We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dont understand those prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I dont understand those prices”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Positive thing: Beach was beutiful and the location is nice and quite, if you want to spend time to read a book or hide from the busy tuarist areas.

The negative side: For the amount of money people pay, I think you can do better to improve the standard of the rooms and your services in general, I have travelled wide hence it is my opinion that the rates are two high for the services provided.

Room Tip: You are better off saving alittle more money and then stay at the normal tuarist resorts around Dian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samwel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you have enjoyed the location and beach. However I really regret that you did not agree with the price for what you get.
The lowest price room is €37 per person in the high season and €30 in the low season which is €30 per person including breakfast and the highest price room is €60 per person in the high season and €45 in the low season. The difference in price is not for facilties in the room it is for the popularity of the rooms, where the seaview rooms are most popular.
I would like to highlight the positive points, Each room is uniquely decorated in theme with coastal, simple barefoot swahili style. The rooms are all ensuite, 5 of which have an amazing seaview, and all rooms are only a few seconds stroll to the beach. They have fan -cooling, mosquito protection, linen, beach and bath towels and soap and shampoo, washing powders provided. The showers all have hot water and the house keeping clean the room TWICE a day. No more than this is advertised on the website and so you not have expected more.
Of that price, 30% goes to tax already. That leaves us with nearly half left over of which to provide FREE, ALL YOU CAN EAT breakfast with cooked meats, eggs, toast, cereals, fruit, yogurt, pancakes, and omelette. and the other costs involved with managing rooms.
The price you pay reflects the exclusivity of having a private room in a small private resort with immediate beach access. Since we only have 10 rooms we cannot afford to lower the prices and compete with resorts which have 100 + rooms. The Kenya govt. charges a small hotel of 10 rooms the same taxes as the large resorts.
I hope this helps to explain why the prices are as stated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    48
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
66
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Aware of all the rave reviews below, I'm going to rate this property from an objective point of view. On the plus side, its literally on the beach, the common living room areas are really lovely - with attention to detail such as board games, plush pillows to lounge, and a decent restaurant. This is also the kite surfing hub of Diani and they seem to do a good job of teaching and building the kite community. The way the place is set up really encourages people to socialise with each other, and I can understand why some of the travelers say they wished they had stayed a month.

Basically, this place is a backpackers - in South Africa, or Europe or Asia, one would expect to pay around 20 - 30 USD per night. Instead, Kenyaaways charges about 100+ us dollars per night for a double. The price does not at all reflect quality. The room we got (Park) is one of their newest rooms. The website portrays lovely photos, taken with wide angle lens - obviously they spent more money on the camera than on the room itself. In reality, most of their rooms are hugely run-down, really old, weary. mattress quality is very cheap, no extra blankets. You see beautiful photos and you end up in a drab room with a bed and mosquito net - don't expect better. And you will pat over a hundred dollars for this. Granted Diani is expensive, but I think you can do better by looking around further.

If you are indeed going to book this place, do it for the sun, sand, and ability to hang out with fellow travellers. Do not do it for the rooms or the service,. both of which are pretty awful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
To Neha, Thank you for expressing your thoughts on Kenyaways. However you cannot back up most of your claims.
About the quality of the mattresses since they are the highest quality from the best manufacturer in Kenya, vitafoam and were only purchased only 4 years ago when we opened. The mosquito nets and pillows are also newly purchased and I also have all the receipts to prove it. How can you describe a room as drab when you are giving an objective opinion?
You also don't realise that backpackers all over the world make ends meet by fitting in 40+ people with 10 in a room. However at Kenyaways we have 10 rooms which sleep 1 - 4 people, so we are nothing like a backpackers. Kenyaways is completely exclusive, and if we charged $20 a night we would have to close down. Instead we pay our staff over 3 times the usual wages, we donate free nights to charitys for raffles, we use eco friendly and home made materials which cost more than the usual stuff that people in Nairobi use from Nakumatt the cheap chain store. You can try finding anywhere else on the Kenya coast with the same exclusivity, quality and price but you will find only a few special places.
Kenyaways is not for everyone, it is a simple place we do not advertise more than a comfy bed, pretty decor, ensuite bathroom and a nice view with peace and quiet. If you want air conditioning and luxuries, you chose the wrong place.
Considering you did not express any complaint while you were here, I think your review is unfair, wrong and easy way for you to get away with being spiteful towards us. We try very hard to make everyone happy, but how can we please you if you do not tell us what is wrong in the first place?
Every other review on our page is objective and fair and is testament to how we do get it right.
Nevertheless I am glad you did enjoy our fabulous location, beach and gardens and I do thank you for your appreciation of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
285 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at Kenyaways for our 8 nights stay in Diani after reading the good comments on Tripadvisor and we can cofirm all the good things read about this place. The location is fantastic, right on a beautiful, white sandy beach in the southern part of Diani, far enough from the big resorts and hotel of the north part of Diani. We stayed in room Rebel. First impression of the room was not very positive compared with the pictures we had seen on the website. In the end we realized that this was mainly due to the fact that the room is too dark because the shutters need to be kept closed because of the monkeys. Anyway the room is very spacious and has a really nice bathroom. The staff of the b&b were great, everybody was very helpful and kind. The restaurant, which is run by a different management from the hote, is good and has very fresh seafood. Breakfast is good too. It is the perfect place to relax and chill out on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Kenyaways is a magical place. I came here at the end of my Kenya trip. I stayed three nights and wished that I could've stayed for another week...or month. The accommodations, service, and food were all excellent. The breakfast was fantastic and the strong coffee was a welcome surprise. The beach is incredible...get up early to see the sunrise! Just beware of the salesman on the beach. Start with a "no thank you" and stay consistent with it, otherwise you will be pestered. The lounge chairs are up a few steps and they don't bother you there. Kenya is an amazing country and Kenyaways is one of its jewels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattR646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Kenyaways is a fantastic alternative to the bigger beach resorts in Diani. The rooms are nicely decorated and with a pool and a beach front with loungers, Kenyaways is exceptional value for money. There was an issue regarding reservation and rooms, but as soon as it was mentioned everything was sorted out promptly and professionally. I was even compensated for a nights stay which I thought was very generous. There is kite boarding but it is in no way mandatory, as well as a restaurant with good food. Overall, Kenyways is an excellent option if you are looking for a smaller and more personal setting. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hey Kelly,
Great to see your review saying that you enjoyed your stay and again I am sorry about the mix up. I am happy it was alright in the end.
You looked lovely and bronzed by the end of it so you definitely got some good beach time!
All the best, Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a beautiful, tranquil and relaxing place to stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful. After a long 'tough' day on the beach, come back for a few sun downers and a BBQ by the pool, love it! I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in Kenaways in mid-June after a 3 night stay at Baobab Beach Resort. Kenaways was a welcome change from the all inclusive resort. There is such a chilled out vibe here, it would be difficult not to unwind and relax. The restaurant had recently being taken over by a new manager and the food was great. The bedrooms are 'beach chic' but have everything you need, a comfortable bed and a good shower, plus you are so close to the beach that you can hear the waves rolling in. The location of Kenaways is one of its major advantages, it sits right on the beach with sun beds looking out to sea and this end of the beach seemed to be a look quieter than further north near forthy thieves etc. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi Ruth, Thank you for your glowing review. It is reassuring to know that Kenyaways is appreciated and compared against the typical large hotel resorts. We continue to try and get ideas from nature and recycling projects to make it as natural and eco as possible. I hope you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 65 in Diani Beach
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Diani Beach Rd South Galu Beach | Via Mombasa Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenyaways bed & breakfast Diani Beach is a family run B&B holiday villa right on a beautiful Diani beach. Kenyaways only has 11 bedrooms, 5 with seaview, beach facing. One is a self catering apartment. Kenyaways is exclusive yet reasonably priced for travelers and holiday makers for families, couples or single travellers. The Kenyaways beach villa is colorful and friendly and has a relaxing vibe and a magnificent view of the beach. It is convenient for onward travel, general relaxation, water sports, communications, shopping and nightlife. Kenyaways is especially attractive for kite surfers and surfers. Kenyaways Diani Beach has a watersports centre and kite surf school offering kite surf lessons and IKO kitesurf courses to beginners and intermediates. The kite school is Diani Beach's leading kite surf school and offer a professional service all year round. Diving is also an option for the less wind days and there is an amazing tropical coral reef which runs parallel to the beach where you can see many colorful interesting coral and fish as well as turtles and dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenyaways Beach Bed And Breakfast & Restaurant
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast & Restaurant Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing