We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time there, better and better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just came back from that corner of the paradise, It was our second time in Waterlovers, and we had the best time ever in an hotel.
Very friendly staff and the food was excellent. Can't get tired of watching the sea from the veranda of my ocean front room, very well decorated too.
Wish these two italians a very prosperous future, since they, and all the staff, really deserve it.
Can wait to come back there...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raffaele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks a lot for these fantastic words!
They give us the right energy to stay focused, and keep improving.
You'll always be welcome here.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the Waterlovers Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 444 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

hotel and the location is very nice but not the sevices. Rooms are not insectproof You should have everything with yourself. you will receive no help when your toothpaste of shaving cream is finished or even when you need a soap

Room Tip: hotel and the location is very nice but not the sevices. Rooms are not insectproof You should have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohsen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to write a review on TA.
Thanks also for letting us know that you like the hotel and the location.
I'll try to express our opinion about your concerns for the services.
In your email you complain that the rooms are not "insectproof".
Now nature is one of the most amazing feature here, and we're only two degrees below the equator, so we're in the middle of the subequatorial forest area.
The rooms are equipped with mosquito nets on the windows plus an extra mosquito net on all the beds (normally you don't do this at other latitudes). Still one or two insect could follow you when you open the door or when the housekeeper does. On the other side, to take care of this few cases, we clean the room twice a day, once in the morning and one in the evening when we turn down the mosquito nets and we set the room for the night. We also provide in the rooms a mosquito spray, a mosquito coil, and on your request the housekeepers can spray the room for you (some guest don't like that for their health). I'm not sure I've ever seen insect proof rooms in my life, and I'm not sure what you mean, but I can assure you that at least we care.
Thanks also for the suggestion of the thoothpaste. Infact we don't provide it in our rooms yet.
We'll think about it. It's a very good suggestion indeed.
Regarding your suggestion to the readers: "You should have everything with yourself", we just would like to make a list of few of the things that we provide in all our rooms:
we have big dispensers with liquid soap, liquid bathfoam, shampoo, body lotion, cotton buds, a jug of drinking water with 2 glasses, a bottle of mineral water (sealed), towels, beach towels, bath rubs, hairdryer, kleenex white tissues, socket adapters, and I-phone and I-pod docking station, a cellphone with a local sim card, wi-fi internet connection, an umbrella, a combination safe, a beach bag, loundry service basket, garbage bin, booklets about the enviroment (animals, plants, fishes, birds) and how to preserve it, booklets about Diani and travel in Kenya, escursions booklets, deep sea fishing brochure, insects spray, mosquito coils, a torch, a box of matches, an ashtray (smoking is possible anyway only outside in the veranda), and on departure we give as a present a recepies booklet (in case you liked our food and wish to cook it at home).
The rest unfortunately (like the shaving foam) the guest has to bring it , but for who likes to travel light, we have the luck to be just on the other side of the road from a big supermarket (Chandarana), with all the european brands for toilet or other needs, plus a well equipped farmacy just next to it. In case it's requested, we can also send one of our staff to buy it for you,
billing it in your room.
Then from the beginning of July we're opening a small shop inside the resort, were we'll try to keep other usefull travel items (like memory cards, suntan lotions, small artcraft for the souvenirs, and some nice antic from East Africa).
Hope to be able to fulfill your expectations even better at your next visit.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Highly recommended. Went with my boyfriend for some R&R. Wonderful. Beautiful setting, well-accommodated rooms, intimate, small hotel that is very well taken care of. Right on the beautiful beach. Fun bars and restaurants in walking distance, or cheap, short taxi ride. The staff was super friendly and managers were very helpful in assisting with day trip plans and meals (and cabs to get there) elsewhere.

Restaurant at hotel was inconsistent and generally not worth the high price, especially for lunch and dinner. Bar closes very early.


Tip: the guys on the beach who are based next to the hotel selling their crafts will leave you alone once you buy something. We waited a couple days, but would suggest you buy something right away for peace during the rest of your stay when you go to and from the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizabetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this beautifull review,
your suggestions are also welcome to improve our services.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the WL staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The layout and setting of this resort is brilliant. With the pool overlooking the sea, white powder sand all over and terrific seating areas, this is one of the nicest resorts we have been to. Perfect for those who like small hotels and personalised service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilifisWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for taking the effort to write your nice review.
It was really nice to meet you and your beautifull family.
Hope to see you again.
All the best
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The owners at Waterlovers, Riccardo and Valentina, should be proud of themselves for creating such a well designed and creative small hotel. There is attention to detail in every little thing.
Just with 1 villa and 8 rooms, by the beach, it is a very private and exclusive environment.
Food and service are very good. However, recommend to not take full-board option, and allow yourself to experience other restaurants in the area, such as Sails at Almanara, just a few kms down the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoseHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for your beautifull words,
we're happy to read that you noticed the details of our small place,
and glad that we've been able to provide a good time for you here with us.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel, in a very nice beach, where swimming is always possible with high or low tide.
The hotel is beautifully designed, and rooms are spacious and pleasant. There is an attention to the details in the decoration not only in the rooms but also the common places. Good to have complimentary wi-fi. However no mini bar/fridge in rooms and mattress very hard.
On the low side, disappointing hospitality, Waterlovers is not a guest house nor a real hotel and there is somehow an absent or loose management. Food overpriced and not corresponding to the choice available or the gastronomy standards ( better restaurants several steps higher in gastronomy and lower prices exist in the neighborhood). For example the need to decide in the early morning on what to eat at lunch and diner is not so pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pietisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Waterlovers Beach Resort, Kenya.
At our small place, we always seek opportunities to excel and consistently strive to exceed the expectations of our guest. As our valued guest, your feedback is extremely important to us.
We're glad to read that you liked our place, the location the details and the rooms, and we re ready to get suggestions to make it better. Sorry if some of the services were not at your expectations. Regarding the mattress we have the possibility to change them on request (soft to midium to hard). For the prices of the meals some clients says that we're cheap and some says that we're expensive, but of course we think it depends a lot from the clients expectations.
I can see that I mentioned the prices for the meals already before your arrival in an email directly to you, and we discounted the baby dinner from your bill for the 1st night, on your request. Fortunately as you say there are many restaurants and beach bar around as an alternative, so everybody can find a good solution for their pockets. For the minibar we'll consider you suggestion to add it in our rooms, thanks.
For the booking of the meals in the morning, we try to do a healthy cooking, so we get the fresh fish and all other fresh ingredients from the fishermans and from the market in the morning,
trying to give you the best quality (we avoid frozen food as much as possible). In case our clients are not sure in the morning time, we're still flexible to have the order placed in the arch of the day (as long as we have the time to get it done properly). Time is precious for us in order to serve a good meal since many of our plates request long procedures to come out the way they are (like the home made pastas, or the long marinated seafood).
Alternatively we also have a snack menu, were is possible to order last minute dishes, like hamburghers, salads, tempuras, fruit plates, ice creams etc. Regarding the variety, being a small place we decided to give priority to the quality,
(again is a specific choice) so we have a set menu with an alternative between seafood and non seafood, with a vegetarian menu on the side for vegetarians. Having only 8 rooms we had to choose if we wanted to serve a selected, good and sometime sophisticated food, or do a lot of meals but without the same result on the quality.
Regarding the absent or loose management we don't understand, since we have two available and kind managers all the time on duty , plus we (me and my wife) live on the site 24 hrs, and we remember clearly that we asked you at least once a day if everything was going fine and if we could do something else for you.
Anyway we'll keep treasure of all your advices, hoping to be better at your next visit .
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hey!! Stop searching!! I found it, paradise. It is here!!

Amazing place... 6 days there my family. Lovely couple that has the place and has built it on the beach. Very nice cottages with AC. So relaxed and friendly. Food is cross african and italian, top european standard.

//Staffan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Wow! What a great review!
Thanks a lot, you'll always be welcome here!
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the WL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,372 reviews
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,024 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $284 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing