We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new year holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“new year holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Managed to get some last minute place at Waterlovers. I loved the peaceful setting, small and well thought of design using natural materials and Swahili style. Ideal location and friendly staff. Bed and breakfast very reasonable during the high season. Meals a bit too expensive in comparison to other places but lots of opportunities to eat in restaurants around. They were able to offer everything I needed. It really gave me that holiday feeling. I certainly can recommend it as an ideal place to stay, especially if you don't like those massive places with too many people and noisy entertainments. At Waterlovers you can truly relax and have your privacy.

Room Tip: I think the top floors have better ocean view and less disturbance of people walking in front of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alie892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautifull feedback.
It's nice to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to host you again in the future.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    33
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
212
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Superb resort with friendly staff and helpful. Rooms are nicely built with all natural materials. And the best part is the food which is a mixture of Italian African. Pizzas were not that great. Wifi is free and accessible from almost everywhere in the resort! I would defiantly go back and recommend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fayaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
A big "Thanks!" for your nice feed back.
It was really nice to meet you and to have the pleasure to host you here.
Hope to improve the pizza for the next time you'll be around.
All the best from
Riccardo Valentina Luca and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We,like a lot of visitors, stayed at Waterlovers after a safari in the Masai Mara. The small boutique atmosphere made it a truly wonderful place to stay. We had the large villa which was very spacious and full of character. The attention to detail was second to none with wood carvings throughout the hotel representing Waterlovers. We are not used to be waited on but the staff were so friendly and helpful that they felt more like friends than hotel employees. We had dinner every night on the sand near the bar with candles flickering and the sea lapping in the background. The beach Hawkers were not really a problem and kept us amused while lying on the sunbed over looking the beach. The gymnasts were amazing!! All in all an amazing place to stay. Our best holiday by far as we keep telling all out friends. Thank you very much.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woody5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks a lot for these great comment, and for sharing it with your friends.
We really hope to have the chance to say thank you in person.
You'll always be WELCOME here.
All the best from Riccardo Valentina Luca and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Wow what to say about this place... My new husband summed it up nicely when he said if he was shooting a movie called Paradise then the opening scene would be Waterlovers! We just had a three night stay after a weeks safari in Kenya and have now come on to mauritios. Where we are staying now is a very luxury 5 star resort with an incredible huge suite however I sit here missing Waterlovers and wish we were still there, especially for Christmas! The place is so comfortable and homely, you are made to feel that nothing is too much to ask, it is intimate and perfect. The view from our sitting area outside our cottage was breathtaking. The beach is so clean with gorgeous sand and clear waters.

I loved our room, the whole place is proper luxury but with the rustic feel that I love. It is beautiful without being pretentious. A lot of time and care has been taken by Riccardo and Valentina the wonderful owners who live in one of the villas there. They are very welcoming and the personal touches were very much appreciated. The staff were all wonderful and the overall experience was as perfect as it could be.

I see other reviews mention not having a lot to do. Yes you can very easily stare into the ocean all day but there is lots on offer to do and information in the room shows you the options if you want them. There is a fabulous lady in the hotel next door who does massages and beauty treatments in her salon hut where you hear the ocean whilst being pampered!

People also have put in their reviews about the beach boys hassling them. This is not at fault of Waterlovers and should be written in reviews of Diani beach rather than of the hotel! A very firm 'no we are not looking to buy today' will get rid of them but if you let them they will follow you down the beach making conversation before then showing you what they are selling. Having dinner at the Alibaba is a must do when staying here it is a gorgeous cave restaurant!

I can write all day about how much I loved this hotel but stay for yourself and see it for yourself and you will understand!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TwistedKoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Wowowooooo!
This is by far one of the best comments we ever had!
Cannot find the words to thank you enough for your appreciation,
....and for taking the time to write it down in such a nice way and in detail.
We wish you all the best for your new life together.
We'll always keep a special place for you at Waterlovers and...
Happy new year too!
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Waterlovers and were sad to leave. The small boutique feel is quite nice, making it a private romantic place to unwind. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, and the beach has a variety of chairs and hanging beds to swing from. This is a great place to relax and enjoy time with your loved ones. The food was also excellent, all freshly made daily with local ingredients. They have some water sports options, but we stuck to the swinging chairs!!

Room Tip: We had the Lion, which was upstairs and had a nice view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tpeace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
we're also heppy we had the chance to meet you.
You'll always be welcome here.
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic place to wind down and relax. The rooms were fantastic and when I asked them if they could turn the mattress they did more than that and changed it!
Staff, especially in the restaurant were really friendly and the ground staff were always working to keep the the place spotless. They would run and help you move a sun bed.....
There is plenty to do if you wish to and also different places to sit and relax and just watch the activities on the beach. These were quite amusing.... A bit annoying when you go onto the beach, but a clear 'no' is usually all it takes. But i would say this was the only negative for us....If you do decide to purchase, then bargain, at least half the original cost. A visit to the market passage at the side of the hotel is worth a visit, if you do want some artifacts, but again, bargain! The hotel can organise various trips to the sand bank and beyond and it is great to have kayaks and snorkelling equipment freely available. All in all, a super relaxing end to our 'honeymoon'. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Midjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thanks for these very beautifull words,
it makes us love our job everyday.
We'll try to improve our hospitality more and more,
hoping to be able to host you again.

All the best from
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is simply paradise. The hotel is small and luxurious, and the service it top quality in every aspect of the hotel from porter to management - even to the extent that they anticipate what the guests may want/wish for and provide it.
Everybody at Waterlovers went that much further to make over stay there memorable and unique.
Thank you!

Room Tip: We loved having the lower room in the bungalows, but really all rooms are fab. All have see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders_ChristensenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We're really happy to read your nice feedback,
it gives us the energy to improve more and more!
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Property: Waterlovers Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing