We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to paradise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2012

First of all Thanks to Ricardo and Valentina.....the owners who live in the resort with the guests who established a small eco resort with a great attention to every detail in the room and outside like ipod dock on a piece of wood, waterlovers stickers on the toiletpaper, fresh flowers every day on the towels just to mention a few......
The food has been excellent, Valentina has created all recipies herself, they are a mixture of swahili and italian cuisine, we never had experienced such a flavour before, amazing! At breakfast you get fresh brewed italian coffee, the best in Kenya from our experience and at afternoon they serve you homemade cookies besides tea or coffee. The dinner you can have at the beach including candlelight...
Included are a canou and snorkeling equipment to paddle to the sandbank, which appears every day at low tide, the water there is brilliant and snorkeling at the riff makes a lot of fun! Rama, an employee, fullfills nearly every wish: carrying the canou to the beach, turning your sunbed to the sun or bringing you fresh fruit platters... 
From our point of view negative was that the bar is closing directly after diner and at the beach are some beachboys, but they do not get in the resort. All in all we are already thinking, when to come back to this paradise which we will do for sure!! 

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear Joachim and Caroline,
thanks a lot for your really nice comment
(and the suggestion for the beach bar).
It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to have the chance to
host you again in the future!
All the best from Riccardo and Valentina
...and the rest of the Waterlovers family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 443 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at Waterlovers with our children after a week on safari. It is a great place situated on the most beautiful beach. It is very relaxed and comfortable. The food was very good and they did not mind if we varied off the set menu for the day. The lobsters and prawns were huge and delicious! ALL the staff were charming and nothing was ever too much trouble.
How I wish we were still there! Thank you Riccardo and Valentina
Jennie, James, George and Arabella
Christmas 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear Jennie, James, George and Arabella,
the energy of your nice words keep us going every day!
With special people like you we can only get better.
Thanks a lot again for staying with us!
All the best from
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We couldn't ask for more from our stay at Waterlovers and wished we could have stayed longer. All the staff from the cleaners to the owners were very friendly and proactive to the point of mind-reading. The room was beautiful and the pool and lounge area stunning. Only complaints would be that the food could be slightly better and the choice of music could be improved but these are very minor qualms in comparison to the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

No words are enough to thank you for your nice support.
(We'll take care of your polite suggestions too).
Hope to be able to host you again.
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We must have been at Diani on a bad day bc I didn't have the same experience as the other reviewers. While it wasn't the perfect place, it wasn't the worse either. However, we expected so much more. The property is right on the beach which was nice. Eveything was very well decorated-very french caribean chic. The grounds staff was lovely-very attentive and professional. They raked the sand in the morning-which was nice to get away from all the seaweed. If my drink went empty-someone was also coming over to see if I wanted a refill. The owners do live on the grounds. They have 2 adorable children-but you never heard a peep from them. It is a small property-I think 6 or 8 rooms and then a villa. The villa is at the back of the property, and not much of a view. The food was horrible-we didn't do the meal plan, but we ate a few dinenrs, and lunches there. When it did come out to us-it was cold-and unflavorful. I could have made better food in a microwave. It is an eco friendly place-but the power went off for more than several hours at a time. And we were not too thrilled with the cleanliness of the rooms/bathrooms; everything smelled mildewy. If you can, fly into Diani rather than Mombassa. Diani airport is literally a 5 or 10 minute drive to the resort.

I am hoping we went on some off days bc I could really see this place as being a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Winerunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear guest,
thanks for taking the time to write your feedback, which is good for the location, the staff and the decorations, but it’s not so good (“horrible” instead) for the food.
We consider important to know the experience of all our guest, so we thank you for this information.
Being the first medium feedback after 70 completely positive feedbacks, anyway we took some time to answer, because we needed to get all the data to evaluate what happen.
We can see from our side, that you stayed with us only 3 days in November.
You booked in B&B basis, and then you had some meals at our restaurant.
We also see that you where sick for a part of your stay, and we remember that Valentina (my wife) took the time to drive your husband (free of charge) to see a doctor around for you. We can see that at the moment of your booking we where full in the suites, so we gave you the villa (much more expensive normally), at the same rate of the suites, and we informed you about this before your booking. On top of this we also applied a 10% discount for you on the same rates .
We know that the villa is few meters back compared to the suites (still is sea view accommodation),
but on the other side is equipped with a kitchen, a fridge, a bar counter, and it has a bigger veranda space with a wide relaxing area and a big private dining table.
Regarding the food, we’re sorry that it didn’t match your taste, and even if this side is considered one of our point of strength from all the rest of the guests we had so far, we feel the responsibility to explain what we do here, since an audience of travellers is reading us from every corner of the world (approx 1200 readers every month according to tripadvisor).
I’m sure you can do miracles with your microwave, but maybe the feedback on this was a little bit too much.
Starting with the kitchen staff, we can say that even if we are a very small resort, we have 2 pastry and bakery chefs, and 3 main chefs in our kitchen (with many years of experience on international and italian cooking).
For the lunch and the dinner we have a daily menu, that changes according to the fresh ingredients we get from the sea or from the land every morning.
Regarding the ingredients, here we do a sort of healthy cooking, since we avoid using hydrogenated fats, frozen foods, or packed food from the factories (we serve fresh fruit juices and homemade daily baked bread, cakes and cookies etc).
Everyday in fact, our pastry and bakery chefs do the bread (this means every type of bread, from the one for sandwiches to buns, focaccia and local chapatti); they then bake daily the cakes (3 different ones) for breakfast, lunch and dinner (all different every day at least for a week) plus they do homemade biscuits and ice creams, plus home made pasta .
For the breakfast we have a special cake of the day (everyday a different variety), plus we do ham and cheese croissant and miniquiches. We also offer fruit plates, yogurts, cereals, fresh fruit juices, all sort of cooked food, from eggs, bacon, beans, ham, etc and more on request, served hot from the kitchen at the moment.
For lunch and dinner we give always an alternative between seafood and non-seafood.
Plus we have a beach bar menu, with different kinds of salads, sandwiches, hamburgers, tempura, biting, fresh fruit, ice creams and others.
All our meals are cooked expressly for the guest at the last minute, and served at the table immediately, with a silver food cover to keep it warm (no buffet except for the breakfast cold food). Also the plates are warmed before serving to make sure the food is kept hot.
In our menu we have everyday a choice of prawns, lobster, crabs, calamari or fresh fish fillets.
To give an idea of the selection of food, I’ll publish a sample of our daily menu.
Regarding the power cuts, here we are in Africa, so there are some, but not so many (bed luck). Also, as you said, we have a back up generator in our resort. So the power stays on all the time (except if it happens in the middle of the night sometimes). The only device not connected to the generator is the A/C.
I know that being sick in your room for part of your stay, without A/C it must have been an issue for you specifically, and for this we’re sorry.
Said so, we really hope to have the chance to host you again, and show you a better side of our hospitality here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Waterlovers at the end of our trip and it was the perfect accomodation for ending a wonderful holiday. The ressort is situated directly at the beach and decorated with an incredible love for detail. You can tell that the owners realised their vision of the perfect hotel and that's what they achieved: Waterlovers is incredible.

Owners, management & staff
----------------------------------------
When we got to the hotel, we really felt welcome. Everyone was very friendly and approachable. The owners live on the premises and care a lot about what's going on in their ressort.

Rooms
-----------
Each room has a motto (e.g. Hippo or Turtle) and is decorated accordingly. All rooms have a terrace or balcony. The wooden furniture is very nice, the beds super comfi, the bathroom is spacious. When we arrived the room was decorated with flowers.


Food
--------
Amazing! We stayed a view days and no matter what we ate, everything was really good and there is lots of variation so you never get bored with the food. Almost everything you get is made at the ressort. E.g. also the pastry, I could have died for those coffee cookies. Thanks for the recipe! Speaking of coffee: The coffee tastes great (the owners are Italian, so where would you get a good coffee if not here ;-)) which is a definite plus!
For dinner the guests get moved around, which means e.g. when there was not much wind, we had a table in the sand under the stars or at another evening a table for two on a little platform that overlooks the pool.

The relax factor
----------------------
Relaxing at Waterlovers is easy. There are plenty of sunloungers in the shade and also various day beds so even if the place was fully booked, you would always find a perfect spot to relax.

The only downside of beaches in Kenya are the many beach boys trying to sell you anything at any time. You never get chatted up as long as you are on the premises but as soon as you go for a swim or a beach walk, that's what you have to deal with. My advise: If you want a change from lounging lazily in the sun, take the kayak (it's free) and paddle to the sand bank at low tide. You will have a wonderful view from there and you can even see fish from the kayak.

So if you think about staying at Waterlovers, we can definetely recommend to book. This is a lovely place with lovely people. A big thanks Riccardo, Valentina & the entire staff, we really enjoyed our stay with you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay_Z_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Hey guys, really there are many ways to say thank you,
but no words would be enough for your feedback.
It really gave us pride and joy, and motivation to do better with our guest.
We wish you all the best, with the hope to see you back soon.
Riccardo Valentina with the little Sara and Sole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've stolen the strap-line from Kenya Airways to describe Waterlovers as they deserve it, whereas Kenya Airways don't!

What a beautiful resort - and so welcoming! Valentina and Riccardo are brilliant hosts and made us feel instantly relaxed.

The only mild annoyance were the beach boys, who felt they were welcome to join us on a romantic walk along the beach. That walk wasn't quite as romantic as I envisaged after that! Still, this is not a problem with Waterlovers and is more an issue with the area in general. They in no way ruined our stay however.

The rooms, design and food are all fantastic and the staff are very friendly. We had a great honeymoon there, and were sad to leave. I would definitely recommend Waterlovers to everyone as it is one of the most beautiful, relaxing places we've been. Here's to when we can go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasonandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear Jason and Emily,
thanks a lot for your nice words.
Good luck for your new life together!
You'll be always welcome here with us.
All the best from Rick Vale Sara and Sole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Still the perfect get away …….
Our memories did not disappoint us and it felt (if possible) even better than the first time last July, a bit like coming home. We travel a lot and like to try different places, but for Waterlovers we made an exception and visited it for the second time. With thanks to Valentina and Riccardo who managed to give us that special feeling again.
Like I said before : “a little paradise”: a quite, romantic and intimate place where staying is a privilege. Beautiful furnished rooms, good food and a friendly local staff, always ready to help but never being pushy. In a scenery with the white beach, the deep blue ocean, palm trees and colorful local Kenyans.
We will be back!
Jet & Jack
Eindhoven - Nederland

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Thanks a lot for this wonderfull feedback,
next time we'll try hard to make it better!
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,372 reviews
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,023 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $284 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing