We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dream beach vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
new orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The dream beach vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a hidden gem!! This was an exceptionally magnificent three days. I wish I could have stayed longer. From the first second we arrived into the gates of the property, we were met with two large glasses of the freshest papaya and orange guice imaginable. From there we were shown into our spacious villa with a large bed and enormous bath. Even better is the wide shaded porch with comfortable chairs and table allowing the guest to enjoy the room outdoors as well as inside. Everything is just a minute walk; the cool terrace restaurant with books, swinging beds under coconut "palapas"-not sure what they are called in Africa. The pool is just steps away from all of the rooms and the bar is just as close. Rather than gardens landscaped with pathways and foliage, the ground is covered in white sand. You're able to walk barefoot everywhere and the sand is as soft as cotton. The owners are always present to answer questions and the staff is overwhelmingly friendly and cater to every need. Also, the service is my idea of perfection. There when you need it but not on top of you every minute. Food was quite good, especially breakfast and tea. Someone REALLY knows how to bake in that kitchen because everyday we ate the most amazing home baked cookies and breads. I could not stop. Dinner was good but I am from a real foodie town and we are spoiled with some of the greatest food in the U.S. I found most of it very good but not excpetional. On the other hand, this is not the type of hotel where you go to have long chef tasting menus. The more local the food, the better it was. I liked the mix of rustic with excellent service and natural beauty. If you are expecting over the top marble and pampering a la Ritz Carlton, this is not your place. You go here for the solitude, the breezes, and the beautfy of the ocean. I would have given this place 5 stars but there was only one negative aspect. I was too embarrassed to mention it to the owners as I did not want to sound like an unapprecaitive American tourist but I cannot help mentioning it, mainly as a warning. The first day, I walked down the steps onto one of the most magnificent beaches in all of Africa. The sand is soft, cool, and snow white. The water is bathtub warm and clear as a swimming pool. I swam for 20 minutes and was in HEAVEN. Then, I got out of the water and the fun ended. I could see them just waiting for me. At least 5 people. One would not stop pushing me to buy little elephant statues. Three women were selling swahili cloth, another was pushing the snorkeling tour. I understand that this is part of their livlihood and I made sure to buy trinkets for everyone on the beach. I also took the snorkeling tour to the reef which was beautiful. But, it never ended. I happened to notice barely a tourist lying on the beach and now I know why. Thankfully, the man made sandy beach and pool at the hotel sufficed. The last thing I wanted was to be at a beautiful beach spending most of the time saying "no" to people. But, as I undertand, this is part of the entire beach at Diani. It's certainly not the fault of the hotel and I am proud that they work with local peoole rather than push them away. I feel like the compromise works. While the guest is on hotel grounds, they are left unmolested. Once on the beach, you're fair game. Nothing's ever perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael_davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Hey guys, this is really a nice and detailed one!
Thanks a lot for finding the right words and the time to put them down on the internet.
We really had a nice time with you here.
Hope to see you again, and to be able to give you back such a good feeling.
We wish you only great things!!
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
214
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I can recommend the place for a nice and relaxed beach holiday. The rooms are spacious, clean, with large windows. They put sand in between the huts and the open plan restaurant which gives you a nice beach experience. The food is great and they prepare whatever you ask for for your child! (In an exceptional quality - I rarely had such nice pasta sauces in a restaurant - it's run by italians...!)
Just one advise to the management: please check you pool - all our clothes got green stains by the chemicals...
Apart from that: both thumbs up!

Room Tip: For kids: the lower rooms as they can play in the sand in front of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleTomHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear friends,
thanks a lot for the feedback and for sharing
some good time here with us. Your kid is a lovely one,
and whenever we have a family like yours,
we're so happy to be able to take care of the needs of the little ones too (we have two of them, so we understand how can be important sometime)
Thanks also for informing us of the problem with the pool,
I think we solved it now (we changed the chemicals).
All the best from the Waterlovers
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Water Lovers in March, 4 nights to wind down after 8 days of early starts on safari.

The resort is 10 minutes from the tiny airport and just so easy to get to, we flew in direct to from the Maasai Mara (no faffing about going via Nairobi's domestic Wilson airport).

Riccardo, Valentina and all their staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant during our stay, and you can really see that so much thought and detail has gone into their creation of an idyllic beach resort (flower petals, woven beach bag in the room, departure gift). It is wonderful that it’s so small, 4 thatched roof houses, an upstairs and downstairs suite in each. All with large balconies (the upstairs ones are lovely, you feel like you’re up in the trees with the monkeys!)

There are more loungers (and shaded beach beds with big cushions! Great for snoozing the day away) than people and a lovely pool – it’s not unusual to be the only people there, as other guests went off snorkling or in the kayak or on a day trip to the reef. We hardly left the place, but when we did descend the half dozen steps to the actual beach, it had the softest white sand and lovely warm ocean.

The fresh juices and bread (watch out for the occasional crafty monkey, who surprised us one day and stole a bread roll from us!) were lovely and the tempura prawns are my absolute favourite. The salads at the lunchtime snack bar are huge and good value too, and yes all the food is freshly cooked to order which meant the pace of our meals felt just lovely and relaxed too.

I was surprised and pleased that there was a breeze from the ocean so it never got overbearingly hot and there weren’t any mosquitos that I saw either. Although of course we slept under nets in the rooms.

All in all a lovely place. Happy to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites have a great balcony if you like being in the tree tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShelovesEcudaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Every word of this comment is written with the hearth,
and is with the hearth that we thank you guys....
with the hope to see you soon again, we'll remember of you!
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole(... and the rest of the Waterlovers tribe!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berbourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Waterlovers for 5 days and we can only approve the comments of our predecessors.

Our room was big, lovely and comfortable with a lot of very nice decorations, wooden furniture and a gigantic bed. The bathroom was very spacious too, with two clay sinks and modern instruments.

The whole resort was perfectly clean at all time, so that we really felt at home.
Staff members were constantly walking accross the area, cleaning or repairing things.

The location on the beach was perfect, and shops were close by.

The sea water was warm and clear, however also the small swimming pool in shape of a turtle was very pleasant to swim in or to relax, with a flat and a deep water area.

The staff itself was very professional, polite, without ever being importunate.
The owners Riccardo and Valentina, as well as the assistant managers Lina and Richard were perfectly obliging, we did not have to care about taxis, excursions or dinner reservations, they organized everything for us.

The food was very good, but unfortunately we only had a choice between 2 menus daily changing. Breakfast was nice, we did even get packed sandwiches on our excursion days.

Moreover, even as openly living gays, we did never feel uncomfortable or even gaped at, which is not evident in an African country.

The only thing we were missing was a wellness or spa area, but as the managers assured us that they are working on it :)

So all in all, we can only recommend the hotel and we spent a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Othello_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi guys, thanks for the nice feedback,
we also hope to be able to host you again,
maybe for a longer stay next time!
All the best from
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

First of all Thanks to Ricardo and Valentina.....the owners who live in the resort with the guests who established a small eco resort with a great attention to every detail in the room and outside like ipod dock on a piece of wood, waterlovers stickers on the toiletpaper, fresh flowers every day on the towels just to mention a few......
The food has been excellent, Valentina has created all recipies herself, they are a mixture of swahili and italian cuisine, we never had experienced such a flavour before, amazing! At breakfast you get fresh brewed italian coffee, the best in Kenya from our experience and at afternoon they serve you homemade cookies besides tea or coffee. The dinner you can have at the beach including candlelight...
Included are a canou and snorkeling equipment to paddle to the sandbank, which appears every day at low tide, the water there is brilliant and snorkeling at the riff makes a lot of fun! Rama, an employee, fullfills nearly every wish: carrying the canou to the beach, turning your sunbed to the sun or bringing you fresh fruit platters... 
From our point of view negative was that the bar is closing directly after diner and at the beach are some beachboys, but they do not get in the resort. All in all we are already thinking, when to come back to this paradise which we will do for sure!! 

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Joachim and Caroline,
thanks a lot for your really nice comment
(and the suggestion for the beach bar).
It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to have the chance to
host you again in the future!
All the best from Riccardo and Valentina
...and the rest of the Waterlovers family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at Waterlovers with our children after a week on safari. It is a great place situated on the most beautiful beach. It is very relaxed and comfortable. The food was very good and they did not mind if we varied off the set menu for the day. The lobsters and prawns were huge and delicious! ALL the staff were charming and nothing was ever too much trouble.
How I wish we were still there! Thank you Riccardo and Valentina
Jennie, James, George and Arabella
Christmas 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Jennie, James, George and Arabella,
the energy of your nice words keep us going every day!
With special people like you we can only get better.
Thanks a lot again for staying with us!
All the best from
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We couldn't ask for more from our stay at Waterlovers and wished we could have stayed longer. All the staff from the cleaners to the owners were very friendly and proactive to the point of mind-reading. The room was beautiful and the pool and lounge area stunning. Only complaints would be that the food could be slightly better and the choice of music could be improved but these are very minor qualms in comparison to the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
No words are enough to thank you for your nice support.
(We'll take care of your polite suggestions too).
Hope to be able to host you again.
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Property: Waterlovers Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing