We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, friendly, and the perfect place to relax after a Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly, and the perfect place to relax after a Safari”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our family have just returned after 3 weeks in Kenya. Water Lovers was the place for us to relax after our 10 days in the Mara National Park. The staff are fantastic, caring nothing was any trouble. Accommodation was fanastic, the food was amazing a place we will remember and one day would return. Thank you for this experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muir_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
You guys are great guests!
Loved the way you enjoyed our place.
Hope to see you again (maybe also in Australia next time, you never know!)
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the Waterlovers staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
216
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We (wife, husband, and son) just arrived back from a nine days stay at Waterlovers and can only agree with all the other reviewers who give this place top ratings.

It is indeed a very special place that Riccardo (or Ka-Do-Do as our son named him) and Valentina have built up. We have statyed in many, many beach places around the world and have already decided to name this one our all time favourite.

Our expectations were high coming there (based on TripAdvisor reviews and friends having visited the place). Having now experienced it for more than a week we just have to agree with all the good things (and disagree with the very few bad things) that have already been written about the place.

The highlights from our point of view where
1. The charming and beautiful style of the "hardware" (i.e., the resort as such). Being "grown up" backpackers with a bit more comfort demands than before, this is the perfect place. It gives all the charm of a beach bum place combined with all the comfort needed and wanted, without falling into the "big luxury resort without charm" trap.
2. The charming and excellent "software" (i.e., the staff and owners). Everyone was very friendly, helpful, and positive. We miss the daily conversations with the staff already - thank you Edvin, Helen, Carol etc. for making the visit a social delight.
3. The child friendliness. The place as such is great for children, lots of sand to play in, staff who seem to truly enjoy having a child around, baby cots anc chairs available (in the same on site hand crafted beautiful style as the rest of the resort) etc. Extra great was the fact that our son could play with the owners' children and their friends - under the supervision of their caretakers - leaving us parents with some child free time.

Needless to say we are going back - already booked to be there during New Years.

Joe, Linda, and Wilson

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeGothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Ciao guys!!
We really loved the days you where here with us, and your little son is a great personality!
The time you took to write these beautifull words, can only complete the picture of super-nice people you are!! We'll try to give you back all this positive energy with our best hospitality .
We look forward to see you for New Year.
"Ka-do-do", Valentina, Sara, Sole and the rest of the Waterlovers tribe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from four excellent days at Water Lovers. Having spend many nights in 5 star chain hotels around the world, we were now looking for a nice change in Kenya. The Water Lovers has by far exceeded our expectations:
- small and hence quite hotel to allow you to relax
- friendly and especially caring staff that was really interested in you having a great time
- fantastic location at a beautiful spot of Diani beach
- excellent food
- and always something special, such as a leaving gift by the hotel or a easy to use SIM card in your room (should you dare wishing t o make phone calls)
We will return for certain and like to thank the WaterLovers once again for some unforgettable days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_Friedemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks a lot for your stay with us,
it was really great to meet you, and that is not a detail for us!
If you ever decide to come back to Kenya, we hope to have to pleasure to host
you here with us again.
All the best
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from spending a week at WaterLovers and we are so happy we stayed here. We were eager to see if the place matched up to the excellent reviews we read on Tripadvisor and I'm delighted to say we were not disappointed! WaterLovers is a little piece of heaven on Diani Beach and the perfect place to relax and unwind. The layout is excellent with the cottages situated very close to the bar, restaurant and pool area and all facing out towards the sea. The place has a slightly elevated position (4-5 steps) above the beach which is great as you can really get a fabulous view of the beach and sea. The sun loungers are really comfortable and there are even some bed loungers for that afternoon sleep! A couple of times we took out kayaks to do some snorkelling at the reef (all provided free of charge). The accomodation and service is faultless - the cottages are kept extremely clean and are very spacious. There are some really lovely touches like a footbath at the steps of the cottages to wash the sand off your feet, a rail on the veranda to dry wet clothes and ipod docking station in the room. We decided to go half board and the breakfast and dinner were plentiful (very generous portion sizes!) and tasty. A couple of times our meals were a little too salty but the chef soon remedied this with no fuss or trouble. Fresh pastries/bread baked every day and the milkshakes from the bar were to die for! Tea/coffee and biscuits were served at 4-5pm free of charge every day which was another unexpected treat. Perhaps the best thing about Waterlovers is the staff, who are friendly and will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible but also respect your privacy and relaxation time. Special mention to Edwin, Caroline, Alex and Richard - thank you so much for your kindness! As some of the other reviews have mentioned, you are approached a lot on the beach by the local boys trying to sell you wooden souvenirs, boat trips etc. which can get annoying as they are persistent and will often walk alongside you and keep talking to you. Whilst we did buy a few things, we then found that a firm 'no thanks, we're not buying'' after that was enough to be left alone. We would highly recommend Waterlovers and should we ever be back on the Kenyan coast, we would not hesitate in staying at WaterLovers again. I was going to upload photos but to be honest mine look the same as the WaterLovers own photo gallery - you don't find that very often!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear friends (we cannot put any name on TA but we remember yours, in the Elephant suite),
it's been so nice to meet you.
Really a nice feedback, we'll remember of your nice smile and the relaxed way of enjoying the holiday. Hope to have the privilege to host you again.
All the best for your life together from
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole,
and the rest of the WL staff (I'll show them your nice words)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Riccardo and Valentina had build a fabulous resort inside a slice of beach forest. Their passion is in every detail.
Everything has been great from the rooms (they give africans animals names, we took two: Rhino and Hippo, they are large and clean).
Excellent food (the menu has a strong italian influence).
It's a good spot for kitesurf (I did kitesurfing 4/5 days) with the support of the resort' beach boy that inflates and prepare the kite for the ride. In August the wind is light (10-15 knts) but great fun jumping and freeriding in the laguna or wavesurfing on the reef. A kitesurf school is 200 mt from the lodge.
The drive from Mombasa is quite long 1h, but there's very close airstrip (Ukunda) we used to reach out Amboseli or Masai Mara parks for the Safari.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear friends,
thanks a lot for your nice words.
It's true, we cannot hide our italian roots when it comes to food.
Hope to have the pleasure to prepare some good homemade pasta
again for you in the future ;)
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wonderful relaxing boutique hotel. On the beach with owners who care and staff who cossett.
Riccardo and Valentina a charming couple who have trained their staff well
Rooms spatious, food excellent and the menu a guide which can be altered to suit you..
Top tip is to fly to Ukunda (5 minutes away) and avoid Mombassa.
Local shops handy,beach superb. Watch for the Monkeys-Colobus Ok but the others very cheeky
I hope there is room for us next time we go which will be our FOURTH!

Room Tip: Rhino or Hippo best views -ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rushall-Olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear friends,
thanks a lot for your fourth visit.
The number itself is already a great compliment to us.
The truth anyway, is that with guest like you...
is really too nice to be in the hospitality business!!
Thanks for giving us the energy to keep on going this way.
There will always be a room for you here!
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Still our favorite place on the Kenyan beach! This was our 4th visit to Waterlovers and again we enjoyed every minute of it. Such a special place, love the relaxed atmosphere, the great quality, the staff who makes you feel at home!

Thanks to the 'Waterlovers family' for taking such good care of us again, we will be back.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeJa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear friends,
so glad to see you again,
and had the pleasure to host you here with us for the 4th time!
This is the best compliment we ever received.

All the best, ...and even more!
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Property: Waterlovers Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing