation taking your things to have a shower in another place). As room we decided to book the makuti, first floor. For some points of view it was amazing for the style and for the effort, but not very confortable. It's very easy find gecos and millipede ( I'm not a fun of insects in rooms). Of course it's up to you, maybe someone prefers wild athomsfere inside and outside, but if you're scared of insects the ground floor is better. The place in general is amazing and has big potencials but we expected to have all the services even with few guests. Anyway, very happy to find Mario there, that tried to do the best for us, and suggested two amazing day out trip, Pilli Pipa and Charlie Claw's.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Owner at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Alma

Thank you for your honest review. As you have seen for your self Diani beach and other favorite destinations at the Kenya coast are deserted this year because of the securety problems in the aria and the government of Kenya is not willing to do anything to improve this issue. We have seen this many times before, mostly during the elections. This seems to be a different issue now the government is blaming the opposition for all the trouble here at the coast.
We normally have 35 people working in the resort but because of so many cancelations we had to sack many of them otherwise we would have gone totally broke.
So we trying our very best to deal with this situation and hope there will be improvement in securety so the tourist are coming back to enjoy the beauty of the coast. Than we shall get all of the staff back on there post and we can guarantee to our clients that they will have the very best service we can offer. Until then we have to deal with the situation as it is right now.
We are very sorry that we could not give you the full resort service because of this and hope the day will come very soon to invite you back to our beloved dream and pearl in the hart of the Diani forest where we would like to invite you back here to see for yourself that we can make your dreams come thru. For now I can only say that this problem at the coast can only be over if the government is serious about providing securety for the coast people and there tourist.
Best regards
Kees van velzen
owner of Forest Dream (since 24 years)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Brief:
- We went (family of 6, kids age 9, 8, 6, and 2) in April to Diani and stayed at FD
- We arranged a private cook (Humphrey), a super guy, who arranged for breakfast, lunch and dinner
- Monkeys all over the place, beautiful, kids loved it
- Wifi there as well (for hardworking dads ... ;)
- Super friendly staff
- Great pool and slides, after day at the beach

So instead of staying in one of the large luxury hotels on the coastline, this is a hidden jem in the jungle 5 minutes from the beach!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for two nights in March. The hotel was lovely and the cottages (in which we stayed) were beautiful, well-maintained and very clean. I loved the tree-house feel of my room! The food was quite good (we even asked for vegetarian entrees for dinner and were made a wonderful vegetable curry with chapati). The cocktails were just okay (my pina colada needed a lot more coconut flavor) but their wines were good.

We were under the impression that we could easily walk to the beach, and although the walk was pretty short and easy, you need to be escorted by a hotel employee to the main road. I think it's both for general security and also safety against the baboons. The monkeys that live around the resort mostly ignored us and were lots of fun to watch!

The one real complaint I have is that it was the low season and so we were two of about 6-8 total guests. However, the food service was very slow. We ordered lunch in the swim up pool bar and it took about 30 minutes to bring the drinks and 45 minutes to bring the food.

I would recommend a stay here though, especially if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the Diani beach boys and to not feel like you're staying at a sterile/average beach resort. This one is unique!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akumpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, General Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear sisters Wakefield
Thank you very much for your honest review. As je have mentioned in the review, you and your sister where almost alone in the resort at that time and that can feel a bit strange indeed, but this happens only in our low season and on the other side it is nice to have almost the whole resort for your selfs if you like to relax and enjoy the animals in our nature park.
I have printed your review and handed it over to the waiter, so he will know that you like to have this extra shot of coconut flavor in your Pina colada the next time you are here.
Your complain about the 30 min. time for you to get your cocktail is right and I apologies for that, it should be no more than 14 minutes to make 2 fresh cocktails , but keep in mind that we are using the real fresh coconut to make the cocktail:)
Same for the food, you where both vegetarians and since we make only fresh food (from our farm) it can take as long as 45 minutes to arrive at your table, but we are very sure that that food is from a excellent quality and that is very important to us.
Next time, I promise, you get your fresh cocktails in 14 minutes time, otherwise I pay for them!
Hope to have you soon again in our middle,
The management
Forest Dream Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wonderful cottages spread out amongst the Forest, making you feel like you've got the place to yourself. We went as two couples, in separate cottages (bed and bath) with a shared central living area and kitchen hut. We hired a local chef, who turned out to be amazing, with French and Italian training. He sourced our food and made bread and cakes every day. We bought fish daily from the beach and ate crab, lobster, prawns and all sorts of wonderful fish. The pool is a good size and was quiet. We spent some time on the beach but it's not the best location if you want to be on the beach in two minutes. We also had a car to tour around. Recommend a marine safari down in Malindi, so much fun. Ideal place for couples to relax, but would also take a large family group there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Owner at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Nic
Thank you for your time to make this review. We at Forest dream appreciate it very much when our guest share there holiday experience with other travelers.
I have told Silvanas ,our chef ,that you liked his fresh baked bread very day and told Saleem the Fresh juice specialist of our pool bar that you liked it so much. He said that when you are coming back in a different season he can even make a greater selection of the fresh made juices than you have tasted already when you where here. It helps a lot that we have our own ECO farm where we get most of the fresh products we use here in the restaurant and pool bar. Thanks again and hope to see you soon back in our Dream.
Kees van velzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews